We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend in Brugges!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend in Brugges!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were NOT dissapointed! We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful front desk clerk. He gave us excellent directions to the parking garage (unfortunately parking is a couple of blocks away- which normally would not be a big deal however it was POURING rain when we arrived!) He helped us with our bags and to the lift and even recommended a few tips for dining. After drying off- we decided to eat at the Erasmus cafe- right there at the hotel - food and service were both excellent! The hotel is in a fabulous location and we were fortunate to have a canal view room. The room was comfortable- with a hot pot, instant coffee and teas and a mini fridge. The bath was very clean and roomy and a window to allow in cool air. Although the bed was a bit noisy- squeaky wood, it was still very comfortable. Breakfast is served in two rooms near the lobby (get a table by the window if you can) the canal is peaceful and we loved watching the swans floating by as we had our coffee. The food was good- typical European breakfast: variety of breads and pastries, yogurts and cereals and boiled eggs and meat/cheeses. Hot coffee, tea and juices. Nice way to start the busy day of shopping and sightseeing. Brugges is so beautiful - we didnt want our weekend to end. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCSUMOM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    257
    127
    25
    17
See reviews for
81
395
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel has a great location and is reasonable value for money, but it's fairly basic. We had a fairly small double room overlooking the street which did the job, but wasn't in any way luxurious. Our bathroom wasn't especially clean, and rooms don't have an iron (there's a fold- out ironing board on the ground floor). The main receptionist was fairly helpful, but we found some of the other staff a bit unfriendly - e.g our friend wasn't allowed to save a table for others joining her at breakfast even though the dining room wasn't busy; another staff member was quite abrupt when I asked about ironing, and again about luggage storage on checkout. That said, the location is fantastic - about a minute from the Markt - and the dining room and outside terrace are nice and overlook the canal. All in all, you could probably do worse, just don't expect a plush interior or a particularly warm welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were in Brugges for a two day side trip and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was quaint, clean and in a perfect location. We requested a canal view room (we did not see the other rooms, but the canal view was a "must have" in our minds).

We had a lower level room. Some reviews we read would call this a "cellar" but I would not. Yes, it is just a tiny bit musty, but not bothersome or anything to worry about. After all, it is a few hundred year old building, built literally on the canal.

Breakfast was typically European - really tasty and very nicely done.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: A canal view adds so much to the experience. If you can get a canal view room on an upper level, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding anniversary trip. The room we booked was unavailable and we were offered another room at the same rate - perfectly fine, but also offered an upgraded room for EUR10 which had a great view over the belfort which we took. A word of advice - if you book thru Expedia they don't pass your contact details on to the hotel so if the room you booked is not available, they can't get in touch.

Room was clean, well serviced, separate WC and bathroom, and was perfectly quiet with the inner windows shut even with the street below. Bed was a little hard (but that might be just me!). We noticed that the reviews of this hotel are varied and I think it's because it's actually two hotels merged into one - so some rooms (on the street-side - previously Hotel Erasmus) have been more recently refurbished than the older ones (canal side). But the older room that we saw was perfectly clean and serviced as well.

The hotel staff were very helpful, and free wifi was a nice bonus (though reception varied and you had to switch between a couple of different access points around then hotel).

Breakfast was included in our rate and this was a very nice continental selection of breads, cheeses and meats, as well as all the usual cereals, coffee, tea etc.

we had a very pleasant stay and we would definitely use the hotel again.

Oh, and it's also directly next door to the hotel where they filmed the hotel scenes in "In Bruges"

Room Tip: We were in room 314 - part of the newer half of the hotel with glimpses of all three towers from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just stayed here and decided to spend a bit extra & book a canal view room at £164. Yes, the room did have a lovely view through the grubby window smothered with fingerprints. Yes, the room was spacious. But ---- The carpet was stained, the decor very tired, sofa & chair was dirty, no signal on the TV, no clock in the room, no milk for tea/coffee, no hotel information in the room, not even an evacuation escape procedure on the wall. Makes one wonder what the standard rooms are like here !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristineK027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAllewaert1, Manager at Hotel Bourgoensch Hof, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay at our hotel.

The remarks you've posted are serious and will be followed up with. However I am confident if these items where mentioned during the stay at our hotel we would have been able to rectify most.

Every room should have the safety procedures either on the back of the entry door or on the desk. If needed there are spare copies of these at the hotel reception.

With the coffee and tea facilities we provide coffee sticks, sugar sticks, creamer sticks and tea sachets. If any of these are missing the front desk will gladly replenish those. Some guests prefer 'real' milk, which we also gladly supply upon request.

The sofa, carpet and windows stains are not tolerated which has been reiterated to our housekeeping staff members.

As you mention there was no signal on the TV and no clock in the room. I suspect the TV was switched off with the physical button on the right side of the TV, as no other similar remarks have been given by other guests since.

We prefer to keep the rooms with a basic layout, allowing us to continue our current pricing. Those looking for a more sumptuous and luxurious room, can find a four star hotel right next door, offering similar views, but at about double the price.

Thank you again for your feedback which helps us in improving our product.

Feel free to email the hotel with other concerns or questions.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic - Bruges is very small though, so no matter where you are your location should be fine. Never in my life have I seen a cuter hotel (from the outside). The breakfast was great. The room was very small, but adequate. The bathroom was the only thing that we could complain about. I wish I had take a picture. If you are a heavy person, you could not use the toilet in room 315 and expect to close the door. We laughed every time we had to go into the bathroom. The tub had a handheld wand, but was not a traditional shower - for me this was a total inconvenience.

If you are looking for luxury, make sure that you upgrade to a fancier room -- we were in a standard room and it was bare bones.

Side note: if you arrive by train the bus will take you straight to this hotel. Very handy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Located close to everything, great views, the staff was great and helped us with reserving a tour. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta0231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Property: Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing