We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to a stay! ”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #2 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to a stay! ”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the townhouse during August and we thoroughly enjoyed! We had a fabulous room with amazing facilities and everything we could possible need! As for hosting, exceptional!! Nothing was to much trouble and we were given all the advice we needed for a wonderful stay in Bruges! Thank you once again, we will highly recommend a stay with you!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
143
368
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My friend I and stayed for 2 nights late September. I stayed in the Blueberry Suite & my friend was in the Plum Suite, in a word AWESOME!!! The rooms were immaculate, the beds were REAL KING BEDS SOOOOO SOFT & COZY!! The breakfasts were individually prepared & delicious - enough food to carry us over till dinner! Both Sandra & Jason were amazing, they were beyond helpful with organizing places to visit, restaraunts (reservations), & transportion. I wish we stayed longer. THIS IS A MUST STAY AT PLACE!! - I hope you enjoy as much as I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early September for four nights in the Vanilla suite. We flew into Brussels, took the train to Bruges, walked to the Townhouse and were greeted by Jason. He sat us down, laid out the map and made recommendations of places to eat (and not eat) and things to see. His knowledge of restaurants was great; once he knew that one of us was vegetarian he made even further recommendations for places that were veggie friendly.
Our room was on the top floor. The first set of stairs was a doozy--very tall and narrow, but we got used to them. Jason helped by carrying my bag up when we arrived and departed.
The vanilla suite was very cute and comfortable. A few leather chairs by the tv, a very comfortable bed, and big windows for a great breeze. The bathroom was super modern and beautiful. I highly recommend taking a bath at night and enjoying the view out of the skylight that opens up. There were even candles and bath salts!
Some nice touches in the room included coffee/tea service and Belgian chocolates that got refilled daily, plus Q tips in the bathroom since many people forget these!
Breakfast. Where do I start? Essentially, it was four courses. First up-fresh fruit. Every day something different. I'm allergic to melons and bananas and Jason/Sandra accomodated this with no problem. They had the most amazing yellow kiwis a few days when we were there. Then comes yogurt mixed with marscapone, topped with stewed fruit (plums or rhubarb) and honey. I'm not a yogurt eater, but I gave it a try and it was quite good. My husband loves yogurt and thought it was amazing! Then comes a tray of pastries and fresh breads which were out of control delicious. Then eggs or pancakes. I had the same eggs every day (bacon with sunny side up eggs). The eggs were cooked perfectly and the yolks were bright orange! So good. They also had scrambled eggs w/ salmon, omlettes with fresh herbs, etc. Oh, and fresh squeezed orange juice, great coffee and a nice tea assortment.
Breakfast was always accompanied by nice conversation and tips from Jason and Sandra. What a treat it was to stay here. I wish we'd stayed here the entire time!!

Room Tip: We loved the Vanilla Suite but it is on the top floor-not so great if you don't like stairs. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed 4 nights at the stylish Townhouse last week. It started with a very friendly welcome from Brit abroad Jason, then we were shown our 2nd floor Plum Room which was even more impressive than it looked on the website.

Jason, and his Dutch wife Sandra who spent around a year renovating this characterful house didn't cut any corners on decor, furniture or facilities (though a fridge would have been handy, they do have an honesty bar in the dining area if you fancy a sneaky late night drink). From the extra comfy bed to the walk-in shower and double sink, from the SMART Samsung TV with multi-language channels (including BBC 1 & 2) to the Belgian chocs (to accompany in-room tea and coffee) that are refreshed every day.

The J&S double act comes into its own at breakfast. It's not rushed but you won't wait long for the next tasty local or homemade course. Fresh fruit is followed by yoghurt plus compote, then for the egg-y segment I can wholeheartedly recommend Sandra's pancakes. Oh and the coffee is excellent too and I'm something of a coffee snob. To finish, the fresh rolls and pastries will keep you going well past lunch

On almost every day after breakfast my partner and I had some very engaging chats with Jason and Sandra, so much so I could have happily chatted til lunch (not sure that would've gone down so well with my better half!).

It's such a pleasure to spend time at a B&B where the owners clearly love what they do and are very good at it too. My only health warning for first time visitors to Bruges is that the J&S experience is so good it won't prepare you for the uneven customer service you'll get around Bruges (see my review of the restaurant Christophe for a flavour).

A couple of examples of top-notch Townhouse hospitality: Jason noticed our half-finished bottle of wine left out in our room during the day so put it in the kitchen fridge and handed it to us when we returned in the evening; and he loaned us a plug adapter when we asked if he knew any shops we could buy a spare from...

I can't recommend The Townhouse enough. It's in an excellent location, a 5-10 minute walk to the Market Square and a short walk to many Bruges attractions. And if you aren't sure where to eat or go just ask J&S, their local knowledge is impressive.

For a memorable boutique B&B Bruges experience, it's got to be The Townhouse!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I spent two lovely nights at this B&B and cannot say enough positive things about it. From the exceptionally helpful and friendly owners, the spacious and perfectly clean rooms to the excellent breakfasts and central location.

Jason and Sandra have obviously spent a lot of time and attention on not just the overall B&B but the little details which altogether sets this place part from the rest. We were given very helpful advice and hints about exploring Bruges and excellent recommendations for where to eat, including having our table booked by Jason to ensure we wouldn't miss out!

When I go back to Bruges I won't think twice about booking here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in this fabulous B&B, but was much better than many a hotel we have stayed in. We were greeted by Jason and Sandra and they were very helpful about showing us where to visit in Brugges and where to eat etc. We stayed in the Cinnamon family suite and the children loved having their own separate room without being in a completely different room. They were very accommodating with us also having a baby with us. The room was fabulous and had everything you needed. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and very filling, setting us up well for our day ahead. We would definitely recommend to any family or friends (or anyone else!) to stay here. We hope they continue to do well in their second year of the B&B.

Room Tip: The Cinnamon suite was ideal for a family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenaged children stayed in the Cinnamon room this early August. Our stay at the Townhouse was fabulous! Sandra and Jason were wonderful hosts. When we first arrived, Sandra spent about 20 minutes with us giving valuable tips on the sites of Bruges and suggestions of where to eat. Our room was very modern, immaculately clean, bright, quiet, and seemed to be about 800 square feet with plenty of space for the 4 of us. Everything worked fine including the wi-fi. The room had 2 fans but did not have air conditioning. The daytime highs were in the low 70's degrees F during our visit and we felt comfortable in the room. The delicious and nutritious made to order gourmet breakfast was cheerfully served by Sandra and Jason. We will definitely consider staying again at The Townhouse!

Room Tip: The bedroom for the children had a bunk bed and for some people, it can be tricky to get to the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: Werkhuisstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive renovation project 'The Townhouse' Luxury Bed & Breakfast in Bruges has opened its doors and has welcomed their first guests on June 3rd 2012.The 19th century building has been turned into a beautiful B&B and home for the Barnes family. The house is located in the historic city centre just 5 minutes walking distance from the most romantic spot in Bruges, 'Het Minnewater', and 10 minutes from the market square. Email us with your enquiries or book online now. We look forward to welcoming you in one ofour 3 luxury suites or our luxury family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing