We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, convenient for the city, easy to find by car & excellent value for money.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden tree hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Golden tree hotel
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford,Surrey,England.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient for the city, easy to find by car & excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

We have stayed many times at this hotel. It is easy to drive to, very handy (a short walk) for the city attractions, is comfortable and does a good breakfast. The hotel is situated by a fairly busy road some rooms can be a little noisy. This hotel is family run (by a mother and her son) she being locally born and a former Bruge tourist guide, can make your trip the more enjoyable by giving very helpful advice on the city including some that can save you money.
A word of warning, the entrance to the car park is quite narrow and as the whole place is a listed building cannot be altered, so dear reader, take care.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-wandering-fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    172
    70
    28
    19
See reviews for
84
195
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liege
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is not the first time my husband and I stayed at this hotel. It is clear that we liked this hotel very much during our previous stays, to keep coming back.
The location is ideal : you can walk from the railwaystation or park your car at the hotel if you drive to Bruges. This time we spent 4 nights at the hotel in a clean, warm, well kept room with shower room and all facilities you may desire (hairdryer, etc ...) A very welcome plus is the breakfast, included in the roomrate. It is served in a wonderfull room with classical decoration and the choice is complete . You can eat everything you expect for breakfast. The hotel owner is extremely helpful and sympathetic. A real treat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sedianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRKENHEAD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We have just returned from a great stay at the Golden Tree. The room was spotless and the heating worked a treat. Breakfast was at a civilised time, 8.00 until 10.00 and every thing was replenished right up to 10.00.The owner couldn't have been more helpful, suggesting good value restaurants and bars to visit Would definatly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is a distinctive, renovated merchant's home (+ carriage house) on the outer edges of the old compact city of Bruges -- an easy walk to various plazas, the city center, shopping streets, etc. The rooms were adequately and comfortably furnished, the bathrooms bright and functional, the breakfast room an elegant experience in its own right. Free Wi-Fi service is available, but only within about 25 feet of the lobby desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymaguire37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Not only did they provide a great breakfast in a lovely setting, but the rooms were clean, the staff friendly and the location was near public transportation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barlee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Like many other reviewers we were part of an organised group. No registration hassle just keys handed out and straight to room. We had room 13 on first floor of main building. Stairs were steep but there is a lift. Room was a good size, double bed, sofa off to one side, TV on wall, large bathoom with shower and bath. Room on side of hotel, clean but too warm and a fair amount of traffic noise. However the noise abated at about 11.30. so did not disturb our sleep too much.
Very pleasant breakfast room breakfast fine -continental-plus boiled eggs and fresh fruit. It is a simple hotel with no staff apparent after 8.30pm. You need to keep and use your room key to access a side door after that time. Not sure what you would do if there was an emergency e.g. illness.
Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The benefit of the hotel is it is an easy walk into the City centre, plus it has it's own parking area should you have a car.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilje29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

I've stayed there for businnes and it was a very good hotel with friendly people

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#57 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#68 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#72 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maraboe Hotel
Maraboe Hotel
#42 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden tree hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden tree hotel

Property: The Golden tree hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden tree hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small familyhotel that is beautifully located in Bruges. Our beautiful building has 20 rooms with are double/twin, triple and family rooms. People from all ages are welcome with us! See you soon in our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Golden tree hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tree Hotel Bruges
Golden Tree Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing