We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really top gastronomy , honest price , nice atmosphere... superb !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 't jong Gerecht

't jong Gerecht
Ranked #201 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Really top gastronomy , honest price , nice atmosphere... superb !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We haven been in this restaurant 5 times now. There are much good restaurants in the region, but this did really become my favourite ! The food quality is exquisite (certainly a future michelin star!), original preparations and combinations, very nice presentation, and good wine choice by the lady sommelier ! And more... the price is very honest and correct for wat you get. The restaurant has a rather "cold modern" interior, but it's nice. The toilets are rather flashy :-) . It's not so big, so you really have to get a reservation on time !! But if you are in Bruges, this is really a must do if you are interested in gastronomy , this was really a superb surprise for me, in my own region... I always take the menu "Groot Gerecht" with the "Luxury Wine arrangement", really worthwhile every euro !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    32
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came to Bruge for my surprise birthday weekend away. This restaurant is a little off the beaten track, but well worth the walk, and very easy to find. The food was out of this world, and at 45 euros for four courses (you get far more than 4 with all the extra little treats the bring to your table) exceptional value. We opted for the wine selection too, again very good value with some perfectly matched wines to the food. Very very impressed, hope to be back one day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

well on their way to a michelin star or two, young, dynamique and fresh, loved it!! definately worth a revisit ! and dessert was heavenly

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our Hotel receptionist as a good place to eat, on receiving the menu we were unsure of the” tasting” side of things and in our party two were not keen on the dishes, we explained this to the receptionist and within minutes we were telephoned by the chef who asked what kind of foods we liked and he would prepare dishes to taste how amazing is that!! the restaurants is cosy white table cloths with young staff with impeccable manners, we experienced some of the finest food we had eaten, from a cold beef starter fish /Venison main courses and an imaginative sweet and in between little tasters even Basil ice cream tomato crunches exploding all your taste buds all in all a wonderful experience and worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike_tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very young team that know how to surprise on the plate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

With an average age of just 22 years old, these youngsters have already proven on a very short period of time that they can run a restaurant (from cook to service). Reservation is necessary as they only have place for about 20 people. The menu changes very frequently (I guess every month) with seasonal products which they combine in various ways. Already from the starters you are surprised about the different things you receive and at the end - when you think the dessert was the last dish - they surprise you with various extras. Recommended in every way !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't jong Gerecht also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't jong Gerecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing