We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service in fantastic surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Poor service in fantastic surroundings”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I would love to praise this hotel, beacause it is truly beautiful and comfortable and the location is perfect for exploring Bruges. But I can't do that. The service was way below expectations. Here's why:
1. We had changed our reservation from two rooms to three persons in one room. Although we had communicated this clearly (we had a written copy of the reservation e-mail with us), this was a problem. We felt everything but welcome as the receptionist blamed us for doing the change by phone instead of booking.com. We had to wait for 15 minutes to get a room, and expected a smile and an apology. We never got that.
2. The breakfast was fine, but there waiter was so occupied that after a wait I had to walk to her and ask for coffee. She was clearly irritated. And so were we. (As we hadn't got the morning coffee yet. :)
3. The next morning we got better service at breakfast. We were still packing at 11.15, when the cleaning lady knocked at the door. She told us that the check out is at 11 am. We were surprised, we had expected it to beat noon. "You should know, it's in the hotel book and they should have told you that at check-in", she said. We apologised, packed up and left.

My friend had stayed at this hotel on business before. She told us that the service was exceptionally good - and most of the TripAdvisor contributors seem to agree. Now we wonder, what happened. Was this a some strange coincidence? Anyway, when we return next spring, we will pick another hotel. The last thing you want is to feel non-welcome and that's exactly how we felt.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    416
    88
    27
    11
See reviews for
147
742
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A gorgeous hotel decorated in period colours and furnishings, very helpful staff. Breakfasts were served in a gorgeous room. Lots of choice. Spa area very relaxing. Centrally located great for exploring Bruges on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullyn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is like a palace. It is a beautiful hotel with character. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

Our room had high ceilings. It was really airy and fresh. Old style furniture (some antiques) was beautiful. Bathroom was really big. The walk-in shower was a little bit cramped though.

They have a huge restaurant for breakfast. Maybe it is full sometimes but this time there where three of us and four others only. The selection is not so varied but it was still enough. Service very attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our stay at this hotel started with a complaint for the baby's cot. The materass was too big for the cot itself and it would have been impossible for the baby to sleep in. The materass we were provided with was over 30 cm longer than the right one for the camping cot we were given (i guess how they did not notice!!!!) A shy apology was offered but nothing more from the hotel receptionists who were far too young and inexperienced to deal with similar complaints.
Breafast is good, average for a 4*.
Didn't use the spa.
Hotel is location is perfect to visit the city and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad-ukit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent one night in an executive room in this hotel. Very classy, old house, with beautiful salons and bar . Parking . Helpfull staff. Bathroom toiletries from l' Occitane. Coffee and tea facilities in the room.
Complete breakfast buffet . Location, only 5' from the Market Place.
No restaurant but there are hundreds nice little restaurants that you can discover while strolling in the fairy city of Bruges.

Room Tip: a quiet room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few days ago for one night. We chose it because it was great location and the price looked good for a four star hotel. As we were trying to use up the last money in our honeymoon account, we went for room upgrade, which was only few extra pounds. We thought we will probably have a bit more space around the bed in a better room :). But we were blown away when we arrived- the hotel looked so beautiful and posh, the room was massive, with a separate siting area and pretty views over town roofs. Staff were really helpful and pleasant, breakfast was delicious and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulavesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A fantastic stay.What a romantic city. Despite previous reviews our attic room was comfy, the staff helpful and the bar relaxing. Would come back.The breakfast was more than needed to get us through the day. Would highly recommend the canal trip and the Quasimodo tour of the Flanders Fields.

Room Tip: The city is the experience, not the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Property: Oud Huis de Peellaert
Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing