We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Golden tree hotel
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed September 22, 2013

In short, do NOT accept rooms 1-4.

We stayed in room 3 and had the following problems:

- No WIFI despite the hotel advertising WIFI in rooms (because these rooms are so far out from the rest of the hotel).
- Staff rude and unhelpful when I reported this.
- Cold shower for most of the day (would need to get up around 7am to shower as hot water is gone by 8am). Hot water may come back on later, but for 3/4 days I could not have a warm shower.
- Room hadn't been cleaned properly which was apparent from litter being left from previous residents.
- These rooms are on the courtyard so there is likely to be noise from people outside and coming back late when the hotel is busy.
- Water from the tap however was at times only warm when we wanted cold water (despite the shower still being cold at this time!)
- The carpet and extra duvet were stained
- Mouldy smell and mould in the bathroom and shower leaks all over carpet
- Twin beds were pushed together so we had to separate them ourselves.

The lobby was very attractive, but the photos that the website shows of the rooms do not reflect the room we stayed in in any way.
If you do choose to stay at this hotel, ensure your room is 5 or over, and bear in mind that there are no kettles in the room or facilities of this kind in the hotel, so if you want tea or coffee, you will need to take your own kettle.

Room Tip: Don't accept 1-4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 447 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at The Golden Tree hotel for 3 nights at the start of september 2013. I found its location very convenient for exploring Bruges. I thought the room was nice and had a very comfortable bed, but i could imagine some people may expect higher standards of decoration. Our room was at the front of the Hotel on the 2nd floor overlooking the main road and had opening doors. It was very hot the time we were there and left the doors open all night, I can sleep through traffic noise but I think some people could probably be a little disturbed by it, however you could always shut the doors. I should also add that the room looked towards the Belfry and was nice to see the sun rise with this on the skyline. The breakfast was a standard continental, cook your own eggs and toast etc with cereals, cheese and processed meats such as ham and salami on offer. The receptionists/owners were very friendly and helpful. In all it t was a good priced Hotel for a slightly costly City

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night/4 day trip to Bruges staying at the Golden Tree Hotel in Bruges. We were a party of 8 and had a wonderful time. Diane our tour rep was excellent and very knowledgeable. The hotel was lovely. I had emailed the hotel before arriving to ask if we could have 4 rooms together and Francine the Hotel Proprietor was very helpful and did put us all together in 4 lovely rooms on the first floor. Breakfast was lovely and the whole hotel was very welcoming and cosy. The visit to Ypres and Flanders Field Museum and Hill 62 were very moving, wish we had more time there. The city of Bruges is beautiful (quite expensive - but then all Europe is). I must recommend the Belle Epoque restaurant just off Zand Sq, it was excellent. The steak was to die for!
The train journey from Manchester was very good and connections were all good.
I would certainly recommend Riviera Travel and the Golden Tree Hotel.

Room Tip: Email the hotel before your trip if you have any requests. Francine is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silgrim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel is ok value for money but the rooms are extremely dated and actually very unpleasant to spend any time in. It is good location-wise but Bruges is stuffed full of hotels so I'm sure you can find somewhere better than here. We didn't have the breakfast because it was extra €20. Ridiculously expensive. Everything is extra cost, even to have your towels cleaned. Staff were rude and not very friendly. They gave us a bad photocopy of a map which you couldn't even read the street names on. They didn't tell us what time breakfast was or where or anything useful, and they just glared at us whenever we came in or out the hotel. The car park is an extra cost too, but I wouldn't want to be the one trying to make the very sharp turn into it. Avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The Golden Tree is a beautiful old building located about 3 minutes from the edge of the town centre. We walked everywhere from the hotel, including to and from the station, without any difficulty. Our room was a little small but it was more than adequate for our needs. The price included breakfast which was excellent and the dining room is almost an attraction in its own right - make sure you look up. The staff were helpful and we received a full tourist briefing on arrival which was really useful. This an old style, comfortable, mid range hotel which I would not hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerrickandMyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is perfectly placed to explore the city of Bruges. It is worth booking the car park as places are limited. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the bedrooms are adequate for a city break. The breakfast was very good and served in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Bruges at Golden Tree - as other people have said before, the rooms must be a complete lottery. I say this cos I saw that it's had mostly good reviews with a few really bad ones - presumably from the people who stayed in the same room as us! It was very small, stuffy, noisy and shabby. Tiny high window where you could barely see the sky for the building opposite. Awful bed - like sleeping on a half inflated airbed. If you are offered Room 1, say NO! It gives onto the carpark which also doubles as a seating/smoking area. It seemed like every time I dropped off to sleep somebody would wake me up as they came home from their night out. Each time a door nearby was opened it felt as if somebody was coming directly into our room cos the walls were so thin! Shower leaked all over the floor, v noisy bathroom ventilator. All in all it was the most depressing, disappointing hotel room I've ever been in. The hotel staff were nice but I note that nobody asked if everything was ok - probably from past experience.

Room Tip: Don't accept Rooms 1 or 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden tree hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden tree hotel

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $71 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden tree hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small familyhotel that is beautifully located in Bruges. Our beautiful building has 20 rooms with are double/twin, triple and family rooms. People from all ages are welcome with us! See you soon in our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Golden tree hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tree Hotel Bruges
Golden Tree Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing