We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Money”
Review of Historium Brugge

Historium Brugge
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$16.24*
and up
Bruges Historium Direct Entrance Ticket
More Info
$22.86*
and up
Bruges Historium All Inclusive Package: Entrance Ticket, VR Experience and a...
More Info
$21.06*
and up
Bruges Historium and Groeninge Museum Entrance Tickets
Ranked #23 of 153 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Start your visit to Bruges in the Historium: a wonderful historical-experience attraction that takes you back in time to the Golden Age of Bruges. Cinematic sets, with music and special effects, propel you into a love story, based on Jan Van Eyck’s painting ‘Virgin and Child with Canon van der Paele'. For anyone who wants a taste of virtual reality: the VR Experience takes you on a virtual tour of medieval Bruges. You travel back in time and get to explore the historical city interactively. The Historium is housed in a historical building on the market square, where the Waterhalle once stood. The Waterhalle was the central shipping entrepot of the thriving mercantile centre Bruges. Bruges was renowned for its luxury textiles and clothing. But the art of Bruges was also highly prized: precious metals, manuscripts, miniatures and of course, the painted panels of Flemish Primitives, such as Hans Memling and Jan van Eyck. In the attraction and the VR Experience, the Waterhalle is superbly reconstructed. You can follow the story in your own language on an audio guide (10 languages). After your visit, you can enjoy a nice Belgian beer or other refreshments in the Duvelorium Grand Beer Cafe... with a panoramic view on the market square. Historium Brugge is open daily from 10h00 a.m. – 6h00 p.m. (tickets until 5h00 p.m.). Accessible for all ages – Family Trail included. Audio guides in 10 different languages.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a bizarre, commercial money-grab with the only redeeming feature being the superb computer-generated graphics of Medieval Bruges. Don't be seduced by the ploy that this hokey love story is fit for children --- they are too discriminating to fall for such a lame plot and bizarre collection of events. Go see Bruges. Don't waste your time or money on this sideshow.

Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear visitor,

I want to thank you for your recent visit at Historium. However I sincerely regret to read you didn’t enjoy it.

The love story was created to make it all more accessible for both young and old. Even if you’re not interested in history, you can enjoy a visit to Historium because you get a glimpse of medieval Bruges in a unique way.

You can experience how it must have been to live in Bruges in the 15th century, and this makes Historium the perfect point to start your visit of Bruges. You can see how the city has evolved, how the buildings have looked like, and how they look today. In short, I think you get a better understanding of Bruges’ history.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Sales & Marketing Director, Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,355 of 2,584 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We read the reviews and chose not to go on our first day. We had time to kill Sunday morning so we went in. I didn't like the 3 count down rooms before you get in and it is very expensive for the time spend inside telling more of a story than history. I can imagine when it's full you would struggle to see the screen.

Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your recent visit at Historium Brugge.

I can understand your concern about the struggle to see the screens when the rooms are crowded. However in every room the screens are positioned differently so they fit very well in the theme and decor. On top all screens are well-positioned so every visitor can watch the movie very comfortably. There are even step-ups for kids so they are positioned higher to watch the movie. We’ve never had any complaints of visitors who weren’t able to see the screen because the rooms were too crowded.

However kindly be informed that we have some improvements in the pipeline. In the waiting area, for example, we will give our visitors more historical background about the history of Bruges. So thank you for your comments and feedback, as this is very valuable for us in order to improve the complete Historium experience.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Sales & Marketing Director, Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Historium on a cold Tuesday morning and found it to be quite an enjoyable experience. There are certainly some improvements that could be made which could really make this a very good attraction. It is very easy to buy a ticket and enter the attraction, it took about 2 minutes to buy a ticket from the machine and be ready to board. Once you enter through the smoke-filled doorway, you come to a door at which you wait for approx 3 mins, After this you put on your headset and wait another 3 mins for another door to open. In my opinion, this process could definitely be a bit faster.

The actual experience was enjoyable. It was a good story centred around a painting that you can actually see in Bruges. It is in the Groeninge Museum. Certain rooms are more interesting and involving than others. I particularly enjoyed the final room with the swooping vistas of Bruges and the wind in your face. Also enjoyed the snowing room.

Ideas for improvement: Cut down the waiting time at the beginning. Also, have been a better idea to include more of the history of Bruges, and include more of the cities' buildings, canals and streets in the film clips. The story of the painting was a good idea but I personally think it would have worked better if all the scenes were in recognisable parts of the city, rather than indoors. Also it would be a good idea to make a member of staff available to contact during the attraction - my headset ran out of battery and there was nobody I could speak to until the end.

I would still recommend the Historium, It is unlike anything else in the city and I think it has the potential to be a good addition to the attractions in Bruges.

1  Thank coconut-peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your visit at Historium and to take the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. This feedback is very valuable for us.

I’m glad to read you liked the attraction. Rest assured that we will take you feedback into account. In fact, at this moment, we are working on some improvements. There will be definitely a solution for some of the points that you mention in your review.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Sales & Marketing Director, Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was quite disappointed by the "experience", which isn't really one but just a film cut into seven pieces with some smells and wind waving through the rooms. I did like the decor and the visual animations in the videos, like the parrot flying over the roofs of medieval Bruges. But it's not enough to justify the high price. It's over in 35 minutes, 10 of which are spent waiting in front of closed doors. When we were there, a nasty smell came from the toilets downstairs and you could smell it all over the entrance hall and even the shop. I wonder if this was part of the experience???

Thank Sanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sanne,

I regret to read you were disappointed about your visit to Historium Brugge.

Kindly be informed that a thorough visit to the attraction lasts approximately 1 hour. The movie itself lasts indeed 35 minutes, but afterwards you can walk through the After Show where you can find more historical background about the buildings that have come to life in the movie. You can also walk on our panoramic balcony where you have a unique and marvellous view over the Market.

I suspect that the undesirable odor in the main entrance indicated a single problem that was solved quickly. However, this should not happen of course.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Sales & Marketing Director, Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This attraction is not worth 11 euro. It is just a love story on a screen where you move from scene to scene into different rooms that have some props. only takes about 30mins or less.

Thank eslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your recent visit at Historium Brugge.

I sincerely regret to read you didn’t enjoy your visit. However the attraction is more than just a love story. As a visitor you walk through 7 themed rooms in which you can experience how it must have been to live in Bruges in 1435. The love story was created to make it al more accessible for both yound and old.

I wonder if you had the time to visit the After Show? Here you can find more historical background about the medieval buildings that have come to life in the attraction. A thorough visit to Historium lasts 1 hour.

Keeping into account that we use high-end technology to create the experience and that every element in Historium is 100% historically correct (which enforced us to rebuild the medieval buildings as shown in the movie completely), I think 11 Euros is a reasonable price. However based on the feedback we receive from our visitors we are working hard to improve the attraction and to make it all even better in the future.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Sales & Marketing Director, Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historium Brugge also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Historium Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing