We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great! great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Books & Brunch

Books & Brunch
Ranked #16 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The combination of different kinds of breakfasts, light lunches (salads, sandwiches and seasonal specials) and our used-book store create a relaxing atmospere.We like to surprise with tasty, healthy food. Organic and vegetarian options are always available. As for drinks : freshly ground coffee, latte, capuccino, fresh tea, homemade limonade and ice-tea....The books are a mix of all genres of non-fiction and fiction. English and French books are available too. We also supply free WIFI and charging points for your laptop, phone and tablet.See you in Books & Brunch ! We're open from Monday to Friday, 9-17 h. Closed during Belgian school holdiays.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great! great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place a few mins walk from the real touristy areas. Great value meals. Good free wifi connection. Trendy place with great interior. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bthomas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for highly recommending us. That's so nice !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    91
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beatiful food, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ordered 2 giga croques, and they were magnificent. The accompanying salad was amazing, the basil was the freshest I've ever tasted.
It was a filling meal, and very reasonably priced for such fresh fare.

The mint tea was delicious, and I was told by my partner that the rhubarb lemonade was very tasty, indeed. That was another homemade item on the menu. The coffee got a tick, as well. Good size, and nice and grunty.

The atmosphere definitely invites to linger, and peruse a book (all of which are for sale), and make use of the free wi-fi offered.

And the bathrooms are very clean, too, which is always a good sign!

If you're in the neighbourhood, it's worth a visit; You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsverbanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very, very much for this nice review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

As a keen traveller, coffee addict and book dweller - Books and Brunch was a brilliant find for me tucked away in beautiful Bruges.
Clean and fresh, the atmosphere of the shop is wonderful with friendly and courteous staff making for a brilliant experience. I was a particular fan of the National Geographic magazines being used as decor!! Books cover the walls and are available to buy or just to browse and read. The drinks and food menu was varied and affordable - for me, their fresh orange juice was a big hit!!
For anyone travelling to Bruges, make time to stop off at Books and Brunch, you will not be disappointed. It's simply fantastic, couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We like to think of Books & Brunch as simple and if you think it's fantastic then that's great !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great menu, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Loved this out of the way cafe, not far from the crowds but so relaxing and the food was excellent. We stopped for a quick lunch and I had the soup of the day - a lovely green vegetable soup. The coffee was excellent.... did I mention the cakes! They were sublime :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks a million for the review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast but on the pricey side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went here for our second breakfast, because of the reviews on here and I was a little disappointed.
The food was good but expensive in comparison to other places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edith39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'll admit, we're not the cheapest (try Hema, breakfast for 1 euro) but we do serve better quality than most. And quality is what we aim for !! Should have told us while you where @Books & Brunch though. That way we could have a talk about your expectations and how we could meet them...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Books & Brunch also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Books & Brunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing