We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but not exceptionally good, and quite pricey”
Review of Reliva

Reliva
Ranked #8 of 768 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $53
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Reliva is closed until 30st of March. Come and see the new kitchen and decoration of the place from Saturday March 31st on. We accept reservations again starting on March 26th.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I went here with relatives when in Bruges for a long weekend last week, based on Tripadvisor reviews. We found the food good and tasty, but not exceptionally so when the price was taken into account - the four of us had 4 starters, 4 mains, 2 puds, with a bottle of wine and two beers, and it came to €180 before the tip, which isn't cheap even for a tourist town (where there are cheap options if you look for them). The portions were a bit too small for comfort, and the tagliatelle practically cold (yet still tasty), though again we wouldn't have noticed these minor gripes if the prices hadn't been so steep for what we did get. On the positive side the surroundings are very pleasant and the staff extremely friendly and able, and my fillet steak was very good.

My bottom line as always is "would I go back?" - yes, I'd happily eat here again, but I'd choose carefully in the hope of getting better VFM.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LinJie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thanks for the review. In a mean time we have changed our card listening carefully to our clients. We've just started in november '12 and are still eager to learn. We've lowered some prices and added extra ingredients to some dishes so the prices are in balance. On the other hand prices don't reflect only the food ingredients but the whole of the restaurant and houses in Bruges don't come cheap. Anyway nice to hear from you and perhaps we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 812 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We dined at the Reliva a couple of times recently whilst coming and going through Brugge. As one reviewer notes - it's advisable to book because the restaurant was quite busy both times we were there. This is because the food, wine, service and ambiance are all very good.

One comment in the Visitor's book summed it up for us; this was "Warm welcome, delicious food".

Another point that reviewers haven't mentioned too much - but which we found very good - was that each and every item on the menu has a couple of suggestions for accompanying wines which are then served by the glass. The Relvia has invested in an elaborate system to make sure that the wines (from the now-opened bottles remain in good condition during servings). This approach to serving the wines works very well.

Very much looking forward to our next visit and would highly recommend the restaurant to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesG_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thak you James for your nice review. Indeed the suggested wines with each dish are a quite unique feature in Réliva and we're proud we offer this. On a next visit you can discover our new card with some great new dishes. Hope to see you next time. Greetings from Eddy and the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our party of four enjoyed an excellent dinner at Reliva. The quality of the food and service was outstanding. The restaurant is not large, touristy or noisy. Everything about it on the night we were there was under pleasant, amiable control. For its quality and setting etc the total bill was fair. This meal out was the best of four in Bruges and we would strongly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

David, many thanks for your lovely review. With the new summer-card we hope to achieve even better than before. As from today the terrace can be used again to make it really a nice experience in Bruges.
Best regards, Eddy and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good Service and good setting but limited menu and over priced for steak & chips. Advisable to book as the restaurant appears to be full most nights

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Hi Steve. As I mentioned already as a response on another review, we've listened to our clients and changed some things on our new card. What I don't understand is what you mean with "limited menu". We are a small restaurant with 15 different dishes on the menu, at lunch extra starter and main dish and one or more suggestions. Moreover we change our card every three months so when coming back you can taste other products. Hope to have informed you correctly. Best regards and hope to see you back.
Eddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We took the advice of a previous reviewer and didn't over-order. It was just right. Per previous reviewers, the chef is the family's 22 year old daughter who is quite competent. We ordered a starter and a main course and a dessert, all shared. We began with a cava sparkling wine and a Campari/soda along with the complimentary amuse bouche which was a salmon bite with chopped egg and creme fraise, then our bone marrow starter. The bone marrow was huge and tasty served with a special coarse salt, cow bone rather than the veal that we usually get at home. Always so unusual to have that on the menu. Our shared main course was Ling Cod served with ratatouille and freshly made tagliatelle. The ratatouille was made properly with the zucchini prepared separately from the eggplant and then combined; the zucchini was not overcooked as a result. The fish was baked but still slippery and not overcooked. We tried the two wines suggested with the fish dish; the rose was a little bit better than the light red from Chile which was quite adequate. The dessert was delightful -- a pear "pie", which I would describe as a deconstructed tarte. The base was a type of crumble or streusel, with a thin piece of pie crust/pastry on top of that, then thinly sliced pieces of barely cooked pear with a scoop of homemade ice cream (perhaps a light cinnamon?), all in all a wonderful finish to the meal along with a glass of semillon. Friendly service in a pleasing atmosphere and a great end to our 4 day stay in Brugge.

Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for you very detailled review. In a mean time the card has changed for summer and neither of the mentioned dishes have been kept. Still this is really the first so well explaned review we ever got since we started in november '12.
Kind regards from Eddy and our doughter Lien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reliva also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Reliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing