We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute and unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We wanted to spend one night in Bruges and booked a room at this hotel as it looked fairly unique and sounded like a lot of fun.
The room was very charming and was like being on a ship. (It is an old converted ship).
The location of the hotel is next to a public park which is nice but a little bit weird if you want any services like shops or restaurants you would have to drive out or call a cab.
They offered a nice continental breakfast and they also have a restaurant on board which we did not try.
If you are driving there might be a shortage of parking. There are only 3 or 4 spots near the hotel but then again its a tight old city so parking is going to be an issue.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waerytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    191
    63
    13
    11
See reviews for
38
334
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel De Barge. Firstly the location, it's second to none. It's a 5/10 minute easy walk from the train station and the same again from the hotel into the center of town. The walk into the center of town is lovely, through cobbled streets with many chocolate shops and restaurants/bars en route. You also go through a very pretty park with lots of lovely church like buildings. Location cannot be faulted.

Secondly the hotel itself, we found our room spacious enough. It was comfortable, clean and homely. The shower was a fair size and the water was always hot. We loved the quirkiness of staying on the boat and the rooms were all nautically themed. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Brugge. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at De Barge. Firstly, the location is great. It's about a 5/10 minute easy walk from the station and about the same to the centre of the city. The walk to the city centre is lovely, you go through a gorgeous park complete with churches and then through pretty cobbled stone street with chocolatiers and restaurants galore.

Secondly, the rooms are not too small as other reviews suggest. They are a decent size, homely and clean. We loved the quirkiness of the boat theme, it was an enjoyable novelty.

Thirdly, the restaurant is good. The breakfast has a wide selection. We also had evening dinner in the hotel and the food was high quality and tasty.

We would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessicaO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a part of my boyfriend's 30th birthday present, and loved every second.
Very short walk from train station (even with luggage). Gorgeous surroundings, very pleasant staff and excellent breakfast!!!! We stayed in the captains room which had a river view and was truly awesome! Watching the ducks swim by whilst eating breakfast was a highlight of mine! We did not dine here other than breakfast but bars, restaurants and the square are a very short, pleasant walk through the park or further along a lovely street, if you would feel un-easy about walking through the park at night, however I felt very safe walking through and it was even more picturesque at nighttime (and a really short walk). We loved this very cute, unique hotel and would definitely stay again when returning to Bruges. Would recommend for any age.

Room Tip: I was recommended a river view and was not disappointed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were so happy to have a warm, comfortable and pleasantly staffed place to get in out of the weather. Our double cabin with private bathroom was an exceptional value and the staff helped us find and order delivery dinner since it was definitely too rainy and windy to venture out on foot. We were sorry the on board restaurant was closed during our weekday stay. The dependable TV and free internet were a real bonus on a night stuck indoors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwalk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good hotel by the river, stayed in the downstairs cabin overlooking the water great view very relaxing, very central location 10 mins walk to train station and 15mins walk to brugge markt. Buffet breakfast was really good and lots of choice, only downside was the bar restaurantvat nighttime as it only seemed to open from 6 to 9 and only allowed 4 tables max to open, only 4 seats at the bar so nowhere to sit except the smoking room. On the plus plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby to eat and drink, about 10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_777r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in the Officer's cabin for 4 nights - very clean and comfortable and lovely view from windows. Friendly staff and good breakfast. A bit of noise from above with creaky floorboards but nothing too much. Only 15 minutes gentle stroll through the park to the centre of Bruges - great experience and would recommend.

Room Tip: Good view from officer's cabin or one above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#64 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#41 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#74 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Property: De Barge Hotel
Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing