We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket boutique hotel but rooms hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2009

A great location, within easy walking distance of all the tourist attractions. They have limited on site parking but a public car park is not too far away (5 mins walk). The hotel has been very tastefully renovated in classic style. We had executive rooms which were excellent value, a good size, well appointed and equipped. Rooms on the front can be noisy at night as there is a youth hostel opposite which has a bar at the front that is active into the early hours of the morning, also you get some road noise from traffic on the cobbled street. The rear is quiet. The only complaint about the room itself is that it was too hot, this seems to be due to underfloor heating in the lovely bathroom which is a nice touch but heats the whole room so you end up having to run the aircon to keep cool (opening windows did not do enough). The breakfast buffet is included and is wonderful, an excellent choice of food in a lovely room. The bar is regal with lovely high ceilings and easy chairs. The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner but to be honest it's not necessary as there are so many good places to eat in the city and many within an easy walk.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed at the hotel on the 30-3 May 09 with my boyfriend just as a weekend break over the bank holiday. Had a fantastic weekend in a beautiful city.

The hotel is really clean and smart, chandelliers throughout the lobbys and in the room. We stayed in 111 and it was a perfect room, huge wardrobe, comfy beds and pillows, only slight complaint would be that it was two singles pushed together and the room was very warm, but had air con for that. Bath was fantastic, (and shower). Had seperate toilet.

Reception staff were really helpful, just one gentleman on the desk who seemed pretty annoyed most of the time, but never mind!

Breakfast was great, lots of variety, cold meats and cheese, toast and jam, croissants, yoghurt and fruit, eggs, bacon and sausages, couldnt ask for more!

Had a drink in the bar, but you ahve to get reception to nserve you and it was very quiet in there so only went once.

In Brugges, restaurants around the main squares are expensive, but I think that's to be expected! Less queues for boat trips/horse and trap rides in the am and for the belfry (worth the climb!).

We walked from the station to the hotel when we arrived, long walk, taxi on the way back was 8euros, well worth it!

Definately stay at this hotel for something a bit special xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Our first visit to this hotel and our second trip to Bruges. Well placed to the centre but very quiet. Smart entrance set the tone throughout. Our room on the top floor (2 good lifts) was very spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was one of the best we have ever had. Well designed with practical and functional features like bath stool. concealed clothes line and magnifying illuminated mirror. Also very spacious with quality fittings.
All very clean throughout. Quiet spacious breakfast room with good choices and efficient staff.
Reception helpful and polite. Renovated several years ago to a high standard but looked like newly done. Traditional grand house decor in the public rooms. would definitely use again. We got a good all inclusive deal through Daily Telegraph travel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bromleypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed in this hotel 16th to 18th January 2009. I chose the hotel for the location and the grand look it seemed to have. We arrived very late at night following a 10euro taxi ride from the train station (not bad given the time of night). We were greeted by a man at the reception desk who (as stated before) was a little rude, but we received the info we needed and had no problems checking in. Our room was 202 at the front of the hotel overlooking a couple of restaurants and a bar. This was slightly concerning but we had no noise problems from outside (possibly due to the freezing cold and rainy weather!). The room was of good standard with 2 single beds pushed together, tv with bbc 1, 2 and itv & some english speaking news channels. the wireless internet did not exist in our room, although it was mentioned in the room booklet - it had no instructions (ie what the connection was called and any pass-phrase needed to connect). The bathroom was nice, bath with shower over and separate shower cubicle, also toilet was in its own separate wc we had a little noise from the next room clattering around in their bathroom and I could see this being a problem if you had noisy neighbours!. we had a safe in the wardrobe which was free to use (just ask reception for the key) and also tea and coffee making facilities (which had powdered milk and no sugar - odd?). Breakfast is served in a very nice area overlooking the courtyard and had a very good selection of continental stuff + some hot bacon / sausage / egg which was ok but its never very good when that kind of thing is in a buffet. The hotel location was very convenient for the main square and all parts of the town are walkable - overall we enjoyed our stay but look out for deals on this hotel, we booked well in advance (2nights) 330euros then a week before departure noticed the same rooms were selling for over 120euros less!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snic25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and I have to say I was a little disappointed.
Our room was huge last time but next to the lifts (loads of noise) -this time round it was tiny, with a tiny double bed, next to the stairs (loads of noise again) and presumably also next to the main water/waste pipe due to the sound of running water keeping us awake throughout the night.
Whilst on the whole the hotel is spotlessly clean and in very good order, the breakfast was disappointing. The continental side of things was very nice but the cooked food was not nice at all (grey eggs and limp bacon).
On the face of it, this is a lovely looking hotel, the location is excellent and the staff are super friendly - just watch out for the room they give you and avoid the bacon :o)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weetruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

A great hotel in a great location with friendly staff - beautiful lobby / bar area, very nice breakfast room, and well appointed clean rooms. Nothing to fault at all - I just need an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We spent three nights here over New Year, in a deluxe room, thanks to a mess-up over our original booking elsewhere which meant Expedia/hotels.com organised this for us instead – we weren’t complaining! It’s a grand old building and the room was spacious and comfortable with two bathrooms – one with sink and shower over bath, the other with the loo and a shower cabinet. The bed was enormous and the chairs very comfortable and there were even tea and coffee making facilities. The buffet breakfast was fabulous – scrambled egg, bacon, ham and cheese, pastries, yogurts, good coffee – the only thing lacking was fresh fruit – tinned fruit cocktail isn’t quite the same! The bar area was comfortable too, although smoking is allowed. The staff were really pleasant and helpful and the location is great – very central. Bruges was a delight with Christmas decorations everywhere, the canals all frozen and the bars serving warm wine…

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $120 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing