We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014 bank holiday weekend stay”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #2 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“May 2014 bank holiday weekend stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Townhouse for three nights and were absolutely delighted with our choice of accommodation. Our room (the Vanilla Suite) was beautiful, spacious and very homely - we could totally relax there. We even had views of two of Bruges main churches, making it an idyllic spot to sit by the window and read your book (for the morning when the grey skies made leaving our room too difficult!) Breakfast each morning was delicious and something we looked forward to each day! Jason and Sandra were brilliant hosts, always more than happy to have a chat and give us tips about where to go in Bruges. Location was great - everywhere was easily walkable, including all the main attractions and also parking facilities close by. I will, without a doubt, stay here again if I visit Bruges.

Room Tip: Have a look at the photos of the rooms on the website beforehand to make sure you select the one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
149
378
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at The Townhouse for three nights and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in Bruges. Our room was large, beautiful and extremely comfortable, with little extras like toiletries, bottled water and chocolate (what else, in Bruges?!) making our stay even more special.

Breakfast each morning was superb, with the yogurt and fruit combination particularly delicious, and our early breakfast on the day of our departure was much appreciated, setting us up nicely for our train trip back to Brussels.

The B&B's location was also perfect - just a few minutes walk from all of the main attractions, but far enough away to be an oasis of peace and quiet when the crowds got too much!

All in all, a fabulous choice in Bruges.

Room Tip: The Blueberry Suite is gorgeous but it is up three flights of stairs so may not be suitable for olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldReekieLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this week and enjoyed our visit. The building is beautiful and the service is great. Jason and Sandra clearly put a lot of time and effort into fixing the place up. Breakfast was wonderful and filling and Jason and Sandra were helpful and very friendly. The location was convenient and we had no complaints! Hoping we'll get to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Absolutely one of the best B&B, in my opinion.
Good location, kindest hosts, beautiful furniture and clean room - spotless! The shower was the best.
Breakfast was also very sensible and delicious.
Will stay here again if I visit Bruges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank borim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night at the Townhouse,but would have loved to stay longer.
Jason and Sandra have renovated it with a beautiful eye to detail and comfort. Our attic room was gorgeous and even had a sitting area where we could relax by the picture window.
They gave us great advice on where to shop and eat. There were several choices for breakfast and ours was absolutely delicious (as was the coffee).
We had mentioned that my husband is gluten -intolerant in the hopes that there would be eggs or something he could eat beyond a continental breakfast. Not only did they offer several great choices of "main course", he was given a selection of three different gluten free baked options to accompagny the meal. Certainly " above and beyond". Thank you!

Room Tip: We loved the attic room, but someone with mobility issues might have difficult with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 187Janet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We have just left the beautiful Townhouse B&B in Bruges after a three night stay. I chose this place based on reviews on Trip Advisor and it exceeded my expectations. Of all the places we have stayed throughout Europe this was the most professional but friendly accommodation we experienced. Jason and Sandra cover everything that is needed to make your stay comfortable and luxurious. Beautiful, modern decor, all the toiletries you might need, tourist information and the absolutely best bed in Europe! Breakfast was amazing and always Jason and Sandra are there checking that your needs are being met. I cannot thoroughly recommend The Townhouse as the perfect place to stay in Bruge.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant stay at The Townhouse! Great hosts, superb rooms and great location. Rooms luxurious and welcoming after a day exploring Bruges. Breakfast superb and original. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank York12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 231 in Bruges
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: Werkhuisstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive renovation project 'The Townhouse' Luxury Bed & Breakfast in Bruges has opened its doors and has welcomed their first guests on June 3rd 2012.The 19th century building has been turned into a beautiful B&B and home for the Barnes family. The house is located in the historic city centre just 5 minutes walking distance from the most romantic spot in Bruges, 'Het Minnewater', and 10 minutes from the market square. Email us with your enquiries or book online now. We look forward to welcoming you in one ofour 3 luxury suites or our luxury family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing