We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel patritius, brugge”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

very nice hotel, friendly and helpfull staff,
nice rooms, good breakfast, great location, good prices.
we had an excellent experience in Brugge, thanks to the hotel, its central location and its wonderful rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 643 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The charm and character of this hotel was exactly what we were looking for during our stay in Bruges. One of the highlights of our stay at the hotel was the daily breakfast in the gorgeous dining room. The food, though light, was delicious and the atmosphere of the room with its beautiful decor and classical music was a wonderful way to start the day. The hotel staff was very helpful, arranging taxis, making dinner reservations, and giving us other suggestions of shops, bike rental companies, etc. The location was excellent, within walking distance of everything we wanted to see, but a few blocks away from the busy main square on a very quiet street. We also appreciated the convenient and complimentary wifi service.

I stayed with 3 friends in the Family Room and it was beautifully decorated and very clean. It provided more than enough space for the 4 of us during our stay, but we did run into a few annoyances in the room. The second set of twin beds in the back bedroom were uncomfortable and didn't provide a good nights sleep. The lights above the beds in the front bedroom were placed directly over the person sleeping, so you were looking straight into a light as you slept, not to mention banging your head on the light if you forgot it was there. It was impossible to sit up in the bed and lean back against the headboard because the lights were immovable. The bathroom was clean and beautiful but had little counter space.

We loved the hotel and would definitely stay again, but to avoid the uncomfortable beds I would probably reserve 2 separate rooms for 4 adults rather than stay in the family room.

Room Tip: Don't reserve the Family Room for 4 adults. 2 of the 4 beds are better suited for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cm42lb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location, car parking a bonus even at 9 euros daily. Elegant building though still requires some updating. Breakfast was limited and in short supply, so called scrambled eggs were dreadful, boiled eggs much better, had to request replenishment of few items, cheese etc.
Bedrooms were spacious and tasteful, very clean indeed. Room 22 has one design error which could cause serious injury, two bedside lamps attached to wooden headboard directly above pillow/ head area, fitted far too low and with chrome spiked attachments, I did raise my head and received a painful knock on head. Intended to report this to owners but their very cool attitude towards guests and lack of smile throughout 3 day stay deterred me from bothering.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k_mcvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived in Brugge via train from Amsterdam - my 1st visit to Brugge. I wish I had stayed longer!

I prepaid for the hotel as it was the best deal. I found the hotel on Tripadvisor & Booking.com - used the good reviews as my guide.

A charming hotel with rooms with character. My room was on the 3rd floor - - yes, there is even an elevator.

Breakfast included - -

Only suggestion - fluffy towels & updated TV.

Good location - easy walk to the main square.

Brugge a very pretty, old, charming town!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent month travelling Europe staying in smaller family-run hotels and found Hotel,Patritius to be among the best. Nice room with feeling of old Europe. Modern facilities. Quiet. Great reading room and courtyard. Quick, easy walk to city centre.
Tip: taxi from train station was 15 euros, but taxi back to station was only 8 euros.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al and Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Brugge recently and loved Hotel Patritius! The owners were so friendly and helpful, the room was elegant and so clean, the breakfast plentiful and delicious - especially loved their fancy coffee maker. This was our favorite hotel in our two week European vacation. We stayed in rooms 25 and 27, both spacious with lovely views of the back garden.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent quiet location a few minutes from the main square and major shopping streets. Comfortable beds. The well furnished rooms are spotless and have 'old world' charm. Some have flat screen TVs and some have very small TVs. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance.
We always look forward to breakfast. From some reviews the breakfast was excellent but this was not the case as far as we were concerned compared to other hotels of similar standing we have stayed in. No fresh bread to cut just small rolls and standard sliced loaf. Adequate would be our description.
Wi Fi somewaht tempermental !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $100 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing