We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience”
Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room is small (as expected) but comfortable - there was a nice canal view. Wifi worked well. Walking distance to the train station. Restaurant is really nice - definitely worth eating at. I would recommend this hotel to others. Unfortunately there is no air-conditioning so the room was quite warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    199
    65
    13
    11
See reviews for
39
344
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed overnight with my boyfriend. We had a great stay. The on street parking was easy enough to use, the staff was great, and the room was a good size for an overnight visit. There is a walk to the center of the city but you can do it through a beautiful park and it really isn't that far (especially considering that we found there was a lack of good parking in Bruges). I see why other reviews made comments about the breakfast, it is limited but they had interesting pastries and fruits.As a young couple in our twenties this was perfect, and we hope to be able to go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mustloveNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in a group of ten. I was disappointed by the overall standard of the rooms - they were extremely small and cramped and had a smell reminiscent of old drains. The bathroom was tiny and in fact my partner knocked the handle of the shower everytime he went in so that it shot out extremely hot water at him. He also knocked his knee when clambering down from the loo. The towels were thin and miniscule and certainly need replacing. They were not replaced on the second morning which surprised us as they were wet.

The bed was quite comfortable but was not made properly the following morning - it looked as if the duvet had just been put back on with no effort made to straighten it or the pillows - that was disappointing. Not all the lightbulbs in the room were working and we had to replace one over the bed with another from a lamp.

The breakfast was good with a selection of hot and cold dishes. The coffee however was poor and the cup size rather mean. This needs looking at. We ordered tea for two to be served in the lounge - we were given a selection of teas to choose from but the milk was of the condensed variety and was revolting when added to a cup of breakfast tea. Surely fresh milk could be provided?

The staff were friendly and helpful and although the room did not live up to expectations we had a great weekend. My feet ached however from the walk to and fro the centre - a good 15 minutes!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor as the noise from the people up above us including the noise of wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

De Barge Hotel was my first experience to sleep on a floating hotel , but was a nice experience . The rooms are rather small but you have all you need for a short stay .
The staff was very nice , the breakfast was incuded and good ( no vegetables at all , unfortunattely ) , a smoke room near bar and restaurant , and many friendly ducks at your window in the morning ! The hotel is clean , in a quiet area of the town , free parking ( this is a big advantage in Bruge ).
Bruge is a beautiful town but its restaurants are very expensive .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
231 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place is certainly something different. We stayed here for a long weekend as a party of 10 taking up 5 rooms including one of the "Officers" cabins. Anchored just off the ring road close to the railway station, the hotel has limited roadside parking and is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of the city.

The rooms are small, but are clean, modern and well furnished. Some of our friends experienced a stale musty smell in their rooms, like smelly socks, which they did get used to after a while. Beds were comfortable and most of our party slept well. Bathroom towels were old and need replacing.

The buffet style breakfast offerings were acceptable. A limited hot selection, in addition to the cold meat and cheese, you usually get at European hotels. The breakfast servery area is very small and should be improved.

Staff were generally very friendly.

We did not dine in the restaurant, as we thought the prices were a little steep.

If you are looking for something different, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, as the floorboards are very creaky and those of our party who had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is an ideal place to stay if you're happy to walk 10-15 mins into the centre of Bruges (It's a very pleasant walk through the park or along the canal) and if you're looking for good value.

A very quiet location, clean rooms, good breakfast and wonderful staff.

A very enjoyable stay all round and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very impressed with this small Hotel which is a converted barge.

We arrived mid afternoon and checked in straight away with no hassles. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room/Cabin was actually bigger than we were expecting bearing in mind the other reviews.
The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed with plenty of storage space. It had a good sized shower room/wc. We paid the extra €5 a night for a canal view room and it was worth the extra money. The windows were fitted with a screen so we were able to sleep with the windows open during the hot weather.

Having checked in we had a drink from the small bar in the restaurant and sat outside in the sun. Beware of the strong Belgium beers! But worth trying the Hendrik beer!

The hotel is really well located to the south of the city centre and only a 10 minute walk to attractions of the historic old town.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant and is of a buffet style. it has hot and cold options and there is plenty of choice and plenty to stock up on for a days walking around the town.

If you drive there is free parking outside the hotel and opposite, but beware its first come first served. saying that once your parked you do not need to move the car again until you leave.

To summarise its well worth a short break stay particularly if you are not looking for some swanky hotel with oversized rooms and prefer a relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff and service.

Room Tip: Pay for the canal view upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#43 of 97 in Bruges
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
199 reviews
2.2 mi away
Velotel Brugge
Velotel Brugge
#49 of 97 in Bruges
873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#61 of 97 in Bruges
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Property: De Barge Hotel
Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing