We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lukewarm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lybeer Travellers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lukewarm welcome”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hostel is still undergoing reservations, and that is something that I might be willing to overlook, we had to travel up two sets of stairs for the shower and the bathroom on our floor had no lights and no lock, but ok, that was not insurmountable. The fact that the staff was complacent and absent was more of a problem to me, I'm ashamed of my own countrymen, the owner found it hard to belief that we were citytripping in Belgium, why should we not be able to do that, and we didn't get our key refund back, surely the staff should automatically offer that back when we give the keys back, however, I have no proof/receipt so no way to get the money back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sekhmet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    138
    57
    23
    19
See reviews for
10
93
114
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Not a good place for a good nights sleep. I had a single private room while 2 friends shared a 4 bed dorm. Neither rooms had curtains so both fell victim to the blaring sun in the early morning. My room was right next to the top of the aging creaky Stair case so anytime anyone so much as looked at the stairs creaking echoed throughout my whole room day and night. The stairs themselves were your typical winding narrow stairs which wouldn't be an issue if the hand rail didn't feel as though it would fall over in a slight breeze (most unsafe I felt in all of bruges). Work on renovations commenced early in the morning adding to the list of things that would interrupt sleep. Water pressure in the showers is best described as medieval so it's hardly worth the wait you endure to have one. Only spent the one sleepless night here before moving to another hostel a block away. When we told the owner where we had stayed the previous night he laughed and told us that 3 other people had moved from the Lybeer to his hostel just in the past few days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

First off, don't buy into the pictures you have probably seen with listings for this hostel. The rooms look modern and amazing - they're not, certainly not the one I was in.
I had read some reviews before booking so knew I was in for construction around the place and it was fine, not too intrusive at all. However, I think it would have been nice for the staff to acknowledge the renovations at check-in - but not a word was said. In fact, the guy didn't have a lot to say at check-in or check-out. This was your classic cattle-mart type hostel - they just want to take the cash, and keep looking ahead to the next backpacker that will come in the door. Nothing special.
That said, the location was good - central to everything you want to see and do in Bruges. And when the place is renovated, maybe it will look like the pictures on all the websites.
If you are planning to be out and about your whole time in Bruges - particularly at night, then this would work. I was luckily out until 2am sampling the wonderful bars around town so when I got back to the hostel it was straight to sleep. I'm not sure I would have enjoyed lying in the bed of the cramped dorm trying to sleep otherwise.
Limited bathroom and shower facilities due to the renovations also makes it a bit uncomfortable and everyone is competing for a few minutes to wash or pee. Again, it would have been nice for a few notes of apology around to explain what was happening. The floors around the showers are absolutely soaking wet so makes drying yourself a bit tricky.
A positive out of the hostel for me was that there was a walking tour running from a neighbouring hostel 'Bahaus' and I met some great people on this tour and had a nice evening exploring Bruges with them afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mks200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After the construction the hostel will be quite nice in Brugge and a good place to stay for travellers that prefer a quite place to crash withour social life.
For the moment there have been constructions going on on all floors and it surely will be the same for 4-6 month.
And for this they charge the full price. Sadly unfair.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Magnus_Koeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in the Lybeer hostel which is not far at all from the train station thankfully as I was arriving around 11pm and didn't fancy walk around all night with bags. Great location. The rooms are really we refurbished although the rest of the hostel is still under construction. It was a great central location to base myself for the weekend. I had decided to go for a cycle to the coast and went to Knokke. I got up early to get a good start but it turns out there was very little open in the town before 10am. Still I got on the road at 10am and headed out of the city. I can safely say it was one of the most enjoyable cycles I've ever been on. Nice comfortable bike and wonderful canals to cycle along. They are truly stunning and lined with endless rows of trees. Knokke was nice albeit very different to Bruges. More of a seaside resort.

A tip for the belfry is to be there at 9.30am when it opens. I can bet there would be massive queues for the day as the city was packed with tourists. I was able to get straight up and down without huge crowds which made it more enjoyable.

I had a great time in Bruges and would highly recommend a cycle out to the countryside if you're planning to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank LaGr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Slightly saddened to see a great deal of negative reviews on this place. If you're looking for a 5* hotel, then you will be disappointed. However, it had everything we wanted from a hostel. After a long day of travelling, we checked in quickly and easily, given clean sheets, given a code for after 11pm, and offered information about Bruges. We stayed in an 8 bed room and had a lovely view outside of our window.

I have stayed here twice over the last two years (for a number of nights), and each time met some lovely people- the hostel has a great atmosphere at night. The renovations did not bother us (even if there are only 2 showers as other reviews are saying, for a budget hostel, I wouldn't expect any more?).

Recommend over the other hostels in Bruges for backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Even though it was still in-process, we saw a great potential. The owners were really willing to make the place much better, they seemed very passionate about it and were working by themselves.
*We liked the common room.
*Our room was cozy and clean.
*Location was ideal, close to going-out places and bike-rentals. (Bike trip is a must.)

Room Tip: A room with a bathroom is much better, bathrooms are great -after construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrcunT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
2.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lybeer Travellers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lybeer Travellers Hostel

Property: Lybeer Travellers Hostel
Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lybeer Hostel is the most charming and relaxing hostel in Bruges, with an unbeatable location right in the historical heart of the city. We recently COMPLETELY RENOVATED the hostel.In short:* Best location of all hostels in Bruges* Independent character hostel* Superb staff (multilingual)* Great meeting place* Fun vibe* Cozy atmosphere* Brand new, completely renovated rooms* Excellent breakfast* No curfew or lockout* Free WiFi + computers* Free city map for young travellers* Free walking tours* Belgian Beer Tasting Events* Laundry facilities* Book swap* Board games* Grocery store 1 minute away* High quality beers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lybeer Travellers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lybeer Travellers Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing