We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all the way around”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good all the way around”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We very much enjoyed this hotel. The location was central but quiet and the breakfast was very good. The staff and owners were very helpful with recommendations and assistance with reservations. We booked the superior room and were not disappointed. The bed was comfortable and it had good pillows. We also had a small double room for the kids and a family room for the rest of the family. The hotel is an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    184
    36
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
368
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here with two teenage daughters for a 2 night stopover between Paris and Amsterdam. We booked the family room suite with 2 single beds + king bed and it was very comfortable. Plenty of room and a beautiful view of the rear garden. The owners are welcoming and friendly.

One funny feature of this property is the extra bathrooms on the basement level. They offer a laundry machine (10 Euro per load, including soap) which I used, and a set of men/women's extra bathrooms in the basement. These came in very handy each morning and evening as our family of 4 was often all needing the bathroom at once!

Computer available on the 1st floor was appreciated.

Bruges was wonderful and this hotel is a perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: The family room is very nice for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arrived and pulled our suitcases up the staircase to see a little desk with a nice garden behind it. Reading room and a nice dining room to the side. Very quaint, all in old world style. Owner was the one behind the desk. Wasn't overly friendly but wasn't mean either. Just knowledgeable. Told us all we needed to know whenever we wanted to and even helped us save money on the canal tours and avoid the lame restaurants on the main square. Room was a bit outdated but this is Bruges ... Lots of blue blue blue and more light blue. Bathrooms did the trick and the AC worked well. Very refreshing to have. A great place in the heart of Bruges.

Room Tip: I'd ask for the rooms on the third floor since they seemed to have a better view than the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A short walk from the main sights yet in a quiet sidestreet. Our room facing the street on the top floor was very spacious and beautifully finished. The aircon was fine - no need to open the windows on this hot weekend and not troubled by any outside noise. Internal noise is unavoidable in the tall echoey hallways of this delightful old mansion - but guests didn't start stirring until at least 8.30 am (when breakfast begins). Breakfast is continental and plentiful, everything from ham and cheese, fresh fruit and yoghurt to toast and cakes. The freshly squeezed orange juice is a heavenly start to each day. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful stay at this property. The rooms had the quaint feel of a B&B. The breakfast which was included with our rate was delicious. Perfect way to start the day. Just a short walk away from all key attractions. I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Bruges!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank risaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights here and would certainly recommend it as a superb place to stay in Brugge. Our room was spacious and clean. It overlooked a quiet road although there could be noise at night from a bar some distance away if you left the window open. However the air conditioning was good and when the window was closed we had an undisturbed night.

The breakfast was excellent with the offer of a boiled or scrambled egg as well as hams, cheeses, juices, cereal and bread. The coffee from the machine was very good

There is a private garden to the rear of the hotel which is a lovely place to sit in the afternoon when the sun shines as it did when we were there.

The hotel is in prime position a few minutes walk to the main square where there is a bus to and from the railway station.......2 euro per person compared with 10 euro for a taxi

All in all an excellent three star hotel at a good price and comparable in comfort to many four star hotels we have stayed in. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Is a terrific experience. Family owned and run. Both the husband and wife were knowledgable, helpful and willing to engage in conversation beyond the typical directions and recommendations. Garden and coach house in the back.
Excellent breakfast, very fresh ingredients. Classical music always playing softly in the background. Sitting/reading room off the lobby. Quiet street and rooms but easy walk to sights, restaurants, etc. Limited auto parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#28 of 97 in Bruges
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Property: Hotel Patritius
Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing