We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted fine dining”
Review of Pomperlut

Pomperlut
Ranked #17 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enchanted fine dining”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked a table for Friday night through our hotel as Pomperlut was full on the Saturday evening. The three course meal was great - easily the best meal we ate in Bruges. The starter perhaps a little samey as we both chose the veal, but great flavours nonetheless. The duck main course was superb, really delicious. The desserts - panacotta and the chocolate souffle were both to die for - don't skip dessert! Wine was great, apparently we chose the lovely servers favourite - if you like white, ask him! Don't miss this place when you're in Bruges.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secretgardenofjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    101
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were fortunate enough to get a Flemish speaking friend to book for us, and we were glad we did. Would just echo everything that everyone else has said about the place - very quirky and atmospheric, with a great welcome. Neither the food, nor the wine list disappointed (we followed the owner's advice and ordered the Sancere in preference to the local Belgian white).

A thoroughly enjoyable experience from the warm welcome to the great food. Well worth a visit, but book ahead.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pseudohydnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Treat yourself and go out of your way to dine here”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our best meal in Bruges. The restaurant is in a lovely old building - supposedly one of the oldest restaurants in Bruges - with a warm open fire welcoming you in to a delightful room, seating just 24 diners. The internal finish is heavy old wood decorated with large replicas of the eponymous mushrooms, and gourmet food and wine books on the central table. It is located in a classy residential area opposite a park, away from the tourist bustle. We had tried to get in the night before but found them fully booked, so booked for our last night. What a treat. There is just the front man and the chef (brothers?) so service slows as the room fills. Our experience was that the front man was engaging, helpful and suggested a great local wine to go with dinner. The food was terrific! This is not a budget meal at €122 for two people having entree, main, water and wine, but well worth it and a lovely experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcw2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing food and setting”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to visit Pomperlut on our recent trip to Bruges. We had trouble booking via email but visited the restaurant on our arrival on the Friday and managed to reserve a table for the Saturday night.

The restaurant itself is lovely and with a log fire roaring in the background it was super cosy and romantic. The service was fantastic and the owner was so welcoming, taking time to explain the menu and recommending a great bottle of wine to go with our food.

The menu, which is updated regularly, only consists of 4 starters and 4 mains, however the decision over what to go for was still very difficult - everything sounded delicious!

We were each given a tasty amuse bouche to start with some lovely fresh bread. Between us we then opted for the scallops and the veal to start, and then the salmon and the seabass risotto for mains. All food was exceptional - very well-cooked and great flavour combinations. If only I could have found room for a dessert!

Whilst this was quite a pricey meal, the exceptional quality of both the food and service, along with the fantastic atmosphere, made for a very special meal that we would definitely recommend to others. We will definitely have this place on our list for a return trip to Bruges!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RDLO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm friendly welcome with simply great dining”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We were drawn into the restaurant by the warm lighting, and roaring fire in the entrance hall. The owner, welcomed us, took our coats, and seated us with the wine list after explaining to us the menu options. We were shortly after, presented with an amuse-bouche of cured salmon with lemon soured cream and home-made bread with duck terrine, which was well received. There're were 4 starters and 5 main choices. Both courses were cooked brilliantly. We had coffee to finish with, which came with chocolates and madelines.
The atmosphere of the place was warm, friendly and charming and we would definitely go back again! Well recommended!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomperlut also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Pomperlut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing