We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place for Lunch”
Review of Tearoom Carpe Diem

Tearoom Carpe Diem
Ranked #2 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great place for Lunch”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Being a Vegetarian I rarely find meals out worth shouting about but hte one I had here was beautiful. It was a tagliatelle with mixed veg and a mildly spicey sauce. yum. The service was great in a very quaint setting and everyone else in my party had good food too. Not too expensive either. I would definitely recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MackyM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    182
    49
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cakes and pastries”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A secret known only by locals I suspect. Terrific tea house with just delectable and indulgent cakes and deserts.

True artisans

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mostync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We discovered this place by accident several years ago. We have only ever gone for the cakes though. Eating there is an experience, we have recommended it to all our cake loving friends and none have been disappointed. I even spoke to someone who had been in Bruges for a week, disco peered Carpe Diem on the first day and had been back every day since. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best value for a decent lunch in Bruge”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is our third visit to Brugge and we wouldn't miss this place off our to do list. We went for lunch and had lasagne and quiche with salad and were more than satisfied. If you have room then finish off by choosing a cake from the cake counter. Everything is served up so beautifully and we found the staff to be very friendly as usual. We sat in the conservatory with the roof open, delightful.

If you feel the service is slow it's to probably because everything is freshly prepared. Chill with a nice glass of house white while you wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service/cuisine”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really friendly, welcoming Tea-Room. Great waffles on first occasion, on return next day we enjoyed a light lunch of an omelet with really fresh tasty rolls. Very easy to find opposite Hotel Academie. We also bought delicious cakes to take away, great choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christinew531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tearoom Carpe Diem also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tearoom Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing