We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised!!”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was able to reserve a triple room (often hard to find) with a very reasonable rate and breakfast included so I was initially skeptical about the quality of the hotel that I would find. Hotel Alegria is a wonderful boutique hotel in a great location just minutes from the city center. The hotel is immaculately clean and our triple room was nicely decorated in warm brown tones. The room design is clever as the extra beds are all pullman beds that can retreat into the wall allowing it accommodate 2,3 or 4 people. We had plenty of room with good lighting, quality linens and toiletries. The bathroom was beautiful slate tile on the floors and walls with a unique open design where there was a shower curtain but no shower or bath stall. The lovely breakfast room was warm and inviting,decorated in soft colors. The breakfast was very good including fresh squeezed orange juice and made to order eggs. We found the owner a bit abrupt in her manner but in speaking to her during breakfast on our second day she commented that she was tired, she indeed seems to run the place by herself including an accessory shop next door. She allowed us to store our luggage both before check in and after check out. It is clear that great thought and pride goes into this hotel. Highly reccomemnded!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 401 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

A small hotel with a family feel within minutes of the Market Square. The room was not only reasonable but beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean with a great breakfast.
Veronique was a wonderful host and must be superwoman as she seems to do everything on her own.
Will definitely be returning and would recommend to everyone wanted to visit this magical city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed there beginning of September for a 2 nights stay in Bruges. Small hotel (at present time 6 rooms only but they are extending for an additional 6 I think). We had a room quite large on the first floor. Not too fancy but very clean and a bed to dream on. Excellent bed sheets and mattress. The hostess, Veronique, was very friendly and gave us tips to make our short stay the most profitable possible. Breakfast was great. Cheese, ham, marmalade, different breads, fresh fruit and much more. Location is great as only 2 minutes away from the market place. My only reservation would be that our room was direct on a busy street and if one wants to sleep,longer in the morning than you need to close the windows as quite a lot of traffic is going through this street. But all in all and for the rate of this hotel I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolofinwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This small hotel (B&B) is very conveniently located a few metres from the Market Square. I stayed here last year and decided to come back as I enjoyed it so much a year ago.

Veronique is a wonderful host and looks after you very well. Our room was very comfortable and very clean. She also provides a great breakfast. I would recommend anyone travelling to Brugge to consider staying here

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Alegria Hotel, location is great, close to everything. Room really nice, comfy bed and lovely bathroom. Owner very efficient with a school teacher manner although very nice and helpful, buffet breakfast nice , would stay again if ever visiting Brugge .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopping15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were enchanted with this warm and welcoming hotel in Bruges. It is small, but very attractive and comfortable. The management is excellent and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. There was no lift, however this will not be the case much longer as the hotel is adding another 6 more rooms and is ready to open soon with a lift which will access both parts of the hotel. Breakfast is complete and in a lovely setting looking out onto a flower filled courtyard. Tables are impeccable and special treats are prepared for breakfast every day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was a delight with a tidy, modern and attractive room, elegant breakfasts that got each day started right and very friendly and effective service by owner and manager Veronique. The real payoff, though, from staying in a small owner managed facility came when we left for the train station and I forgot my small satchel with Eurail pass and I-pad in the taxi. My wife stayed at the station while I returned to the hotel and Veronique worked the phones and stayed with me until the taxi with the bag was located and then brought to me. Finally when because of a mixup i could not get a taxi back to the station Veronique's mother drove me there just barely in time to catch the last train for our Brussels connection.

Room Tip: Select a room in the rear to avid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#40 of 97 in Bruges
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#51 of 97 in Bruges
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Sint-Jakobsstraat 34, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $124 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria *** is a small Hotel de Charme, with a wonderful hidden garden overlooking a monument "The tower of the lords of Gistel " The location is top as only 100 meters from the Market square with it's famous Belfry ; shopping and historical area. The Hotel Alegria *** Manor houses dates 1890 .Hotel Alegria *** offers a lift , a garden and a hotelgarage ( 15 euro/night ) connected to the hotel. You will be charmed by the painted doorpanels,the massive oak floors the high ceilings with the ornaments even one with an original painting and the hand sculptured stairway head. All hotelrooms are created in soft colours We offer small double/twin , large or comfort triple rooms and comfort rooms with gardenview or superior room all constantly upgraded Each bathroom is different offering an A++ ventilation system and bio Cotton XXL towels . Rooms offer large bedding with bio mercerised cotton XXL sheets , smart flatscreen tv offering 45 channels ( incl all english ), a little fridge bar, coffee and tea facilities , a bottle of mineral water vittel , free wifi ( with security code ) are offered inclusive at Hotel Alegria *** In the morning a wonderful freshly made buffet breakfast is offered with view into the garden or in the garden as soon as the weather permits it. The buffet offers freshly squeezed orange juice, daily fresh fruit salad, delicious cheeses and fine meats some vegetarion products , a range of cereals and breads ,viennoiserie ,yoghurts etc etc We love our Hotel Alegria *** and hope you will do the same! We are looking forward to welcome you. The family De Muynck Hotel Alegria *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing