We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast”
Review of Books & Brunch

Books & Brunch
Ranked #37 of 768 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The combination of different kinds of breakfasts, light lunches (salads, sandwiches and seasonal specials) and our used-book store create a relaxing atmospere.We like to surprise with tasty, healthy food. Organic and vegetarian options are always available. As for drinks : freshly ground coffee, latte, capuccino, fresh tea, homemade limonade and ice-tea....The books are a mix of all genres of non-fiction and fiction. English and French books are available too. We also supply free WIFI and charging points for your laptop, phone and tablet.See you in Books & Brunch ! We're open from Monday to Friday, 9-17 h. Closed during Belgian school holdiays.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended place to have breakfast/brunch away from touristic places , delicious selection of fresh bread , fresh orange juice. Free wifi , very friendly service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angelle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for the review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 604 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Although located just a few hundred yards from the tourist center of Bruges, this restaurant is on a quiet street where few visitors go. They should make the effort to find it. its breakfast options are many, with each dish being cooked to order so that everything is fresh and hot. The staff is small, so that service can be a bit slow, but that only means that one is getting specially prepared food and not something held on a steam table or heated in a microwave. And there are hundreds of books in many languages for customer to enjoy as they wait, or even to buy if they like. Newspapers and magazines are also provided, as are several comfortable nooks with comfortable seating for reading. We have no complaints about this charming place, although two suggestions to the owners are offered. First, the chance to order a side of bacon would be welcome, as many customers would enjoy a bit of meat without having to order a complete English breakfast. Second, eggs might be offered scrambled instead of only sunny-side-up and boiled. But these are only suggestions that might increase the appeal of an already most appealing place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Florencelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for the review. Our staff is small indeed and service can be "relaxed" if it's really busy but the food is fresh indeed... Thank you for pointing that out in your review. We'll also add bacon and scrambled eggs (which can be ordered though not on the menu) the next time we change the menu...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Really excited to try this place after such good trip advisor reviews ... But we obviously caught them on a bad day.

Over 20mins before our order was taken. (We thought maybe they had forgotten us, because we sat upstairs) 20mins later our orange juices arrived, then 60mins after we walked in, we got our food.

Food was tasty and good size serve, just shame about the indifferent service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andinjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear madam, sir. Glad you did appreciate our fresh juice and dishes made the minute you order them. Our sincerest apologies for the excessive wait. If by “indifferent service” you mean we don’t care, we do. We care a lot. Truth is, yesterday was not a bad day. In fact, it was too good for us and we could hardly keep up. Our staff is small to keep prices down and we were taken by surprise by the number of guests. We’re looking into how we can solve this but it’s not easy (either we take on more staff, which is a costly affair in Belgium, and raise the prices or we reduce the number of tables and disappoint guests we’d have to refuse). All of this is of course none of your concern… Therefore, again, my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really lovely, cosy atmosphere inside Books and Brunch. Food was brilliant, particularly the selection of breads and cold meats. I would also recommend the Mint Tea! We were made to feel very welcome by the staff, and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Brugge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Of course you're welcome ! And thank you for recommending us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After climbing 366 steps from the Belfort I needed a break and came here after reading the TA reviews. I liked that this place was hidden away from all the touristy places and I was able to relax and enjoy a meal. It was really just a great cosy environment. I would be a regular here if I lived in Bruges. The free wifi also helped me plan the rest of my day in Bruges!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greengirl611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

After climbing the Belfort, you do need a good meal and a drink ! Glad you found us (of the beaten track) and liked us too !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Books & Brunch also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Books & Brunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing