We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B, Great location, Great level of hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa des Raisins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa des Raisins
Ranked #24 of 230 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B, Great location, Great level of hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

As I'm getting older I find myself steering further and further away from anything that looks like a carbon copy chain hotel. I'm not interested in paying some soul-less company for a box room with one ugly picture in it.

I like to stay places where the owner speaks to you, where the rooms are quirky, where you feel like you're actually part of the destination.

If this sounds like you, Villa des Raisins is a great choice. The location is fantastic, just a few minutes from the centre of Bruges. You're welcomed by the owners as you arrive. We got sat down on their comfy sofa with a coffee, they produced a map and proceeded to talk us through everything great there is to do in Bruges. They must have said this 100's of times, but I really got the impression they love the city and just wanted us to enjoy it.

Breakfast (included) was absolutely fantastic. Not only was there a decent buffet spread, but on a couple of occasions the owners came out with freshly cooked little bites - like a piece of bread with hot mozzarella, tomato and pesto which I'm going to steal the idea for unashamedly.

We only stayed one night. Two would have been perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
149
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed one night here when visiting Bruges as part of cycling trip to Ghent. The B&B is beautifully decorated, quiet and the food is excellent. The location is good too - less than 10 mins from station. We were able to store our bicycles in a locked garage. And the welcome when we arrived and the little extras at breakfast really made us feel happy to be there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMT1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Owners make a huge difference and this couple really care. Very spacious room, good quality fittings and linen and a great breakfast. Garage for our motorcycle and no problem leaving it there and having the key all day on the day of our departure. It is a fair walk into Bruges proper but the upside is that you can drive straight to it from the highway without having to negotiate the medieval streets. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Villa des Raisins. A perfect base to explore Burgge. Only 10 minutes walk from the train station, it is situated just 100 yards from one of the main entrances to the historic centre. Geert provided a warm welcome on arrival, with complimentary drinks on the terrace and recommendations of where to visit and to eat. The restaurants he recommended were of excellent quality, value and service. Breakfast was fresh, varied, filling and again of high quality. Far better than most I've had in 3 and 4 star hotels. The rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished, with tea & coffee making facilities provided. Fantastic establishment with the personal touch that you just don't get in most hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

A very nice and cosy B and B very Warm welcome and good tips given to visit the old city. Good location Just a couple of meters outside the city walls.
Great breakfast and kindness of the owner who 's there to assist you and give you all information. Rooms are very nicely decorated and clean. On top of it drinks are free ( beers and water) in the mini bar.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmwAlsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hosts are very welcoming, offered us refreshments on arrival and was able to answer our questions of what to see and do in beautiful Bruges.
Villa des Raisins is a modern B & B in a great location. Our room and en-suite were very comfortable, clean and well appointed. My husband and I slept very well in the comfortable bed in a quiet room.
Breakfasts were very special, with a large choice to choose from and offering several different meats, cheeses and breads each day. Our host cooked our eggs however we wanted to perfection and gave us a specially prepared sweet dish to finish with.
They have a good selection of wines on the premises if you just want to sit on the deck in the sun overlooking the lovely garden, as we did. A great way to unwind before dinner.
We loved our stay here and would certainly stay again and happily recommend them to friends and family.

Room Tip: Our double room with en-suite was at the back overlooking their lovely garden, but I think all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellers001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way from Yorkshire to Switzerland by motorbike and we ended up wishing we were staying here for the whole week! The Villa des Raisins is a characterful, homely yet elegant 3-bedroom bed and breakfast situated just outside the Bruges city walls. No, it is not bang in the centre but the short stroll into town only took about five to ten minutes and it was actually nice to be away from the touristy bits. As soon as we arrived we were offered a complimentary drink on the terrace and the chilled local beer was very welcome after our long motorbike trip. The owner got out a map and gave us a very detailed commentary on all the best places to visit in Bruges. He was very friendly and informative. And then we were shown the room! On the third floor of the typically Flemish house our room was contemporary, stylish and immaculate and would rival facilities in a 4-star hotel. The main feature was a beautiful, modern 4-poster. You could make yourself very comfortable on a colour-co-ordinated settee and chair and there were tea and coffee making facilities which one does not always find in accommodation overseas. Some beers and soft drinks in the mini bar were free. The beautiful wooden floor extended into the large ensuite bathroom which featured a jacuzzi bath, separate shower cubicle, twin sinks and of course complimentary toiletries. It was great. In the morning at breakfast we met the very amiable wife who was arranging beautiful flowers for the house which she had just bought at the Saturday market. Breakfast itself was quite a feast. As well as the usual continental fare we were offered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, freshly made cheese and ham toasties and small pancakes with sliced bananas and chocolate sauce. The orange juice was freshly-squeezed. We were sad to leave that morning but we were well-fuelled for our long trip to Strasbourg, our next stop. And the bike? It was safely housed over the road in the private garage. In all a very good find and we will definitely return on our next trip to the continent.

Room Tip: As there are only 3 rooms book early! Our room was the only one on the top floor and was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icyelement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
1.0 mi away
Antares Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#3 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
B&B De Vijf Zuilen
B&B De Vijf Zuilen
#27 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maison Printaniere Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
B&B Con Ampere
B&B Con Ampere
#16 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa des Raisins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa des Raisins

Property: Villa des Raisins
Address: Torhoutse Steenweg 22, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa des Raisins 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa des Raisins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing