We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hidden restuarant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rincon

El Rincon
Ranked #333 of 702 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oxford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Found out about this restaurant from trip advisor - if we hadn't had the street number we could have easily missed it. Lovely large atmospheric building but intimate atmosphere. The food choice was good with a set menu option for lunch if you fancy it. The food itself was great. Atttentive but not intrusive service, lovely to find a good glass of cava as an alternative to the numerous beers on sale all over town. Prices were sensible. it would be a great place to relax at any time but especially on a sunny day in their nice garden.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm from Barcelona and I feel in El Rincon like home, avant-garde like the best restaurants of Barcelona connect with the best of spanish haute cuisine. My favorite pintxo: pintxo of foie, speechless!!

Helpful?
Thank Oriol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little piece of Spain in Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went there for a small bite on Saturday afternoon and were immediately blown away by this nice place. You indeed have to know where it is, or you would pass it by quite easily. We were lucky that we had nice weather so could enjoy the beautiful garden. Very relaxing atmosphere, you would hardly notice it's in the city.. Now about the food: I lived and worked for 3 years in Spain and as a real tapa-lover I was very curious about this place. Was not really very hungry, but after one taste of the delicous croqueta de jamon,I already wanted to order a second one :-) Also the platter of jamon iberico, the spanish cheese platter, and the patatas brava were close to perfection. Absolutely the best place for tapas when you're in Bruges. Also the wines we had were of a very high standard. In short: I'll be coming here more often :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natascha1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best patatas bravas I've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent restaurant, would never have found it but for the TripAdvisor reviews. Lovely large bright airy space inside, and the food is delicious. Service likewise excellent. The price was much more reasonable than most other restaurants in Bruges as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am probably biased as I have recently moved into their neighbourhood ... BUT it really is a fantastic find in Bruges. It is refreshing to find this place amidst tourist traps, French-Flemish gastro superstars and even more expensive Japanese restaurants. As someone else said earlier, El Rincon has no street presence. There's a board in front of a chocolate shop advertising their menu but otherwise you'd have to look carefully to find them. Once inside its light-filled space & modern decor will please you. You can stay inside enjoying the courtyard through the floor to ceiling glass windows. Or sit in the courtyard itself. Don't forget to look at today's ready made tapas before you walk further to the back. They have ready made tapas from 2.50 euro and yummy selection of made to order ones. Unfortunately they don't have Belgian beer here. You get an amused look when you ask for one. He'll say, "well no, because we are a Spanish restaurant". And if you are tempted to say 'but, we are in Belgium' - don't. They will only repeat the above answer in other European language (maybe). Menus also come in Euro languages. I got the Dutch & Spanish one. My friend got the French & English one. If like me, you get the foreign language one, do not do what I did (stare at the menu willing it to change to English). Simply ask for assistance or another menu. Other than that, we highly recommend this place for its value, delicious food and ambience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuchsia_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rincon also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to El Rincon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing