We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

GingerBread Bagels, Brunch Coffee and Tea House
Ranked #1 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home made with love... GingerBread tea-room is a family-run little tea house serving, brunch, bagels from 9:00 till 15:00 lunch, waffels And cakes baked every morning. You can also find a great choice of "real" teas and hot drinks, as well as lovely limonade to make your stay in Bruges sparkle. Open 7/7. Cash Only.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I read about the Tea-Room on here so thought we would try it. It is the most friendly and welcoming place we have been to the waffles and drinks we had were out of this world and the complementary little cakes they give you were wonderful. I asked if they sold them but usually only to order but they let me buy some to take back to the England at such a cheap price well they never made it back to England because we ate them all on the way back to Ypres. Mother and daughter were a delight and gave us recommendations for lovely chocolate shops where we bought the most amazing chocolates. I wish to thank the family for a lovely visit to there beautiful quaint Tea-Rooms and if anyone is ever visiting Brugge you must pay a visit to the Gingerbread Tea-Rooms.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    174
    33
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“cheerful cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Was in bruges over the weekend and refused to pay EUR25 each for the hotel breakfast. Thankfully, we found the Gingerbread Tea-Room and had a lovely brunch there for a fraction of the price. It's family run and the proprietress made us feel right at home. She had great recommendations and through the meal she and her son / daughter-in-law checked in every now and again to see if we were doing ok. We felt very welcome and enjoyed their warm hospitality. My husband enjoyed the farmer's breakfast and it was a hearty-size. The waffles at the next table looked great but we were too full. Will definitely return for some next time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mysterymeatballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get in there before 2pm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff where run off their feet with customers in their cosy tea room but were always smiling and friendly. They took the time to talk to us numerous times and served us reasonably quickly given the number of people in the tea room. The food was delicious, I recommend the goats cheese, honey and pine nut toaster... Delicious. Lunch finishes at two so make sure you get in before then or you will miss out on this fabulous place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenton138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely little tea room just off the main square with impeccable service from a friendly family! We had some Lemon sponge which was moist and delightful. Another day we went for tea and were presented with a lovely miniature ice-cream and some nice almond biscotti.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe - homemade food / family run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I actually had lunch here twice during my stay in Bruges - Once on my own as my Wife was in bed ill and it was so good I brought her along the next day!

The place is really done nice with a lot of attention to detail. The staff are really friendly and always smiling even though they are pretty much rushed off their feet! The food is great too. I had a nice toasted sandwich the 1st time which was massive! (see pic) and lovely waffles the next time.

If you can get in, do so but it can get pretty busy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brokensocialsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GingerBread Bagels, Brunch Coffee and Tea House also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to GingerBread Bagels, Brunch Coffee and Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing