We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful fairy tale setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful fairy tale setting”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I booked a three night weekend stay at this hotel. I have to say that it was probabaly the best weekend away I've ever had with my partner. A lovely spacious room with a very nice bathroom. Comfortable and very quiet, even allowing for the proximity to busy roads and the main square nearby. The view from the windows was breathtaking, a romantic fairy tale view of the canal. It was difficult to say whether it was better during the day (continual sunshine for three days) or at night, when the canal is lit up.

We ate in the restaurant Erasmus on the first night, the food was very good. Breakfast was good and is taken in the old dining room with wonderful views over the canal. Location wise, the hotel is perfect, within walking distance of every attraction in Bruges, which is just beautiful. I had booked car parking for three days at €30 and this was very close. The reception and restaurant staff were all excellent. However, there was one area that prevents me giving the hotel 5 stars. The breakfast was quite shambolic. Each morning we had to clear tables in order to find somewhere to eat. Hot water for tea or coffee was often not available and cups and glasses had to be requested on more than one occasion. Regrettably the attitude of the breakfast staff was very poor, complaining constantly but seemingly unable or unwilling to get things right.

If this was put right, I would have no hesitation in giving the hotel the highest possible marks. It's a truly lovely hotel, with a few minor points that can easily be improved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    255
    127
    25
    17
See reviews for
81
393
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had the best time in Bruges and was all made possible with this hotel. We stayed in a room with a canal view (a must have) located in what is probably the most photographed spot on the canal. Perfectly lit at night for great photos. The hotel staff was very helpful and willing to get ansewers to all our questions. We were even lost several blocks away and Rony (hotel staff member) walked to find us got in our car and guided us back to our parking area. First class service! Hotel is located right next to the hotel were In Bruges with Colin Farrel was filmed. That hotel is very expensive! Bourgoensch-Hof is an excellent value and has a fine resturant all in one. I would only stay at this hotel when we come back to Bruges!

Room Tip: I belive we stayed in room 318 with canel view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed in a wonderful room for 3 nights. The room was spacious and had a sofa-bed for our 8 year old to sleep on. The bathroom was also spacious with a good-sized tub. The hotel breakfast was adequate and the service was great. The location of the hotel is fabulous as it is right on a canal within a 5 minute walk to the Belfry and Market Square. The only draw-back we found was a lack of screens on the windows. Our room had no air conditioning so we left the windows open on our first night only to be eaten alive by mosquitos all night long. We closed the windows for the remaining 2 nights but it was very stuffy and hot with the windows shut. I would recommend bringing some bug spray or citronella or something to drive off the pests. I would imagine that the mosquito issue is a problem for any hotel in the area without screened windows.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal are more expensive but have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anvy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel is situated right in the centre of Bruges. Travelling from the main square to where the boat trips start the hotel can be found through a small cosy courtyard on the left side of the road.
The room we had overlooked a very beautiful part of the canal with bridges and grand historical architecture. Breakfast was a continental offering with plenty of meat, cheeses, bread, cereal etc etc. What was nice was that the lady looking after the breakfasts was constantly making sure there was more food put out when it was getting low. There was free wifi here.
The lift was small and odd but worked ok. There is nothing really negative about this place. The high ceilings gave it a very nice feeling.Staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottinghamchris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I decided to stay here during our travels around Europe and I spent some extensive time researching a good hotel that fit into our budget. After reading some good reviews I decided to book a last minute room, but silly me I booked a day later than I intended. Fortunately the friendly staff sorted out the situation and we received a nice room overlooking the streets of Brugges. The staff were really nice and the breakfast was very tastey. The location was excellent and very close to a fantastic boutique bar. The only down side was after requesting a double bed we got two twins pushed together and the room was a bit dark. I was also a little dissapointed that the cosy looking bar was never open at all during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auzzy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We Stayed here for 2 nights. We initially booked a budget room - Don't it was awful it stunk and was tiny and the bathroom door was see-through! We asked to upgrade which we did which was a much better room in all respects we paid the extra its worth it. The location was ideal 5 minute walk from the centre. The breakfast was ok nothing special but the view out of the dining room made up for it. It suited us and so did the price it was a good hotel in the end!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleharvey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We loved this hotel - great location right off the main road, on a canal and short walk to main square. The staff was extemely pleasant and helpful. They give you a card at check-in which gives you discounts at several shops including bike rentals, which is a must. A very good breakfast in a nice, unique location with windows right along the canal which offer a beautiful view. The value of the room was very good especially for the location. If we were to stay in Bruge again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovestoTravel919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Property: Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing