We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great koffie”
Review of Humpty Dumpty

Humpty Dumpty
Ranked #346 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Belgian, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Budget restaurant-tea room
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great koffie”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were originally heading for the gingerbread tearooms but when this was closed we headed next door and enjoyed very tasty paninis and delicious coffee. Very friendly staff that quickly gauged our inability to speak the local lingo and gave us helpful advise on when breakfast stops being served in Brugge(11am). Pop in and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    89
    36
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful waterzooi”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent waterzool (chicken) !!! We dined in one of the restaurants in the square on Saturday which was very nice and food good. So good was the waterzool that I decided to have it again. On Sunday we came across Humpty Dumpty and as this and beef stew were on the menu we gave it a try. Fantastic!!! The food was excellent and portions huge...my only complaint - I had no room for desert, nor did my three companions which is a real shame; they looked delicious. The staff were pleasant and and attentive - the chef was very friendly!!!! Sorry we didn't find this little gem at the start of our holiday instead of our last night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
533 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“I would not go again, reasons below.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Upon entering, we had only scanned for the menu for about 30 seconds and rather large sweaty man behind the counter said in a not so friendly voice "Well?" Should have walked out, didnt, Mistake number one. Said we just needed a minute, he said "The Museums are down there." again not so friendly, did not leave. Mistake number two. Decided to just grab a snack to go, ordered from a woman, who was clearly embarrassed by this Buffoon, and as he was making the food I witnessed swear dripping of his nose in to the food he was preparing. It was disgusting, Last straw, we walked out. I intend to file a formal complaint with the health authorities of the city. dont wast your time and money here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value and only a close walk from the main square.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Travelling with 3 friends we often just settled for a place to eat. One day after travelling from Brussels and being extremely hungry we settled for a place on the main square and overpaid big time for a below average meal. It kind of went against my unwritten rule of eating in the most touristy area. I then seen this place on yelp and tripadvisor and wasn't far away but seemed to have better prices. It was a good move because the portions were great and the price was as well. We had a soup appetizer, main dish of lasagna, coffee, and a beer for just over 10 euros each. The staff were also helpful and friendly. It isn't the best meal I've ever had, but I give it a 5 rating based on the value/quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren_K_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Vista, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and family owned. Don't get "upgraded"!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

With so many restaurants in the area, it's hard to choose one and even harder to find one that is reasonably priced. We really enjoyed our meal here. Our server was the cook's wife and their daughter also helps with the dishes. Only reason I won't give this place 5 rating is because I was charged extra for fries without warning as I assumed it was a substitue for the bread that was already included in my meal. Was also charged extra for the ketchup, I think it was over a Euro more! I'm not so upset over the costs, just wish out server would bave been a little more forthcoming and honest when it came to the upgrades or substitutions. It's about the principle of it all.
In the end, I would return here as the prices are great, food was good, and felt comfortable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humpty Dumpty also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Humpty Dumpty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing