We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights here and would certainly recommend it as a superb place to stay in Brugge. Our room was spacious and clean. It overlooked a quiet road although there could be noise at night from a bar some distance away if you left the window open. However the air conditioning was good and when the window was closed we had an undisturbed night.

The breakfast was excellent with the offer of a boiled or scrambled egg as well as hams, cheeses, juices, cereal and bread. The coffee from the machine was very good

There is a private garden to the rear of the hotel which is a lovely place to sit in the afternoon when the sun shines as it did when we were there.

The hotel is in prime position a few minutes walk to the main square where there is a bus to and from the railway station.......2 euro per person compared with 10 euro for a taxi

All in all an excellent three star hotel at a good price and comparable in comfort to many four star hotels we have stayed in. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 643 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Is a terrific experience. Family owned and run. Both the husband and wife were knowledgable, helpful and willing to engage in conversation beyond the typical directions and recommendations. Garden and coach house in the back.
Excellent breakfast, very fresh ingredients. Classical music always playing softly in the background. Sitting/reading room off the lobby. Quiet street and rooms but easy walk to sights, restaurants, etc. Limited auto parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in July and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is close to everything, but enough out of the way to be quiet. We had a double on the garden side and it was very quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had a plate glass window into the room, which we found odd and amusing (fortunately it has a blind). The breakfast is good (though the automatic coffee machine is a trip; they had to help a lot of guests with it). They played quiet baroque music in the breakfast and sitting areas, which I loved. If we go back we'll likely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in early July and the place was wonderful. Fantastic location on a quiet street with only a couple of blocks to the heart of everything. The staff and owners of the hotel were amazing and helped with every question. We stayed in room 22 which was on the street side and there was no noise from the street below. Overall, I highly recommend this wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited Brugge on our way to Brussels this hotel was excellent. The service was excellent and the family that ran the hotel were extremely helpful with dinner recommendations and other suggestions for activities in the town. We found the best chocolate shop and a great restaurant to get food when most places kitchens were closed. Most operate from noon to three and then from six to ten at night. The rooms were very good size and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was very lovely with classical music, great espresso , mixed fresh fruit etc. in a very nicely refined setting. The garden was a pleasant surprise you feel very pampered. The hotel deserves a higher rating. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Patritius for 2 nights and we had a very good time. The staff is very friendly and the quiet garden is just what we needed to relax. The hotel itself has a very nice atmosphere and the location is superb. Everything is spacious, nice and clean. Breakfast is fine (no bacon though). There are some points for improvement however. The rooms (at the top floor) were a bit noisy and sounds from the street were easily heard (luckily it is a quiet street). Also, we had a bit of bad luck with our neighbours which demonstrated that the room walls were not very thick nor soundproof. The bed was not a double/queens, but two separate beds on wheels put together. At first we kept sliding apart; it turned out the beds could be connected yet it seemed that maybe housekeeping forgot to do so. Our room had a television but it was very small and placed very high with no international channels.
All in all we would recommend this hotel for its location, atmosphere and garden.

Room Tip: If you like quiet I would suggest to request a room at the garden side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_eyed_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for a short break and found the hotel excellent, it really lives up to the reviews. Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room (good size for a town centre) and fairly quiet even though our room was on the front overlooking the street. The breakfast is very good and starts the day well. The rooms have all facilities except tea and coffee making, there is a peaceful garden at the back and a pleasant lounge with free internet access. It's in one of Bruges' more historic buildings and very close to all the main sights, good value for Bruges and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: on the back overlooking the garden is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ob4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#12 of 97 in Bruges
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $100 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing