We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went to the market, was hoping to find some more unusual gifts.”
Review of The Markt

The Markt
Book In Advance
More Info
$197.20*
and up
Paris to Bruges Day Trip
Ranked #4 of 153 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Went to the market, was hoping to find some more unusual gifts.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lots of stalls that's for sure. However, unless you are looking for clothes, food, bags and hats, there's not really much else. Was hoping to find some more unusual gifts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,276
    1,366
    303
    57
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wednesday is Market Day”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Visit the Markt on Wednesday mornings to find the charming square filled with vendors of fresh fruit, flowers, sausages, breads and pastries.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Must see in both senses of the phrase. It is the beautiful heart of Brugges, somewhat overwhelmed by the cafes, and also the inevitable route you have to take to get anywhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buizingen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little disappointing at this time”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really enjoyed a couple of the cafes in the Markt (I had my anniversary dinner with my spouse in one), and some of the buildings there are delightful (Belfort, Historium, etc.). However, because of the time of year we visited, there were a lot of concerts and festivals happening, and in the evenings, the Markt was closed off entirely to foot traffic, which was really inconvenient and kind of inappropriate, I felt, for the high tourist season. I couldn't see it as many times as I wanted to, and I think the city of Brugge should rethink that, especially on a Friday night!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Bit like walking through a museum, not sure what one will find. From modern to old. Beautiful to grotesque. We are from Southern hemisphere & do not have the history of Europe has, so where interested in old. A bit shocked about the amount & variety of stuffed dead animals, as well as the human skulls. In our culture owning dead items is tapu & brings bad luck to owner. So was quite a cultural experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Markt also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing