We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed as a couple for a 3 night break. To be fair we were given a "3 nights for 2" deal but our only disappointment was the room we were given which was on the top floor in the eaves. It was smaller than most of the rooms in the hotel with no decent view. However, it was beautifully fitted out albeit in a modern, minimalist style which to us did not really fit in with the hotel (very grand in a traditional way). Add to that the fact that we did not sleep because of the noise coming from a cooling light-fitting and we requested a room change the next morning, something we have never done before. Expecting a rather nice-but-very-sorry-we-are-full response the duty receptionist (sorry but i cannot remember his name) immediately gave us the keys to another free room for us to go and inspect first. Apart from the fact it was in the roof again it was more in keeping with the building and much bigger, so we moved.
The staff were lovely, the breakfast absolutely gorgeous with lots of fresh ingredients and in a very good situation adjoining the canal and near the centre of Bruges. The hotel does not have a restaurant so you have to eat out for dinner, not a chore as the staff can recommend and book a choice of lots of good restaurants (we recommend the Kardinaalshof and Den Huzaar). Worth hiring bikes to get around and even better, if you are fit, cycling out into the surrounding countryside. We took a day to cycle to Sluis in Holland along the canals and onto the coast coming back via Damme - all lovely, flat and off road. Best thing is very few tourists bother to do that, and we could justify extra food on our return.
Don't miss out tasting the various beers on offer in Bruges but they are very strong!!

Room Tip: Keep out of the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    342
    103
    40
    30
See reviews for
244
914
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Perfect in every way from start to finish. Location is right in the middle of everything but not loud. Service was impeccable--girl at the front desk June 8 and 9 (Natalie?) was so nice, welcoming, and helpful. Loved the little bar too--bartender was very nice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was booked by friends whom we were travelling with, so we were curious as to what we would find. The rooms were adjoining and very nicely decorated in traditional style. A door led through to our own sitting room with French windows onto a small private patio area with table and chairs. The bathroom was large with seperate shower and bath and two hand basins - his and hers. Their was an adequate supply of towels, which I do like and lovely quality bedlinen, which I'm fussy about; but you would expect these at this price. Whilst I appreciate the old style Flemish decor would appeal to many, I prefer clean and contemporary looking, especially in the bathroom, but that's an individual thing. If you like to sit about on holiday, the sitting room and patio would be great, but it really was underutilised in our case. Fortunately, the price was a special offer, so no where near the full price, although this was still over our normal outlay for a hotel. One concern was lack of windows in the bedroom - which was quite stuffy. To get air we had to leave the door between bedroom and sitting room open and then open the French windows to the patio. I was slightly concerned as to how safe this was at night, or whether we'd have an array of cats in - as this was the ground floor. The buffet breakfast was excellant, even had soya yoghurts so I could have something on my fruit or cereal for once. Madam was exceptionally helpful in providing two coffee addicts with a pot full of coffee to sit over before even starting breakfast! This went some way to make up for the biggest ommission as far as I'm concerned - no tea or coffee facilities in the room, but then this is quite usual in large parts of Europe. The mini bar was stocked with only mineral water and beer at over inflated prices, which we left well alone. Everyone was friendly and service was highly efficient, especially at breakfast. Personally I would prefer to stay in a less expensive hotel and have two breaks away for the price, but thats a individual thing again.

Room Tip: Look for special offers, the prices can be very variable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trishagoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlare, Belgium
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a short stay in Brugge last weekend and booked a night in de Tuilerieen. Luckely we also booked a parking place, that can easely be reached, with a quick access to the hotel. Nice hotel in the centre, rather small swimmingpool. Our room was not exactly wath we expected for the price paid. No canal view, a dark room without direct sunlight..
The breakfast was nice, but the breakfast area was much too small ... rather hectic!
Very nice and helpfull personel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVC1120022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent hotel, welcoming, elegant and perfectly positioned close to everything in town. Staff were all lovely and gave some great insights into the area. The room itself was cosy, modern and had a great feel to it. Being able to hear the horses 'clopping' down the road on dijver is great also. Breakfast- wonderful- get onto the crepes!!
Also- the shower in the room is the best for pressure and heat that we've had at any hotel (ever)- a big plus after a cold day out!
Will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Top floor is beautiful but you lose a little room due to angle of windows. Will not disrupt your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great central location, very friendly and helpful staff contribute to a very well-run hotel.
Rooms are very spacious and beautifully adorned with period features and luxurious bathrooms.
The breakfast menu belies the usual 'continental' and is quite exceptional.
Great value for money and probably the best hotel I've stayed in for the price.
Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186233Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well situated, small luxury hotel. We were upgraded to a suite in an outbuildings which meant we could not savour the age and luxury of the hotel. Our room 431 was newly renovated, totally white and characterless. It would be great if you were travelling with children or another couple, as there is a second bedroom, and it is very quiet. Not suitable for one with mobility issues, as there is no elevator and access is by narrow, shallow stairs. In the suite there are also stairs to the bathroom. The latter is very modern with beautiful high end European fixtures. The shower/bath again could be a problem, as the tub floor is slippery and there is no grab bar. The breakfast and staff were great.

Room Tip: As above for travellers with mobility issues .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Property: Hotel De Tuilerieen
Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing