We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience & food”
Review of Reliva

Reliva
Ranked #8 of 768 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $53
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Reliva is closed until 30st of March. Come and see the new kitchen and decoration of the place from Saturday March 31st on. We accept reservations again starting on March 26th.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

In beautiful Bruges last week-end we stumbled on this wonderful restaurant while walking around the quieter area away from the tourist traps! The sun was shining and we sat on on thief beautiful patio in the rear of the restaurant. It's a family run business with Mum serving, daughter is chef and partner looking after us. What a super team. Food was so different, fresh and tasty. Their choice of wines recommended to accompany each course worked and complemented the meal. All produce used is fresh and the menu is seasonal. A must if you like dining and cannot recommend it enough. The chef's dad is also a sommelier.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Hi Pamela - many thanks for the lovely review. We always try our best to give our clients good and honest food with a friendly service. Our family takes great pride in quality end ambience.
Hope to see you again, Eddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 812 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited this restaurant after seeing excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. The atmosphere was relaxed, the surroundings beautiful. The house red wine was a very nice merlot and the service was very attentive. We ordered the Magret duck and the scallops to start, both were very nicely presented and tasted lovely. For our main we had tenderloin steak, which was cooked to perfection and came with a fresh tasty salad.....here comes the BUT, but only a small one! My salad was served with a shard of hard, sharp plastic buried within it. I only noticed it when I started chewing on it. The waitress was very apologetic and replaced my salad. Of course whilst I waited my partner finished his dinner and mine was getting cold. They offered free drinks to apologise. I would have thought free starters or free desserts would have been more appropriate, but as the food was so good and the waitresses apology clearly genuine, I settled for the complimentary drinks. I wouldn't let this put you off and would definitely recommend this restaurant, just check your salad carefully! All-in-all an excellent meal, thanks. Would have been 5/5 if it wasn't for the plastic addition to the salad!

2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Hi David. First of all very sorry for the plastic particle in your salad. How it got there we don't know but it's of course not to be excused. Anyway we thank you for your understanding and anyhow a very nice review.
Greetings from Lien, the chef.
Eddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We read reviews about this restaurant before we travelled to Bruge. Make sure you have a decent map and you should have no problems finding it. My husband and I had a fantastic evening in this restaurant. Very attentive staff, but not "over the top". We opted for the set menu with wine tasting, we are glad we did, the host knew everything about the wines he was serving and made it a very special evening for both of us, the food was exceptional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kimmy53London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for you lovely review. We are always glad if we achieve in giving good food and a nice service with a little extra as for the info regarding the accompanying wines. We're very glad you enjoyed our restaurant that much.
Hope to meet you again, Eddy and the réliva team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went there for a 45th birthday....booked after reading Trip advisor reviews...we went and found it before the day..glad we did would have found it hard in the dark!!!about 11 tables, fabulous starters of duck salad for boyfriend, scallops for me. Enormous shrimp, salmon and salad for me and the nicest tasting tournedos of steak with a pepper sauce for partner. No room for desert. Highly recommend the Peter Lehman barossa Shiraz. Reasonable bill of €113 for us both incl drinks.. We spent more precious nigh and ate as well tonight.

1  Thank Kidsmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank for a lovely review. Glad to be of service on this aniversary. Tthe Shiraz from Peter Lehmann is indeed a great red wine, and still affordable. With the new menu-card there are some new wines on the list. If back in Bruges please drop by to taste.
Best regards from the Réliva team and Eddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident on our first night here, and went back again tonight. The food and service are exceptional. As someone who is more of a beer person, the patron made excellent wine choices for our 3 courses, and we enjoyed the experience of this restaurant immensly. The chef, the 21 year old daughter of the family, has a flair with food which is to be enjoyed visually as well as tasting divine. We had a local T-bone steak to share, which was cooked to perfection, the home-made Endive Soup was a new one for us, but we would have it again, and desserts complemented everything well. When the bill arrived, we were given complimentary coffee and wine, which was an unexpected bonus. Our bill was less than £100 euros, but we would of easily paid more for what we experienced this evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 15Damian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

I remember you and your wife very well. We had a nice chat between the dishes. It's always nice to talk to people and learn more about them. We were very pleased to serve you nice dishes and wines accordingly. Hope you find your way back to Bruges and Réliva in the future. Looking forward!
Kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reliva also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Reliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing