We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was the fourth or fifth time we have stayed at the Alegria in Bruges. It has a great location and Veronique makes us feel welcome every time. Breakfast is outstanding and we love the rooms. We will return on our next visit to Bruges!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank brubrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 386 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Location: Hotel is located in the middle of Bruge’s historic center but Still very quiet.

The Hotel: Stylish, family ruled, very clean. Veronique (the owner) was from the first minute very friendly and helpful. She is a really good hostess.

Breakfast: Excellent! Gourmet breakfast made by the owner (Veronique)

Chocolate Room: Spacious, good taste, three windows to an amazing view, spotless clean, heating, nice wooden floor, non-smoking, quiet, more than enough space for baggage, good mattress, good sleep.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Chocolate room. Beautiful room with a large bathroom and the most amazing romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GR_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose to stay at the Alegria Hotel after reading the numerous positive hotel reviews the hotel had been given. We weren't disappointed! From start to finish Veronique made us feel extremely welcome supplying us with local tourist information and suggesting activities for us to do during our three night stay. Our spotlessly clean Garden Room had beautiful views of the quaint little courtyard and had a real boutique hotel feel to it. The hotel is in a superb location-a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle of the main Markt, but far enough away to have a peaceful night's sleep. A little gem in the heart of a beautiful historic town! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Perfect location we stay at chocolate room and we really liked
Excellent breakfast really enjoy our stay
Family oriented very easy to find, parking very closed, walking distance to the center the boutique have beautiful things
Looking forward to return
To Bruges and Hotel Alegria

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elenacamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel Alegria has lots to offer and location is the primary reason we chose it. It is within walking distance to the market place. We arrived on a gloomy, unseasonably cold morning in March and the warm welcome from its proprietor, Veronique, deserves all five circles of an Excellent rating. She made us feel as if she had been waiting for us to welcome us into her own home. After checking in, she told us to leave our luggage and she would take it upstairs to our room. An elevator is being built. Each room has a different decor. Ours was the Mille Fiori room, with a window overlooking the inner garden and the belfry beyond. The room was nicely decorated with flowery prints and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. The amenities she provided were thoughtful. She made the ambiance of the room as one I would find if I were visiting a dear family member who thought of making my stay as comfortable and welcoming as possible. Breakfast service was excellent and the offerings were delicious. This is an old family home that Veronique has converted into a warm, welcoming home for those who are fortunate to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had such a warm, welcoming reception right when we walked through the door! The owner was friendly, funny, and helpful. There are stairs, so be prepared to carry your bags up one or two flights-Veronique did give us a hand with this. The room and attached bathroom was clean and decor was relaxing- we stayed in the Babluette Room. Our view was at the front of the street, very nice view, but a bit noisy at night with buses driving past. Our bathroom did not have a shower curtain so the surroundings got wet, but the water was hot, draining not an issue. Free wifi. Breakfast was great! Hostess gave us recommendations on where to go for the best Belgian food! We would recommend this hotel!! We will come here again.

Room Tip: Only saw Babluette room, good for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adiNali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

we stayed at this hotel in november a group of 3, very close to the main square in the center of the city. the room was very clean with a good wet room and comfortable beds, tea and coffe, tv. all in all i would recomend this as a good place to stay in Bruges

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtabiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#37 of 97 in Bruges
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#41 of 97 in Bruges
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#49 of 97 in Bruges
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#24 of 97 in Bruges
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Sint-Jakobsstraat 34, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $135 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria *** is a small Hotel de Charme, with a wonderful hidden garden overlooking a monument "The tower of the lords of Gistel " The location is top as only 100 meters from the Market square with it's famous Belfry ; shopping and historical area. The Hotel Alegria *** Manor houses dates 1890 .Hotel Alegria *** offers a lift , a garden and a hotelgarage ( 15 euro/night ) connected to the hotel. You will be charmed by the painted doorpanels,the massive oak floors the high ceilings with the ornaments even one with an original painting and the hand sculptured stairway head. All hotelrooms are created in soft colours We offer small double/twin , large or comfort triple rooms and comfort rooms with gardenview or superior room all constantly upgraded Each bathroom is different offering an A++ ventilation system and bio Cotton XXL towels . Rooms offer large bedding with bio mercerised cotton XXL sheets , smart flatscreen tv offering 45 channels ( incl all english ), a little fridge bar, coffee and tea facilities , a bottle of mineral water vittel , free wifi ( with security code ) are offered inclusive at Hotel Alegria *** In the morning a wonderful freshly made buffet breakfast is offered with view into the garden or in the garden as soon as the weather permits it. The buffet offers freshly squeezed orange juice, daily fresh fruit salad, delicious cheeses and fine meats some vegetarion products , a range of cereals and breads ,viennoiserie ,yoghurts etc etc We love our Hotel Alegria *** and hope you will do the same! We are looking forward to welcome you. The family De Muynck Hotel Alegria *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing