We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Books & Brunch

Books & Brunch
Ranked #10 of 734 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The combination of different kinds of breakfasts, light lunches (salads, sandwiches and seasonal specials) and our used-book store create a relaxing atmospere.We like to surprise with tasty, healthy food. Organic and vegetarian options are always available. As for drinks : freshly ground coffee, latte, capuccino, fresh tea, homemade limonade and ice-tea....The books are a mix of all genres of non-fiction and fiction. English and French books are available too. We also supply free WIFI and charging points for your laptop, phone and tablet.See you in Books & Brunch ! We're open from Monday to Friday, 9-17 h. Closed during Belgian school holdiays.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a delightful little place! Its reputation on TripAdvisor is well and truly deserved. Books & Brunch is a cosy, pleasant little restaurant is very popular among the students from the neighbouring College, and a well-loved alternative to the breakfast at the residences...

I particularly like the home-y atmosphere and the delicious fresh orange juice. Salads, snacks and coffee are very good, and reasonably priced for Bruges standards. Definitely somewhere to go for an extended breakfast, quick lunch or relaxing coffee in the afternoon. Not yet too touristy and, as other reviewers wrote, well worth the detour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks ! We love having the international crowd of the College of Europe in... And homey is really what we aspire to !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Books & Brunch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 461 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We read a positive and interesting mention about Books & Brunch here in TA and we decided give it a try.

Books & Brunch is slightly off the beaten touristic path, but it surely deserves the small detour. The combination of a book store and a restaurant is always attractive, and this one is a quite successful one. It feature top-down bookshelves, with plenty of reading options during your stay (more if you are able to read flemish :-)). Free wifi is a nice plus.

The lunch options were simple, but excellent and tasty, and better than those we found in central touristic places. Plenty of eating options, from light snacks and salads to full dishes. The owner is efficient, attentive and and always nice and ready for a little chat if the time is available.

In short, a nice place for a full meal or just to have a short snack midday in Bruges.

Thank FernandoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013
Google Translation

Obrigado !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

After reading some glowing reviews here on TA, my wife and I decided to have brunch here! As our ratings suggest, we were not disappointed!
We arrived at 11:45, bang in the middle of the breakfast and lunch time menu but were told we could have either! After seeing the specials board, a lunch option was an easy choice!
We both had the delicious broccoli soup and whilst my wife had the croque Monsieur with fried eggs off the main menu I had the homemade chilli con carne!
The food was of the highest standard with obvious pride being taken in both the quality and presentation.
We were made to feel welcome and looked after during our relaxed lunch and would thoroughly recommend this place to anybody who wishes to enjoy great food, relaxing atmosphere and value for money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Twains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you very much for the praise !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

So glad to have found this quaint cafe on my last morning in bruge. Loved the ambience, books on the side of a delicious breakfast is my idea of heaven. The breakfast menu is fantastic, I had trouble deciding... french breakfast, english Breakfast, American, Bio, big breaky?? ... in the end i went with the standard which was a basket of fresh breads, jam, butter and chocolate, ham and cheese, OJ and tea. I added a greek yogurt with honey to mine and it was all scrumptious! and generous portions! I felt perfectly comfortable to sit and read for a good 2 hours afterwards in the very cosy surroundings. The wait staff were friendly and efficient and I loved that this was a little secret haven off the beaten track too...but def worth the short walk. Next time in Bruges this will be my regular coffee, breaky and lunch spot. A must!

Thank reginamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you very much for the review !! Books on the side of breakfast (or any meal really) is my idea of heaven too !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Rather than pay for an expensive breakfast in our hotel we wanted to see what Bruges had to offer.... We saw B&B mentioned here so decided to give it a go and it was worth walking through the snow for. Lots of options for breakfast ranging from fruit to croissants to granola to pancakes and to top it off the staff/manager/owner was a really nice guy.

We loved the quirky idea of so many books to choose from and there were many thoughtful and creative ideas, really giving it an individual feel. I loved the national geographics hung on the wall with coat hangers! Looks a good family friendly option too with a kids table and menu.

Thank cmacnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroo_Jos, Owner at Books & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thanks for the review. Loved talking to you too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Books & Brunch also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Books & Brunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing