We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great intimate Italian restaurant on a side street not far at all from the main squares.”
Review of Gentile - CLOSED

Gentile
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, B.C. , Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great intimate Italian restaurant on a side street not far at all from the main squares.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had such a lovely evening dining at Gentilr Restaurant. The mozzarella for the capers e salad was very fresh - good olive oil for the bread and even gluten free options for bread and pasta. The Osso buco was render and delicious. I really enjoyed the friendly ambience of the place, especially since I was dining on my own. This is a good option to check out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant tucked away on a side street”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We actually visited this restaurant in error thinking it was another we had booked! Nonetheless, the restaurant was very cute, the Italian chef/host/waiter all in one was lovely, attentive and not in your face.
The restaurant had great decor and the food was delicious, but we are not sure the pasta was home made.
Either way, our meal and coffees were very good indeed and we would recommend this place. Very unusual (in a good way).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not very "gentile"”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We made a reservation for a Tuesday night at 19h30. When we arrived however, the restaurant was closed. We waited for 25 minutes and tried calling the number 2 times, but no response.
We had to look for another restaurant, not an easy task in Bruges at 20h!
The next day, we called the restaurant owner to see if there was some kind of misunderstanding, but we got a very vague response that he was sick, but he also said something about being held up in Brussels.
To conclude: this is not a restaurant that we will visit again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heleenvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Authentic Italian food with friendly Italian owner. Great ambiance and service. Portions are adequate and not overwhelming. English speaking is limited.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MKMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good light meal menu”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have Moules & Frites here the day we arrived in Bruges for a late lunch. We had the 'special' for 10Euros each washed down with a glass of cold Leffe, perfect!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveFrance08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gentile also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Sint Andries, Bruges
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing