We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“December Trip”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Couldn't have been a better location to explore Bruges with free parking too. Hotel was as fantastically quirky as I expected. The room was one of the bigger ones however it was above the smoking lounge (room 30) which confused me as it said in the hall it was a non-smoking hotel and my partner and I are ex smokers - as a result our clothes all stank by they time we got home and it was intoxicating at some points - the receptionist was very kind and gave us febreeze to have in our room, we didn't ask to move as only on a short break. That aside it really was a perfect romantic get away, with great food and service in the restuarant too,very expensive alcoholic drinks, but we soon realised that was the case in most restaurants. Would definately return just ask for a different room! Unbelievable value considering the breakfast too (we got two nights for thr price of 3)

Room Tip: Don't choose number 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    191
    63
    13
    11
See reviews for
38
334
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A really superb little hotel. Nothing to dislike, staff were attentive and very helpful. 10 minute walk from the Centre too. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms in 30's are the most up to date with more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisP5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem Air Base
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great location! Quiet surroundings. The parking area needs to be better organized - poor set up. We ate dinner on the boat - 4 Star! Sleeping on the boat - no movement for being on the water, mattresses are very firm, pillows are very soft. The walls are paper thin. You can hear your neighbors conversation, coughing, sneezing, TV, etc. through the walls. You can also hear the shower doors open & close, water running, etc. Breakfast buffet - 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ymt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This, in our opinion, is what we want more of for a city break.
We spent two nights mid week, staff were very pleasant and allowed us access to room before normal check-in.
Check in card gives discount to museums, galleries and a host of other activities.
The view from cabin was great to wake up to, Captains cabin was a good size, the breakfast suited our individual tastes.
We ate on board and the food was fresh and cooked to order, nice selections of beers and wines all described and served by genial barman.
All in all it made our trip to Brugge most enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy_stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at De Barge Hotel for three nights last month. Our room faced out over the Bruges-Ghent canal and it was amazing to be able to wake up and look out of your window and literally be face to face with lots of ducks! The room itself was fairly small, but very cosy and comfortable. We had a couple of issues with the plumbing (blocked shower drain and toilet) which I suppose isn't that unusual when staying on water - we did report them, but only on our last night, so not sure what happened in the end.
The location was good - close to the station and only a ten minute stroll along the canal to the old town. Bruges itself is beautiful but busy, so it was nice to be able to escape the crowds at De Barge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were delighted with this unique little hotel within 15 minutes walk of Bruges centre. The rooms are cabin sized as one would expect, and you have to pay extra for tea/coffee making facilities. There is a small smokers lounge, but not one for non-smokers a shame because the bedrooms are not big enough to have comfortable chairs. Luckily we found so much to do and see in Bruges that we spent very little time in our rooms. We ate twice in the hotel, which is quite expensive but we discovered they do a 27 euro 3 course meal for residents which doesn't appear on the menu, You have to ask for it.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have great views, and ducks outside your bedroom window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you get over the facts that this hotel is a boat and is out of town, then you'll find a really quaint, unique and very comfortable and well thought out hotel. IT IS A BOAT - therefore rooms are going to be a little smaller, but they are well presented, comfortable and designed around keeping them as cabins. We didn't have a room on the riverside, so didn't have a fantastic view, but to be honest you're going to spend most of your time in this beautiful city anyway - so how important is the view? The hotel is a pleasant walk (15 mins) from the centre - so in one sense you gain by it being quiet and the distance allows you to walk off the hotels really very good selection from the buffet breakfast. A small hot buffet, but a wide selection of continental breakfast is more than adequate. It is a small hotel, so it is not swamped with staff, so don't expect to have staff running after you - they're simply on a skeleton staff. That was fine with us - the staff we met were very pleasant, helpful and were able to speak a number of languages. A good value hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron_elvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#64 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#24 of 97 in Bruges
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#40 of 97 in Bruges
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#74 of 97 in Bruges
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Property: De Barge Hotel
Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing