We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, the staff were unfriendly & unwelcoming. The room was awful and lacked even basic amenities such as tea making facilities, the bathroom was horrible with dark brown tiles & plaster strips on the bottom of the bath [presumably as a non slip surface] the shower curtain cut across the bath which meant standing side on in the shower. We were charges 2 euros a night for a key to the room safe & the room was so cold we slept with a coat on the bed. Breakfast was so poor we didn't bother after first morning & waited until we went out to eat. The hotel was a good 20mins walk from centre of Bruges and as the room offered little comfort & we did not feel we could go back for a rest & go back out later so we ended up walking around Bruges for hours. How this hotel gained 3 stars is a mystery!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cairns108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    182
    98
    25
    16
See reviews for
44
223
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in September 2013
Hotel is in a very good location only a ten minute walk into the town centre.
How ever the hotel is very dated , the decor is tired and furniture is of the 1980s . Beds are awful tiny single beds more suited for children.
No air con no tea making facility's , bathroom are very small. I asked for another room and the owner of the hotel said no and assured me every room was the same.
1 to 10 out of cleanness i would give it 6

Overall good location but hotel needs to be brought up to date .

Would I stay here again ? No

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garywxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Weston-s-Mare
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here as part of a coach tour. Good budget hotel within walking distance of the center. However there was no aircon in the hotel although temperature was in the 30s, also only one young lady to do everything( and she worked very hard). As another visitor said the hotel is dated and could do with tea and coffee making equipment, but Bruge is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this property for a one day stopover in Bruges as part of our 3 week vacation. The hotel is roughly 15 minutes walk away from the old city in a quiet residential area and we thought it would make a nice base from which to explore.

A few points:

1. Although the hotel has a bar, there is no food available except for the breakfast buffet. The price was reduced from 12€ to 10€ which is still a little pricey for what you get. This breakfast is only available between 8 - 10am. Remember to pick up some food/eat something before returning to the hotel for the evening or you will have to go back out.

2. The Wifi did not work for most of the night - this was an internal issue as we were getting an IP address but the router was not allowing access to the Internet. The front desk person had no idea how to fix it and insisted the problem was with the ISP( a reboot would have resolved it ).

3. The bedside light did not work on one side of the bed and as one person already mentioned, the lack of A/C in the room makes it quite stuffy. The room has the usual phone, TV, hair dryer, and a wardrobe for storing things and several other things that I do not consider ‘usual’ such as the moldy bathroom tiles and leaky window. The room also had a full bathtub (215) which my partner was happy to take advantage of.

4. In the hallway, the lighting needs to be activated by pressing a button. This is not a bad thing unless no one tells you about the button and you find yourself standing in the middle of the hallway in the dark not being able to see the keyhole.

Overall, the hotel did not strike me as ‘Medieval’ but run-down. Some of the staff seemed very aloof and not very friendly at all. The location was great but the lack of available food was not. The beds were comfortable enough (despite lacking duvets) and the room quiet enough to get a reasonable sleep. For the price in comparison with the other properties in Bruges it was a decent value even if there were some things that I didn’t care much for. For the one night stay I wasn’t going to bother trying to have anything fixed / changed but I absolutely would have if we had planned a longer visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room - not 215.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koldriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My stay here was mixed. The staff was helpful & friendly, and the overall interior of the hotel was inviting, but the room was disappointing.

There were bugs around the window, and I spent some time getting rid of them as we had food in the room and didn't want them around. The bathroom smelled odd as well, so cleanliness was definitely an issue here. The room was otherwise good.

The location places it a 15-25 minute walk from the center of Bruges. Not a big problem for me, and at the price, I was willing to accept it. Buses are available if you want to get into town faster.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a Leger holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable. The only complaint was the breakfast was a bit limited and people were fighting over the 2 toasters which took forever! It was located in a quiet street which was about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the centre of Bruges, which was fine for us but some of the more senior travellers in our party found it too far to walk and had to rely on taxis.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere clean and basic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a family run Hotel in a quiet residential area of Bruges, approximately 10 minutes walk from a selection of Restaurantsnd the main Bus Station, and 15 minutes from the Centre of Bruges.

The Hotel is spotlessly clean, and the rooms on the small side, but entirely satisfactory. Note that the rooms are not Air-Conditioned so they can get hot in the main Summer months.

Whilst only Breakfast is available, this is a very good Continental Style, with a selection of bread/rolls/cooked meats, and cheese, with Corn-Flakes and Muesli for Cereal Addicts. Two toasters and sliced bread, with jam and marmalade complete the food items, with orange juice/coffee/tea to drink.

All in all my wife and I had a very enjoyable 4 nights stay at this hotel, and it offers both friendly service along with good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcollins45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#67 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.9 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
7.6 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia Bruges

Property: Hotel Olympia Bruges
Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia Bruges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Olympia Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing