We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, nice clean rooms, friendly staff - great trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cordoeanier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cordoeanier
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice clean rooms, friendly staff - great trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I stayed in a double room facing the street (room 21) and have absolutely no complaints. I stayed in several budget hotels all over europe during my trip and this was by far my favorite. It bright and clean and plenty roomy for one or two people. Its on a quiet street so even though its at the center of everything, night time noise wasn't a problem. The staff was helpful and friendly, even when I managed to lock myself out at 2 am one night. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Bruges.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Hello,
As we value any feedback highly we are always happy to read the reviews that we get.
Thank you very much for your positive review and hope to welcome you back in our hotel.
Kind regards
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    545
    144
    28
    11
See reviews for
252
484
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Super friendly staff, couldn't be more helpful. Excellent breakfast, great bar & lounge, very cosy and comfortable. Decor in bedrooms a little tired (but being updated in 2011), plenty of hot water, great shower. Location is 3 minutes from main square. next time we go to Brugges we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Hello,
Thank you for taken the time to write this review.
Thanks for the posiitive words and hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

During out trip to belgium, we stayed at a large hotel, a B and B, and Hotel Cordonier, a charming inn with more personality than most. It was our favorite.The attached Cafe Rose Red was quaint, with an excellent selection of Belgian beers. The rooms are a bit basic, and not a big fan of the upstairs hall storing the spare cribs and beds, but for the price the hotel was more than we could have asked for.The staff treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel, which we were not:). And of course we loved the location, on a quiet street right next to everything Bruges has to offer.Wish we could have stayed with them longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keciaklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Hello,
Thank you for you wonderful compliment of being your favorite during your trip to Belgium.
This comment has greater value for us than other articles in mass media because only our guests can ee the truth and share it with others.
It was a pleasure to have you in the hotel, we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Nathalie, Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Hotel Cordoeanier is in a fantastic location. Positives: location great, breakfast very nice, the bar/restaurant (where you also eat breakfast) is gorgeous, very pretty. It was warm - but my friend and I were both way too warm during the night, we both woke up we were so hot, and had to remove our duvets for a time to cool down. Negatives: the location is very central but seems to be a small back street so we were amazed how noisy it was - not very sound proofed; noise from other guests was hard to block out, plus noise of people leaving early, cars on the street etc. The single beds (we were in a twin room) are very small and the mattresses so soft we both had trouble sleeping and my friend had a lot of lower back pain during the day. Also, the sheets were not dirty, but the hotel had had a problem with the place that cleans their sheets and blankets, and my sheets were covered (on top and underneath - i.e. where my body would lie) with loads of fluff balls from the blankets. When we asked for the sheets to be changed the hotel said that they had this problem with all their sheets; they knew about it and said the sheets arent dirty (we knew this) but they had no solution. Not nice to sleep on sheets like this - although they arent dirty, I dont want bits of fluff attaching themselves to my pyjamas. I probably would not stay there again, it was adequate but not great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Hello,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and staying with us during during your city break.
I'm delighted that you were satisfied with our service; however, i'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations in other aspects.
Due to the age of the building and the fact it wasn't build to be a hotel you can sometimes hear other people leaving early. Also that's why the rooms have different shapes and sizes.
We know about the problem with our sheets. It is like you said; the sheets are not dirty but they are covered with fluff balls from the blankets wich are on the bed. At this moment we washed the blankets about a dozen times and they stoped fluffing. Now we are busy taking all the "fluffing balls" of the sheets.
Altough you did have some complaints about our hotel, we hope your stay in Bruges was a memorable one.
Kind regards
Nathalie, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Hotel Cordoeanier is in the heart of medieval Bruges, has a great staff, is a great value, has a great Belgian beer bar in the attached Café Rose Red and I'll definitely stay there again the next time I go to Bruges.

It's located on a quiet cobblestone street less than a five minute walk from the Markt. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, had guide books in every language at the desk, and spoke great English. They gave us a hand-made booklet about what the hotel offered and fun things to do in Bruges. They have great wifi (fast and no hassle to get on) and a complimentary continental breakfast (toast, cereal, eggs, ham, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit) which wasn't very remarkable, but it's there and that's a big plus in my book.

The room was decently sized for two, though the bathroom was very tight. I don't personally find complaint in that but I know others mind having space. Comfortable bed, good sheets, huge window, two tables, a wardrobe, and a TV.

The real highlight was Café Rose Red which is in the hotel and is open to the public. The staff of the hotel know their beers very well and they have an excellent selection. They'll happily explain anything you'd like to know about Belgian beer whether it's visiting the Trappist monasteries or just choosing one to drink. They have two on tap(!) and a very healthy selection in bottles. Everything is served in the appropriate glass and the bar is a very attractive and charming wooden establishment. When we stayed they didn't serve food and it would've been nice to order a side of cheese or bread but with all the choices literally around the corner this is a minor complaint (e.g. the world class beer bar Cambrinus is literally around the corner and the worldwide top ten beer bar 't Brugs Beertje is a ten minute walk away).

The next time I go to Bruges I'm not even going to price shop for other hotels. Hotel Cordoeanier offers an excellent experience for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Hello,
Thank you so much for your comments below regarding your stay with us.
It was nice to read all the compliments about our hotel, service and staff.
If you like you can write a review on Tripadvisor about Rose Red.
See you next time!
Kind regards
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Loved the bar in this hotel, so cosy and fantastic beer. Hotel is really nice, very friendly staff and with a good breakfast. Very centrally located to all the sights. Rooms are small but well equipped. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieloo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
It's nice to know you were satisfied with our hotel and it's services.
We hope to meet you next time in Bruges.
Kind regards
Nathalie, Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

This hotel has the best location/price ratio I can imagine. The central location helped make our trip terrific. The breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt and breads was very convenient and well presented. The staff was very friendly but professional. The room was a bit small. The bathroom was smaller and may be difficult to manage for larger people; I am 5'8", 160 pounds. I am not certain where it would fit, but there is no soap in the tiny shower, but a soap dispenser above the tiny sink. The attached Cafe Rose Red has a pleasant atmosphere. There is also a quiet patio. Finally,the free wifi is a nice convenience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Little_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Hello,
Thanks for your nice review!
The soap dispenser you saw above the sink is also shower gel. So you could you use this also in the shower.
We hope to see you next time with us.
Kind regards
Nathalie, Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordoeanier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordoeanier

Property: Hotel Cordoeanier
Address: Cordoeaniersstraat 16 - 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bruges
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordoeanier 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Cordoeanier is a stunning 2-star hotel located in the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges." Hotel Cordoeanier is centrally located in a quiet side street close to the market, at the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges, which is also called the Venice of the North. The homely atmosphere as well as a personal and warm reception heartily welcomes guests to this oasis of rest. The hotel has 22 rooms, including 2 luxury rooms which are on the ground floor. The comfortably furnished rooms can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cordoeanier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoeanier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing