We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. It's got a great location, close enough to all the sights but down a reasonably quiet street, so it wasn't too noisy outside. Room was excellent, and the service from the staff was great. Would come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Jan Brito for 3 nights and had an excellent stay in a great location. The room (which was a maids room I think) was plenty big enough for a few days and very reasonably priced.

We wanted an old-style hotel to suit the city and that was what we got. The room was really charming with high ceilings, wooden beams and a huge bed. The room was really clean and was made up to a high standard every day. Plenty of hot water and well heated, no dramas whatsoever.

The staff were really helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed just reading in front of the fire in the (well priced!) bar of the hotel. The breakfast was great and we had no problems with the Wi-Fi.

The only reason I am not awarding 5 stars is because of the lack of shower in the room. It was nice to have a bath, but the novelty wears off after a couple of days when you want to rush out!

All in all an awesome stay for a romantic break away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3181juninho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having researched many Bruges hotels I chose this hotel as it had great feedback and a great location. The location is fab and the staff were helpful BUT.....when we checked in and got to our room (room 3) we were so disappointed. It was dark, dingy and not very clean. Dust had collected so much in the corners and around the edges it was even visible to my boyfriends non OCD eyes. Walls were scuffed and marked, it just generally seemed run down and not looked after, not what I expected for the price paid. We then woke on the Saturday to no hot water, I totally understand that this can happen but we were told to wait one hour, well, we couldn't. Start the holiday with no shower...great!

This was planned as a surprise and to be honest I felt embarrassed that I had chosen this hotel as there were many others around this price that I think may be better.

Can't take away from it the nice staff, good breakfast, good location and wi-fi throughout but I wouldn't come back here.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conchin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

It is quite difficult to review this property as we had a few issues but despite this We had a lovely stay here. That was mostly due to the staff. The two receptionists are two of the most hardworking hotel staff I have ever seen. They were run ragged by some structural problems that a hotel of this age would have. But they kept up a happy and very professional persona despite the difficulties, which included electrical problems and water leak ( in our bathroom). When we arrived we were shown to our friends room first. Their accessible room. First problem was the fact that they couldn't open one of the French doors to enable us to gain access to the section of the building we were housed in. Apparently the caretaker had locked it shut. We had to man handle our fried through the door with their assistance and eventually got in. To be fair they promptly got him to come back in to open it's some hour later. They were really apologetic and obviously it was a shock to them too. The room was quite amazing (room 25). However the roll in shower had no fixed seat and there was no handrails for toilet. Not sure whether this should be described as accessible room because of this but when we queried this they provided a plastic garden chair and we used the side of a solid chair next to the toilet. I will point out at this stage that there is no ramp to the front of the property and it is impossible to get a chair up over the very high step. There is also no handrail. So it was a bit of a struggle getting in and out. A suggestion would be to give access via the large front doors next to room 25. I know it's a fire door but it has level access.
Our room was above theirs. Good sized room with huge bathroom. Both rooms had high ceilings and lovely comfy chairs. In its day would have been fantastic. But now a little shabby chic but still very pleasing to the eye and different to your chain hotels! Mini bars and TV. A very quiet side of the hotel . A very nice touch was a card from the Management wishing us a Happy Silver Wedding Anniversary.
We stayed for 3 nights and had an excellent breakfast every morning. Plenty of choice, hot and cold buffet. The staff here were friendly and efficient. I was quite amazed at their language skills. English, French and Spanish speaking. Really made everyone feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble.
Location is brilliant. The hotel is a short walk from the centre. 5 mins max. And there is a car park just down the road . 10 euros a day. Very secure underground car park open 24 hours. You can unload car outside. There is raid side parking but only for 4 hours daily.
The staff are this hotels greatest asset. It was a experience and I would definitely stay here again. However they need to do something about access for wheelchair users.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30. Quiet side street aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Classic1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Hotel Jan Brito was superb for our long weekend stay in Bruges. For our two nights we had a beautiful room, clean, comfortable and well decorated. The breakfast was extremely good, the choice was excellent for myself and my partner (who is vegetarian) and the hotel was well placed in the center of the city. The staff were polite, well knowledgeable and courteous and the price for the stay was in my opinion a bargain for the quality of hotel. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody who is after a short but sweet stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a good find in an excellent location. My room was gorgeous with exposed beams but I hit my head a lot and am only 5'3"! The beers in the lounge are good value at €4 for 500ml but the concierge is also the barman so you may need to wait a while for service. Breakfast was included and excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just spent 4days in Bruges staying at the hotel jan brito it was excellent staff so friendly breakfast first class and the hotel was so central for everything would definitely come back and stay in the same hotel also please visit the restaurant de gastro we went there on Friday night by chance it was so good went back on the Sunday night and found it just as good if not better the steak was excellent service was exceptional.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#33 of 97 in Bruges
1,126 reviews
0 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $96 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing