We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of Charm”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A charming hotel and garden. A very nice bar where you can try draft Belgium beer, tea/coffee.and much more.
We had a lovely room overlooking the garden and the hotel plus staff delightful. Hotel is full of charm with hand painted ceilings and walls in period style. The breakfast room is roomy and serving till 10:30 was marvellous for us with an excellent variety of food to satisfy everyone.
It's a short walk to the main square and only a couple of minutes to the first canal stop. Highly recommended. Bruges is cycle friendly so although we didn't cycle ourselves I would recommend you have a go if you've the legs.
I agree with Mike P. re. the lack of tea/coffee making facilities but this appears to be normal in Europe so if you must have a morning cuppa your best making your own arrangements. No English TV channels is a point but for a short break I was glad to get away from it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank thetonybooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel as we couldn't extend our booking at the Pand Hotel. we enjoyed Brugge so much we wanted to stay another night.

After coming from the Pand - such a gorgeous hotel with exceptional service we were really disappointed in the Jan Brito. It was tired and really lacking in atmosphere. Staff didn't seem all that interested. They were ok but nothing great. Seemed bored.

We were particularly shocked when we came to check into our room later that night and had a young male receptionist point us in the direction of our room with no further assistance. He saw we had two large heavy suitcases and a backpack and put us in a room with two levels which involved a very long set of really steep stairs to get to the bedroom and bathroom. We couldn't believe it. He just handed us our room key and said your room is over in the corner of the garden and happily walked away while we struggled with our luggage on the cobbled pavement then nearly broke our backs and our suitcases getting our luggage up into the second level.

Once we got up into the bedroom the room felt really dusty. We didn't get a good vibe at all in the room. It felt claustrophobic. What made it worse was the bed was small and the mattress was old. We sunk Into the mattress and didn't sleep well at all. Then there was Mosquitos and the air conditioning didn't work. This hotel should be rated 2 stars.

Breakfast in the morning was included in our room rate but it really didn't look appealing at all. So we went back to the Pand hotel and had a wonderful experience.

Would never stay at the jan brito again. Instead I Highly recommend the Pand hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff are extremely well-informed and courteous, making it easy to plan one's visit. The hotel is the shortest walk from the Burg, the centre, the canal cruise centres, and pretty much anywhere you would like to go when visiting Brugge!

The room is well provided for with heating and AC facilities (for the odd day that is hot), a modern bathroom, a flatscreen TV, cupboad space and locker, and an extremely comfy bed. And the breakfast was the clincher - wholesome and more than substantial with cereal, fruit, eggs, cold-cuts, breads, cakes, and fresh juices along with the tea and coffee... almost enough for an early brunch!

I highly recommend the Jan Brito as it provides the most value for money with all criteria thrown in.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a garden or scenic view if possible (even without, the quaintness of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diksha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent location, Hotel itself was delightful. Full of charm. Our loft room had the highest ceiling we have stayed in! The breakfast was good and at sensible times. The only down side was lack of tea making facilities in the room and English speaking TV channels. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't have loft room if very tall, had to duck to get into bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Bruges. The room was very comfortable overlooking the garden which was a super quiet area to relax in. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The breakfast room is very nice and the breakfast was very good. The location is very central and the hotel rent bikes cheaply, however best to request early or the previous evening as the supply is limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 930Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Once again we picked a hotel and largely bases on tripadvisor reviews went for it. We had wanted a boutique style bread and breakfast and we got that plus one with history. Parts of Hotel Jan Brito are from the 1600s and other parts are much newer, like 1800s. I am a big fan of the old and loved the quirky rooms and halls, the huge solid wood doors and details. It has been fairly recently renovated and we did not find it lacking in facilities. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast menu had a good variety of food, European style not American, which was a nice change. I noticed one review said you had to walk quite far into town but we did not find that at all. The day we were leaving we had a few hours before we could board our barge and the hotel stored our luggage while we walked around and we were able to rest in the bar area afterwards. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bono51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

everything was beautiful, especially the garden and the historic building. staff chamber and breakfast very good. the location in the centre of historic brügge is perfect for walks. parking place very near.

Room Tip: the rooms in second floor are small and in summer maybe hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank schmid r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#33 of 97 in Bruges
1,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $102 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing