We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding B&B in Bruges” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #2 of 228 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding B&B in Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here on Sat 2nd - Tue 5th Nov 2013. We stayed in the family room/suite on the 2nd floor. The owners, Jason and Sandra, were very friendly and incredibly helpful when we were checking in, annotating a city map and telling us of the best sights and restaurants in the area. The place itself was beautiful, incredibly clean and well furnished. Breakfast every day was fantastic, several courses offering lots of options for children, and definitely meant that we did not need to eat lunch any of the days that we stayed. Good location, around 10 minutes walk into the centre of historic Bruge. I would have no hesitation in staying here when we visit Bruge again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
140
357
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Townhouse is truly the best B & B we have stayed in for many reasons. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in October with our 2 kids- a 14 year-old son, and 12 year-old daughter. We are from Colorado USA & travel extensively (including through Europe) and even our teens agree with this review. They begged to stay longer.

Our Room- We stayed in the "Cinnamon Room" and had more than enough space. More than we've ever had in Europe, that's for sure. For those of you with families, you understand that it is difficult to find places that have room for kids & the Cinnamon room was perfect! The kids had their own separate space, we had our bedroom area, and there was a large sitting space for all of us. The bathroom was huge. We all took long, luxurious baths! The Townhouse, and our room was like a luxury hotel- immaculate and very private. The room was stocked with tea and books to read. I took one, and left one. One day it was rainy and Jason and Sandra pulled out some games for the kids to play. The beds were unbelievably comfortable, almost a shame really because you knew you should get out of bed and explore the town, but the bed is like being enveloped in a giant white cloud. An honor bar is offered downstairs. Everything is relaxed, and you are treated as family. The pictures don't do it justice. The décor is exquisite.

Let me tell you about Jason and Sandra- the owners and hosts. They are the kindest, most helpful, genuine people. We came from Paris & then on to Brussels after our stay in Bruges. They helped us extensively with our travels & directions. They gave us fabulous restaurant recommendations & ideas of things to do. They didn't do what many hosts seem to which is send us to their friend's establishments. They were easy to talk to and SO interesting. My husband and I feel like we could have talked to them all day! They gave us as much privacy or company as we wanted without us asking. They just seemed to "know."

Location- close to everything, but Bruges is small so this could probably be said for most places. I suppose hotels/B & B's in the 3 city "centers" are closer, but I'm sure it's noisier due to tourist traffic. We never heard any road noise or other guests in The Townhouse.

Our breakfast- Heaven! Susan and Jason cook to order your main entrée with multiple choices. The fruit was fresh (& not even in season- impressive) and the yogurt parfait I am now having to slog through making back home in Colorado in a feeble effort to replicate Sandra's. My kids didn't even like yogurt until then! Hot chocolate, coffee, delicious Danishes.... We were stuffed. On a convenient note, Bruges is expensive so having a big breakfast was nice because we would snack in the early afternoon, then eat a full sit down dinner at night. When feeding a family of 4 it makes a difference. (Those delicious chocolates and beer add up especially against the weak American dollar.)

Bruges- This is not the place to write about it- but for a family with teenagers, we recommend biking to Damme, a tour of the local brewery, eating tons of mussels (we found them better here than in Brussels), avoiding the hordes of tourists if that's even possible, and staying at least 3 nights. It was in the low 50's, cloudy, and often drizzly but yet we all still fell in love with this charming town.

Every time we travel we try new experiences, go to new cities & stay in new places. We know we will go to Bruges again, and we will WITHOUT A DOUBT stay at The Townhouse. Sandra & Jason's hospitality was unbelievable, their home beautiful, and for 2 days we felt like family.

I just re-read my review & have to laugh that I am gushing so much. I almost wish I had something negative to say just so it sounds real, but I swear, we're a real family with a great experience. I just can't recommend The Townhouse enough. I hope you get to meet Jason & Sandra and experience Bruges. Just leave space for us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel quite last minute, not paying too much attention, just expecting it to be a standard B&B. The Townhouse really is lovely, spotlessly clean and the rooms are even better than they look on the pictures, ours (the plum room) was HUGE! Breakfast was completely yummy too and made to order, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljboswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

What an absolute gem of a B & B. Hosts Sandra and Jason have created a stunning and welcoming luxury place to stay right in the middle of Bruges.
This is the best place we have stayed at - perfect for those who don't want a corporate chain hotel.
The hosts are full of tips and advice about the city, and provide maps etc.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious with several courses brought out, all depending on your preferences. Our children loved it too - we had a massive family suite so the children had their own adjoining room with bunk beds, beanbag, DVD and English films and books.
The whole room was done to a luxurious standard with amazing bathroom and lounge area with bookcases, leather sofas etc.
Outside the light and airy breakfast room is a lovely courtyard area which the children loved - toy ride on, balls and other games that kept them amused as we ate our breakfast.

We couldn't fault this place and have already recommended it to family and friends.

Perfection! Well done Jason and Sandra. We will be back....

Room Tip: Family suite was big and ideal for our young children (3 and 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This B&B is one of the best I have ever stayed at!The family that runs it really cares about the guests and go the extra mile!Although we arrived really late at night Jason was waiting to greet us!The breakfast was really good and customised to our needs!The location was perfect,just a 5-10 min walk from the main square of Brugge!!However,the best part were the room and the bed,which were AMAZING.I haven't slept that well for ages!It really feels like home!

Room Tip: Choose the Blueberry suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful short break in Bruge and stayed at the Townhouse B & B. What a wonderful place to stay. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable with a giant bed and tea/coffe making facilities, along with a tv lounge area and most of the UK stations..The hosts were Jason & Sandra who were helpful and welcoming. Jason even carried our suitcases to the top floor room. Security entrance was by way of a security code 24/7. The location was ideal as it was only a 5 minute walk to the town centre. 10 out of 10 and a place we would stay at again..

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door, Sandra and Jason could not have been more welcoming and friendly, with very helpful recommendations on places to visit, eat and drink. The accommodation is first rate. We stayed in the plum suite, which was spacious and the bed, one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Nothing was too much trouble and included reservations to restaurants, which without we would have struggled to get into. I highly recommend the Townhouse and would use again, many thanks Sandra and Jason.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: Werkhuisstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive renovation project 'The Townhouse' Luxury Bed & Breakfast in Bruges has opened its doors and has welcomed their first guests on June 3rd 2012.The 19th century building has been turned into a beautiful B&B and home for the Barnes family. The house is located in the historic city centre just 5 minutes walking distance from the most romantic spot in Bruges, 'Het Minnewater', and 10 minutes from the market square. Email us with your enquiries or book online now. We look forward to welcoming you in one ofour 3 luxury suites or our luxury family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing