We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Guild Studio

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Secured parking
Secured parking next to the studio
Guild Studio Livingroom
Livingroom view from kitchen
Livingroom
View of Bruges, 2 km from the Guild Studio
Kitchen
Sofabed
Sofa-bed (open) for 2 more
Secured parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Wendy W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay in the Guild Studio and once again it was perfect with everything we needed for our stay in Bruges.
Thanks again to Jacques for his hospitality, we will be sure to return when we have our next trip to beautiful Bruges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you very much,,
you are always welcome.
Best regards,
Jacques
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expeditio...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort, Style, Location & Hospitality”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My children (aged 8 & 9 years old) and I had the pleasure of staying at the Guild Studio for 4 nights. It was perfect for our needs. It is within walking distance of all the major sights and has everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean and the host was very helpful. He gave us maps and information and the apartment is beautifully designed and comfortable. Spacious (including a lovely big bathroom with huge bath) for a couple of small family. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and comfort. The host.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thank you, it was my pleasure
Best regards,
Jacques :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NswAustra...
NSW AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
963 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Guild Studio was just wonderful for our return visit to Bruges after many years. Jacques was there to welcome us, show us around and then left offering us his assistance and encouraging us to contact him if we needed anything. We didn't as the Guild Studio has it all, firstly private and undercover parking, lovely large apartment beautifully decorated, quality appliances, large bathroom area containing an automatic washing machine which was incredibly handy. Jacques even supplied the washing liquid, made it so easy. We didn't plan to however we cooked one evening after a visit to a nearby supermarket and everything I looked for in the kitchen was there, colander etc Location is perfect very quiet and just a short walk to the centre. Highly recommend the Guild Studio, for us the only place to stay in Bruges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Lay out and furnishing of apartment and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you for your kind message and also for the bottle Leffe and white wine, we appreciated very much :-) - Best regards, Jacques and Daniëlle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thought this apartment was great for our short break to Bruges. It had everything we needed and was just a short walk from the main square.
We were so impressed we've already booked to return in September!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Many Thanks, we'll see each other again soon! - You are very welcome :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
229mark
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at The Guild Studio last year on our visit to Bruges. We decided to come again to visit this beautiful city and to enjoy the amenities offered at the apartment. Jacques and Danielle could not have been more helpful both before and during our stay. Excellently appointed, this apartment is only a few minutes from the city centre and yet it was quiet and peaceful. Thank you Jacques for all your help, once again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
Thank you so much, you are always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable and quiet apartment”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

HUGE thanks to Monsieur Jacques who made us feel so welcome, and especially for purchasing the roses, wine & chocolates which were a birthday surprise from my daughter.

The Guild Studio apartment is beautifully appointed, roomy, well equipped and situated just 10 mins (level) walk from the very heart of Bruges but in a very quiet street. There is a bus stop just around the corner (on Ezelstraat) with regular buses to the rail station to catch services to Brussels for onward connections to Eurostar. Taxis have to be pre-booked, unless you are willing to walk to a taxi stand in Markt (but by then you're half way to the station). I'd recommend taking a taxi to the apartment on arrival, as walking from the station with a wheelie in tow over the lovely cobbled pavements would be a drag - literally.

Lovely local shops include 'Kwalitor' delicatessen, also just around the corner on Ezelstraat, where the very friendly proprietors sell excellent cheeses, pates, ham, bread and cakes etc. There is also a shop further along selling wines and beers. There was a 'late night shopping' event on Ezelstraat on the Friday and the shopkeepers plied us with free champagne and nibbles.

We dined (twice) at 'Bones', which is a nice, friendly restaurant just a straight 10 min walk towards Markt, on Sint Jakobstraat. Nice atmosphere, a limited but tasty and good value menu ('all you can eat' ribs and also barbecued jumbo prawns, all served with baked potatoes with mildly curry flavoured sour cream). Each table has a very large bottle of red wine, from which you can help yourself and they measure what is left at the end and charge accordingly. Beers are available on request too, of course.

'Ribs n Beer' (onto Ezelstraat and turn left) also serves huge racks of ribs and is good value. Their mixed grill is good too. 'Tom's Diner', a few streets over, is nice too but a bit pricey. All these places must be booked in advance, though you might just be lucky (as we were) if you get there at 6 - 6.30 pm on a weekday.

The canal boat trips are a must. Only 8 euros and most enjoyable. The horse & carriage trips are a bit pricey for just 2 people but probably better value for 4. Bruges does not have the double decker bus tours that many cities now have, which is one of many factors that keep this beautiful city so unspoilt. There is a 'Citybus' tour, however, which involves minibuses, but I suspect visibility of the sights would not be great, since you'd be on a level with all the faces of the crowds.

We took a 15 min comfortable rail trip to Blankenberge on the coast, where we caught the coastal tram to De Haan, a lovely, classy seaside resort and would recommend this day trip if you are in Bruges for more than 2 or 3 days. The Wednesday market in Markt square is well worth a visit for the best of local produce and the Saturday morning market over in T'zand square has more interesting items on sale (clothes, handbags etc).

Do take enough Euros with you, though, as the bank in Markt (mentioned in most guide books) appears to have closed down and the Bureau de Change 'Wissel' just off Markt gives an abysmal exchange rate (1euro to the £).

BEWARE when booking with Eurostar, as their site offers tickets to Bruges for a little more than the Brussels fare, and, though I called Eurostar to query the fact that our tickets only read 'London-Brussels' and they assured me these were valid to Bruges, we learned to our cost that Belgian railways no longer accept these (not since 2011) and we had to pay an extra 26 euros each way between Brussels and Bruges. Eurostar at Brussels blamed Belgian Railways for this and were most unhelpful.

All in all, Bruges is a truly lovely city to walk around, and the Guild Studio apartment is the perfect location from which to enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Many thanks, I really appreciate this wonderful and useful review, you are great guests. We are grateful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_B...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner were lucky enough to secure a booking at Jacque's Guild Studio for a trip to Brugge in early October, and we couldn't have been happier.

Jacques was very accommodating and flexible for us as we had unexpectedly been hit by the national rail strikes in Belgium at the time - but he allowed us to stay an extra night following our change of travel plans at the last minute.

Upon arrival Jacques was very welcoming and he showed us the full range of the place which was perfect for us and made us feel completely comfortable, knowing all appliances were very modern and how to use them as well as having plenty of space in which to relax, with useful travel/guide books and even some treats.

Local amenities are literally no more than a 1 minute walk away providing all you might need on top of what's already provided and the location is perfect with some great restaurants nearby (I would suggest Ribs'n'Beer and Tom's Diner - make sure you book). As well as that, the centre of town is only 5/10 minutes away and the walk to/from the station will only take you 25/30 minutes should you choose - and why wouldn't you when Brugge remains one of the best cities within which to walk around with or without purpose.

All in all we had a great stay and would like to say thanks again to Jacques for everything. You can't go wrong with choosing to stay at Guild Studio and we look forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It genuinely felt like our own apartment in Brugge which is exactly what you want when you go away.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Many Thanks, it was my pleasure to facilitate your staying.
Hope to see you back and greetings to your partner.
Kind regards,
Jacques
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing