We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unusual Hotel well positioned for Bruges”
Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An unusual Hotel well positioned for Bruges”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the De Barge Hotel. We knew pretty much what to expect from other reviews and we were not disappointed. Yes the rooms are quite small as you would expect on a converted barge but clean and tidy and ideal for a short break. The position is great being so close to the Station so no taxi needed, and easy access to the Park and then straight into Bruges centre (10 mins). We only breakfasted at the De Barge but am sure that Dinner would be decent value.

Don't expect 5 star treatment - this is not what this venue is about but it was perfectly good accommodation and we chose it for the location and value price.

So good value and well worth a visit for a shorter break. Bruges is a really lovely city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    199
    65
    13
    11
See reviews for
39
344
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were staying in Bruges for 2 nights as part of a pre arranged trip, and when we saw our accommodation was in a barge, we thought it would be something really different, so were happy to stay there. It was quirky, our room was clean and compact, as expected on a boat/barge (life vests are supplied!), however having to wait for at least 5-7 minutes for the hot water to come through was a little hard to accept, and the shower door didn't close properly allowing a fair bit of water to escape onto the bathroom floor. Housekeeping could have been a little better, our towels were left in the same positions as we left them, which is great that they weren't replaced as they advertise "helping the environment", however at least they could have straightened things up a bit. We could also hear people walking around in the rooms above us. We found the staff at reception weren't as helpful as they could be. Part of our package included vouchers for entrances to the Chocolate Museum, the Diamond Museum, the Brewery, the use of bikes and a couple of other things, and upon our arrival and check in, all these vouchers were handed to us, along with a town map, but that was it. There was no showing us on the map where to go to redeem them, or even which way to go to get into the city centre, which was about a 20 minute walk. Breakfast was a standard buffet breakfast, the same as you get at all hotels, but one of our inclusions was a 5 course dinner, which was great. Overall I wouldn't suggest staying here unless you really are looking for something different. We found it a little inconvenient being that far out of the city, especially as we didn't have transport, although it was very close and convenient to the train station (our mode of travel),

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22Elsa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you're looking for something a little bit different in the beautiful city of Bruges then look no further. This quaint boat hotel is certainly unique and we had a great stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we even received a complimentary bottle of wine to make up for a faulty TV. A couple of small points, our room could have been given a little more attention by housekeeping as the shower and sink don't seem to get included in the daily clean and the littler bins weren't always emptied. BUT - don't let that put you off - there are plenty of plus-points.

The breakfast buffet is very acceptable but give the bacon a miss. 10/10 on the hot chocolate machine and all the usual continental breakfast trimmings. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner at the city has much better and cheaper menus to choose from (see my previous review of the 'Huzzar').

The city centre is about a 20 min walk directly north and better than driving/parking/taxi/bus. The main train station is just up the road.

3 nights B&B cost us €319.

Room Tip: 'Cruise' class rooms face the canal and others face the car park. There's no air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitebandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Going to Bruges for a 3-night break, saw this hotel online and thought - staying on a boat, that's different! It lived up to expectations, comfortable bed and room, and no more costly than a 'normal' hotel. It's pretty firmly fixed to the bank, so no fears about rocking about. Great help-yourself breakfast - fresh and a lot of choice.Lovely to look out onto water. And the bext thing: free parking, and it's right on the edge of the old Bruges centre, so a short walk and you're in the town square by the bell tower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the bank side for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early as had managed to get an earlier sailing from Dover. The lovely guy on reception gave us our room even though it was only 10am. Slept in the huge comfy bed in room 32 before we went to see what Bruges had to offer. A lovely stroll through the park brought us to the very picturesque city of Bruges. Despite the weather it was beautiful. Go on the boat trip, very informative. Breakfast at the hotel was yummy, wish I'd left room for a crepe! The coffee from the machine hit the spot too. Would definitely go back. Watch the step at the door to the lounge, caught me out...once!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just stayed the night on our way from France to Sweden. I found the hotel online by chance and thought - "cute idea" - and no more expensive than all the other expensive beds in this lovely tourist town of all tourist towns. So we were all four of us very pleased that the experience was even better than we'd hoped. Smallish rooms [cabins?] of course but well appointed, beautifully decorated in a good boaty style and clean as a new pin.
Dinner we thought was a tad expensive so we dined out - anyway it was our chance to mooch around the old town - and on a one night stay you would NOT want to miss that. And of course it had to be moules frites, the national dish. Breakfast didn't start until 08:00 so we can't have an opinion as we had to be on our way to Hamburg by 07:30.
But as everyone says - staff are helpful and friendly - and are happy to show you just what is where on the town map they'll give you.
10 mins pleasant walk into the old town.
Much recommended for a stay or stopover with a boaty difference.

Room Tip: Ask for canal side. Not crucial but if you're on a boat - hey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMcAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a nice hotel that is different to your standard hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, loved the rooms, it was quiet, excellent breakfast, good location. Very easy to park for cars and motorbikes, we were on our bikes. Nice walk into Bruges and not far.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banditwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#43 of 97 in Bruges
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Velotel Brugge
Velotel Brugge
#50 of 97 in Bruges
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
199 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#25 of 97 in Bruges
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Property: De Barge Hotel
Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing