We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel”
Review of Jacobs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jacobs Hotel
Ranked #77 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed July 30, 2014

It is a nice, clean hotel which is 10 min away from the center of the city.
The rooms are good in dimensions but the doors, washbasin, bathtub and the windows are a bit outdated.
The neighborhood is very quiet, the stuff is very friendly and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsintzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 492 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel was clean and comfortable. Close to the river and just 10 minutes to the centre, for shops, restaurants and culture.
We arrived on a very hot day, but the rooms do not have air con! They offered a continental buffet breakfast, but had to select from a pre determined time slot.
No frills but not expensive either. A good choice for a weekend break.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front seem quieter than the side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location was okay but not great. Lots of parking spaces right in front of the hotel with free parking between 8pm and 9am - and 4 hour parking during the day.
The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. The bed was awful and the pillows were worse!
The wifi hardly worked in our room (on the top floor).
The breakfast was okay at best - horrible coffee :(
The receptionist was excellent. She gave good advice and was extremely helpful :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank safra_aurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

When me and my grandparents visited we were promised a ground floor room and wasn't given this instead we had a second floor room .. The wifi was terrible and the male member of staff on the evening acted like he didn't want to be there very poor and very far from the town

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbcoops19969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

A nice hotel in a good position, the centre of brugge is only a ten minute walk. Lots of one way streets so it may be tricky to find without a GPS but ours got us there without problems.
Staff are very friendly, helpful, and speak excellent English, their advice on where to shop and eat was welcome as restaurants in the square charge a premium. They even change your car parking permit timer for you! The included breakfast was more than expected, rooms were clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again if we return to brugge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davsato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a pleasant hotel which has been recently refurbished and is in a practical location. The rooms are nice and modern but the beds are not the most comfortable. The breakfast room is quite grand and the staff a pleasant, Good location is you don't mind a nice 10 minutes walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The room at this hotel suited my needs just fine for my one-night stay, small but modern and clean, and the breakfast that was included was more than generous, with pastries, crepes, breads, yogurt, several kinds of cereal, hard- and soft-boiled eggs, fruit, juices, and hot chocolate as well as coffee. The breakfast room itself is also pleasant. The standout out to me was the service. Lena, the hotel clerk, went out of her way to help me when I needed to leave on a day that the trains were on strike, as she informed me before I left the hotel to do some sightseeing. She found a train that was still scheduled to leave from Brugge to Brussels, where I would then go on to Paris. When I returned, though, she told me that she had some bad news and that there wouldn't be any trains leaving that day, that I would have to wait another day to take the train. If I had done that, though, I would have had virtually no time in Paris. As it is, I was only scheduled to be there for a little more than a day. After contacting my travel agent and finding that a flight from Brussels to Paris would be very expensive and I'd still need to find a way to Brugges, Lena let me know about a car service that would cost me less than a cab to Brussels would--and that it would take me all the way to Paris. I'm so glad that I opted for that, not only because I arrived in Paris at about the same time as I would have if I would have taken the train but also because I had such a pleasant time with Tommy, the driver, who happened to be available to drive me to Paris in his own car since no one from the car service was available. Lena even let me use her personal iPad while I waited for Tommy to arrive, and she gave us both bottles of water for the 3-hour drive to Paris. Lena also printed verification of the canceled trains so that I can send it to my travel agency and get reimbursed. It's service like that that makes me realize customer service still exists.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Europ Hotel
Europ Hotel
#74 of 97 in Bruges
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
1,192 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#27 of 97 in Bruges
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#32 of 97 in Bruges
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#85 of 97 in Bruges
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Hotel

Address: Baliestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $81 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacobs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in Bruges and enjoy a breezing charm of Jacobs Hotel in a quiet and picturesque area of medieval Bruges, next to Belfort and the main Market Square of Bruges -'Grote Markt' . The romantic canals of Bruges are only a few steps away from Jacobs hotel, ideal for a nice evening stroll ending your beautiful day in Bruges.All hotel rooms completely renovated in April-June 2012 have private facilities with shower/toilet, hairdryer, flat screen LED -TV, direct telephone line, "living vcolors"ambiant lights. The spacious breakfast room, a peaceful lounge and a cozy bar will help you to relax during your stay in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jacobs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobs Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing