We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high tech vist of old Brugge”
Review of Historium Brugge

Historium Brugge
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$16.18*
and up
Bruges Historium Direct Entrance Ticket
More Info
$20.98*
and up
Bruges Historium and Groeninge Museum Entrance Tickets
More Info
$5.99*
and up
Bruges Historium Virtual Reality Experience with Optional Historium Direct...
Ranked #23 of 153 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Start your visit to Bruges in the Historium: a wonderful historical-experience attraction that takes you back in time to the Golden Age of Bruges. Cinematic sets, with music and special effects, propel you into a love story, based on Jan Van Eyck’s painting ‘Virgin and Child with Canon van der Paele'. For anyone who wants a taste of virtual reality: the VR Experience takes you on a virtual tour of medieval Bruges. You travel back in time and get to explore the historical city interactively. The Historium is housed in a historical building on the market square, where the Waterhalle once stood. The Waterhalle was the central shipping entrepot of the thriving mercantile centre Bruges. Bruges was renowned for its luxury textiles and clothing. But the art of Bruges was also highly prized: precious metals, manuscripts, miniatures and of course, the painted panels of Flemish Primitives, such as Hans Memling and Jan van Eyck. In the attraction and the VR Experience, the Waterhalle is superbly reconstructed. You can follow the story in your own language on an audio guide (10 languages). After your visit, you can enjoy a nice Belgian beer or other refreshments in the Duvelorium Grand Beer Cafe... with a panoramic view on the market square. Historium Brugge is open daily from 10h00 a.m. – 6h00 p.m. (tickets until 5h00 p.m.). Accessible for all ages – Family Trail included. Audio guides in 10 different languages.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was a nice expierence to view the old Brugge as it was. For those who have problems to get up the stairs there is an elevator that brings you in time to the next level. I find the quality of the audio and video really really good. Nice is also that the entrance is with boarding time's therefore no waste of time or to many poeple at once in the same room :-)
The end of the visit is in the nice bar from Duvel. If you don't participate just go and have a drink there!

Thank Bart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Bart,

Thank you for your recent visit at Historium Brugge and to take the time to write a review and share your experience with other people here on TripAdvisor.

I’m delighted to read you enjoyed your visit. The quality of the images and audio is very important for us, so we invested a lot in the technology to create a unique experience for our visitors. I’m glad you appreciated that.

Our Duvelorium Grand Beer Cafe is indeed the perfect way to end your visit at Historium. It’s good to read you liked it and we look forward to welcoming you in Bruges again in the near future.

Kind regards,
René Tolenaars
Director of Sales & Marketing at Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,370 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you feel tempted to visit this attaction in Brugge, think twice. Although the price is not that expensive it is a waste f time and money. You go through different rooms and watch a short video on each one of a realy stupid story. The attraction's promotion is not even close to what it actually is.

Thank jatpa4087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your recent visit at Historium Brugge.

I regret to read you didn’t like the attraction. Historium Brugge is an experience attraction that tries to give its visitors a unique glimpse of how it was to live in Bruges in the 15th century. We’ve specifically chosen to create a love story, because this improves the edutainment level of the attraction.

Based on the positive feedback we get from a lot of visitors, I’m convinced this was the right choice. However, we’re always open to receive constructive feedback in order to improve the attraction.

Kind regards,
René Tollenaars
Director of Sales & Marketing at Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This killed half an hour and was quite interesting. But as others have said, its a bit confusing and doesn't tell you much about then history till after !

Also, beware stairs if you're not too good with them - there's quite a lot.

Thank JPWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at historium Brugge at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your visit at Historium Brugge.

The attraction itself lasts 35 minutes, but to have a clear view of what Historium is about it is important to visit the After Show. Walking through this, you will learn more about medieval Bruges, and more particular the historical buildings that come to life in the movie.

Also kindly be informed there is a special entrance for people who experience difficulties walking on stairs. There are even locker rooms available where visitors can leave their hand luggage, so they can visit the attraction comfortably.

Kind regards,
René Tollenaars
Director of Sales & Marketing at Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Historium has a perfect organisation, staff is very friendly. Clean an spacious entrance that gets you in thet right mood for a historical attraction.
It is a technical perfect movie-experience. It tells a love story in Bruges in the 15th century. It is wonderful for children, my 6 year old son loved it. But thy don’t learn anything about 15th century Bruges, no explanation at al during the movie. We didn’t experience the 5 sences, only smelled something like soap in the bath house and fell wind blowing in our face in one room.
We got a “hint” of what 15th century Bruges must have been like but didn’t learn anything.
In my opinion, the aftershow should be better a “before-show” so people know what beautiful buildings where recreated in the movie. After seeing the aftershow, I wanted to see the movie again to take a better look at these buildings (for example: st-donaaskerk and ter Beurze) but that's nog possible...
It was not what we expected and certainly not worth 11 euros.

Thank Indra_and_Wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Visitor,

First of all I’d like to thank you for your recent visit at Historium and to take the time to share your experience here with other people on TripAdvisor.

I’m glad to read you liked the technology we use in order to create a unique experience for our visitors, and be assured your feedback about the kindness of our staff will serve as an encouragement to all of those who work here at Historium Brugge.

The goal of Historium is not to be a museum, but an experience attraction that gives its visitors a unique glimpse of the rich history of medieval Bruges. We will take your constructive feedback into account, as we continuously strive to improve our service.

I wish you all the best and send regards from Bruges,
René Tolenaars
Director of Sales & Marketing Communication at Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Should Be Called a “A Medieval Tale”

My wife and I live in Bruges and know through the local press, that this new attraction to Bruges, ‘The Historium’, which opened it’s doors to the public, last November – after 7 years in the planning / building and at a cost of 10 million euros !, is drawing a lot of bad reviews and indeed ours too will not be that positive.

We went to the Historium last week and were disappointed in so many different ways.
Basically it is not representative of historic Bruges in the Middle Ages, albeit Bruges ‘Golden Age’.

The first thing that irritated us, was that we had difficulty in operating the self service payment machine that visitors have to negotiate before anything else. It accepts cash or cards. However, the card reader and display is too low and we did not see it asking for the card to be inserted. On the second attempt we did manage it, and we are by no means ‘technophobics’. It was particularly annoying that the staff who were standing around chatting at the info’ desk did not offer any help. The next thing to negotiate is the ticket scanner to gain entry. The shows are all timed and the scanner seems to work in sync’ with this fact. We had the feeling already that it was all so impersonal. After self scanning our ticket for the show, you then have to wait for automatic doors to allow you entry. This door leads to a series of stairs, to the third floor and they are certainly not for the less fit . (There is apparently a lift for those with walking difficulties and disabled persons available….ask at the info’ desk)

At the top of these stairs, there are the racks of audio sets and headphones. No instructions in sight, nor of course any ‘human’ presence to assist. Having set the language to English, the display kept indicating ‘press any number’ ?.....There is certainly no explanation that the audio is triggered automatically, when you turn the corner heading nearer to another automatic locked door. Here, around the corner you then see some instructions and the audio begins and tells you, you must wait for the door to open. This door leads you to the first of 7 different rooms, constituting the Historium.

The story line of the film is weak and it is basically a tale of love between a young apprentice artist who goes to the harbour to escort a model back to the studio of Jan Van Eyck, a famous Flemish primitive in the employ of the Duke of Burgundy. The acting is also weak and I personally was very unimpressed with the actors pearly white teeth and pristine attire in a middle age Bruges.

The Historium boasts that you will experience all five senses during the show. Well you do get some lovely sweet smells from the ‘bath house’ scene and there is a little bit of wind blowing in another scene, but apart from that I certainly didn’t have my 5 senses stimulated. And would have preferred a real smell of Bruges in the middle ages, even if it was ‘nasty’.

After the last room you exit to find a ‘human’ presence to assist you in hanging up the audio and headphone sets?....then you follow a route which takes you to an after show exhibition which helps people understand more about what they have just seen in the movie. Surely this would be better positioned before the show…..O’h no, why not, because the show is all about timing and getting as many people through for each show.

At this point there is also access onto the outside terrace, which is called a ‘panoramic View’. Please be aware of the step down onto this terrace, it should be clearly painted and a notice advising visitors,
but there is neither.

The Bar/ Pub/ Grand Cafe is not ideally positioned as EVERYONE (including schoolchildren) have to walk through it at the end of the show. It would be better to route visitors through the gift shop - as is usual. Also surely this cafe should be called 'De Beurze' and be fitted out as an old style cafe as in the story. (We actually went to the oldest pub in town afterwards - Café Vlissinghe - and they have a green parrot on the bar!). Also found U2 music in the Historium Grand café quite out of place and indeed it offends some Nationalities by virtue of it’s political overtones - (although not us).

I went back to the info’ desk to ask a couple of questions, before writing this review, as I wasn’t sure about disabled access etc. I asked the guy, what is there in the show that satisfies our ‘sense of taste’. He very quickly pointed to the back of the ticket ,to the small print where it states each visitor receives one free chocolate. I asked was the chocolate industry flourishing in 1435 and he said “Oh yes, the Spanish Invaders brought the cocoa bean to Bruges”…….Strange as they didn’t invade for over another 100 years.

To summarise, the Techo’ stuff is good. The projectors are silent and the sound effects great. Some of the interior scenery was also good, but it’s all pretty sparse. I suppose kids will enjoy it.
Maybe it’s not quite what we were expecting, but in our opinion, it is not worth the 11 euro entry fee each. We also feel there should be no surcharge to use the WC (50 cents) and that also applies if you use the Grand café for a few drinks.

Really don't think Bruges, a city we love so much, needs an attraction that will certainly leave most visitors with one taste - ' A bad taste'.
Please don't make Bruges another theme park. The beauty of Bruges is the city itself.

4  Thank Benidormtourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneTolenaars, Manager at Historium at Historium Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your recent visit at Historium. I’m sorry to hear Historium couldn’t meet your expectations. We thank you for your constructive remarks in your review and will take your feedback into account in order to improve our service.

Our staff is always ready to help visitors if they experience difficulties with the self service payment machines. However I sincerely regret to read this was apparently not the case when you visited our attraction, and this should not happen.

I can understand your feedback about the storyline of the movie and the acting performances of the actors. However as I stated stated earlier here on TripAdvisor, based on the positive feedback of people I speak to when they visited the attraction, I think this is based on personal taste.

I sincerely regret to read you left Historium with a dissapointed feeling. However I don’t want to generalize that. I speak constantly to our visitors and ask them about what they think about the attraction, their experience and feedback, and I can say most people react very positively.

Best regards,
René Tolenaars
Director of Sales & Marketing Communication at Historium Brugge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historium Brugge also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Historium Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing