We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good location - especially for motorists”
Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here a couple of times back in the 90's and was pleased to find it was still around when I was planning a recent return to Bruges. I was not disappointed, it has been upgraded with a pleasant canal-side patio area and my cabin was well appointed. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. De Barge is a good bet if you're coming by car as it's easy to find (just off the ring road) and you can park for free right outside. The immediate location may seem disappointing - next to a coach park and an ugly fly-over but across the road is the beautiful Minnewater Park and a short stroll through it takes you to the historic city centre, De Barge is excellent value for Bruges, they offer a good discount for sole occupation and my cabin was very nice. Breakfast is above average with more than just the usual continental offering.

Room Tip: Room 38 is quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikethetyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for De Barge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 488 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Situated in the ideal position to access the old section of Brugge, De Barge is exactly what it says, a barge, but with a hell of a difference. Beautifully decorated cabins a both comfortable and fully functional with modern amenities. The staff are great and very helpful. Breakfast is lovely and fresh with Belgium patisseries and smoked meats and fish. You can easily walk to the main Brugge attractions including the Grand Place, and visit the brewery and lace makers. Eating at De Barge is a lovely experience with very fresh fish and lovely accompaniments. Good wine list as well and selections of Belgium beers.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a river view and also remember to reserve a table for dinner.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

From making our reservations to checking out, we found De Barge Hotel in Bruges to be a friendly and helpful staff. Because of the recent flooding along the Danube we had to drastically change our plans the folks at De Barge were very understanding. The best welcome was finding the life preservers on the bed when we arrived. The breakfast buffet was the best we had the entire trip. It was simple with plenty of variety and the BEST coffee! We were given a city map and directions into the city, a pleasant and scenic 15 walk. Dinner at the Captain's Table was lovely and we enjoyed some of the local specialities and beer. Would highly recommend De Barge and thank them giving us some wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view - you will not be disappointed. If you are there on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeebee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We rode down to Brugge and stayed in the De Barge Hotel in October 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel rooms were fairly small, but very clean and had more than enough space for all our motorcycle kit (So they can't have been that small!), and the breakfast served in the mornings was brilliant. We had dinner in the hotel once, and while it was a little more than we'd paid for our other meals, it was well worth the money, with complementary starters (Steak Tartare to die for), good quality food, and attentive service. Afterwards, the little lounge area was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a chat and a drink before bed as well.

Despite not being "inside" Brugge - We thought the location was excellent. Quiet at night, and with a very easy and relaxing walk along the river, and then up into Brugge itself, it generally only took us a 15 minute stroll each day to reach the main square, and with good space to park our bikes outside.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I didn't stay here but my parent's did for their Ruby wedding anniversary. I e-mailed the hotel in advance to see if I could organise something a little special. A super-quick response and an easy phone call later, a bottle of champagne was organised and was waiting for them when they arrived in a bucket of ice, 2 glasses and a lovely note. My parents were so surprised and delighted. Many thanks Guy for arranging this for my brother and I.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a delightful stay in Bruges. The hotel was a walkable distance from the train station and the city center. It turns out the restaurant was only open on weekends but we found charming restaurants within walking distance. The WiFi only worked in the lounge area, but was not a problem. The included breakfast was delicious. CindyA

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent two nights at the De Barge Hotel. We enjoyed out time there greatly. The rooms are cosy and small and on the water level you can reach out and touch the water. We were quite surprised to find that the breakfast was included in the price. And we were also surprised at how good the breakfast was, as well as how nice the dining room was. The staff were very helpful but there is no one there from 10 pm.

Room Tip: We prefer the bottom floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadBaldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#12 of 97 in Bruges
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#42 of 97 in Bruges
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#61 of 97 in Bruges
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#58 of 97 in Bruges
433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $121 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing