We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of our Belgium Trip”
Review of Reliva

Reliva
Ranked #3 of 761 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Reliva is closed until 30st of March. Come and see the new kitchen and decoration of the place from Saturday March 31st on. We accept reservations again starting on March 26th.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were extremely fortunate to get a table to eat here on a Saturday night. Having not booked anything in advance, we went from restaurant to restaurant being turned away. We arrived at just the right time and are glad to have not got a table at the other restaurants.

As mentioned in other reviews, it is a little tucked away and benefits from being away from the busiest areas of town. It was full, but still a quiet and relaxed setting for dinner. The staff were friendly and able to answer questions about the menu, even going into the kitchen to fetch an item which he didn't know the English translation for.

We skipped starters as we had a train back to Brussels, but were brought a carrot soup with a smoked salmon and cream cheese bite. I'm not usually much of a salmon fan but this was very tasty and the soup had a nice spice to it.

For the main course I had the flounder with butter sauce and chips and my girlfriend had the gurnard. Both were immaculately cooked and full of flavour but I'd say the gurnard was the better of the two, combining well with the shrimps and sauce. Also the portions were very generous - I was given three fillets on my plate. Neither of us are really wine drinkers, so we cannot comment on the combination of wine with the food.

Unfortunately at the end of the meal we had to rush to get our train but the waiter was very accommodating, quickly getting the dessert out and preparing our bill. We had the crème brûlée to share which was lovely.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Bruges. There was nothing we could fault and for the quality of food, it was very good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexrdevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Many thanks for your elaborate and very positive review of our restaurant. I indeed remember you rushing to the station to fetch your train.
Many kind greetings from the whole staff and we hope to see you soon; Eddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 395 of 796 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Couldn't fault it. Enjoyed the tournedos of fillet steak and chips, which was excellent and at 21 Euros was much better value than many other restaurants in Bruges. Sauce was extra however at Euros 2.5, which was not mentioned when the waiter asked what choice of sauce was preferred. Half bottle of wine was 12.5 Euros. Very nice service and a good atmosphere, highly recommended. Check opening hours before turning up, not open Tuesday or Wednesday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your nice and warm review. The waiter should indeed mention that the sauces are seperate from the dish although included in the menu offerings.
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards, Eddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This family business is a very friendly and welcoming. The food is all lovingly made and is not only served in generous portions but also very delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your warm and lovely review. We tend to treat our customers as we would for ourselves. We are very keen on preparing good dishes with honest ingredients.
Kind regards from réliva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided on this restaurant after searching reviews on tripadvisor and visited on a Saturday evening. It is off the beaten track, tucked away in a quiet side street.

We had starters and main courses and these were excellent and good value for money, considering the quality of the food. The menu and wine list were extensive and offered interesting choices.

We dined quite late and did not have desserts as the staff were too busy setting the tables for the following day and did not offer us a dessert menu. The food we did have was excellent and we would definitely go back, but perhaps not on a Saturday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Millster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Saturday was indeed very crowdy and perhaps we did not notice that you had no dessert. Also we do not tend to ask this automaticly as we don't want to overact commercially. Next time just ask us for dessert and we'll be happy to serve you. Many thanks for this fine review.
Greetings from Réliva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant with our dog Barney, an Airedale Terrier. First impressions are of a clean, well managed and friendly restaurant. Despite the size of Barney we weren't ushered into a corner but given a table pretty much in the centre of the restaurant. It wasn't busy when we arrived at about 19:30 but nevertheless the atmosphere was good (and got better as more diners arrived). It was all very positive. Service was professional and attentive without being overbearing. Our questions about the menu were dealt with effectively (by the way if you're a vegetarian or vegan you will be well catered for here). There's a good wine choice and ours arrived quickly along with a tasty amuse bouche of tomato and carrot soup set next to smoked salmon and cream cheese. Delicious!

Now for the shaky bit. Ten minutes later our starters arrived. I had gone for the bone marrow which, though flavoursome, was a smaller portion than I'd anticipated. My wife's shrimp croquettes were sent back because they were cold in the centre. They were duly replaced ten minutes later by more cold-centred croquettes. Oh dear! Each time my wife was met with a very sincere apology but not wishing to make it a hat-trick of returned starters she finally plumped for the soup. The soup on the menu was no longer available so she was offered vegetable soup instead which, when it arrived, she said was the equal to her all time favourite from a restaurant in Luxembourg.

We were nervous about the next course but when it arrived we realised we shouldn't have been. My wife had flounder which though presented simply was well cooked. I chose the baked squid which was set on a bed of mediterranean flavours and pasta. It was probably one of the best squid dishes I've eaten - tender and well balanced with the other ingredients on the plate. Both mains were well judged in terms of portion size with that quality of being filling without the feeling of having eaten too much.

We were too full for a dessert so we can't comment on them but they sounded delicious!

In terms of value and given the quality of the food, croquettes notwithstanding, the price was reasonable. The cost of my wife's starter had been removed from the bill without any prompting from us - just what you'd expect from an establishment that clearly cares about it's customers and reputation.

Would we go again? Yes we would. Everyone makes mistakes, it's how you recover them that matters and the recovery here was spot on.

Go and visit it - you'll enjoy it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy V, Owner at Reliva, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Indeed when something is wrong it should be mentioned. Thanks to your advice we have found the reason of the problem with the shrimp croquettes and adapted the way of preparing it. We are very glad that the other dishes were very satisfying and hope to serve you again with nice warm shrimp croquettes. Thank you very much.
Best regards from the Réliva team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reliva also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Reliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing