We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay in an old mansion”
Review of Hotel Groeninghe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Groeninghe
Ranked #75 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stay in an old mansion”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

only a few minutes walk to the center of bruge,great breakfast,lovely rooms and very helpful owner,decorated with old mirrors,chandeliers and marble fireplaces,relly like a bed and breakfast,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giddyupcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    50
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
27
66
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Very nice place with a perfect owner. Old building with a nice rooms. We reccomened this hotel as a place in Brugge. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanova1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

My wife and I were sheltering in the doorway of this hotel from one of the occasional summer showers you get in Bruges. The owner - a stout, dour - looking character, saw us and came across to close the door, pushing us out into the rain!

Draw your own conclusions about the hospitality you can expect here.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Simply fantastic!

Very generous and delicious breakfast, including cold cuts, cheeses, various breads, cereals, fruits, yogurt, juices, milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, eggs, innumerable spreads, etc.

Excellent location in a quiet street near the concert hall. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the train station too.

The hotel is well kept and the towels and sheets are changed daily. An alarm clock is provided too. The bathroom is clean and modern. Importantly, there is free wi-fi internet access. The hotel dates back to the 1850s, and staying there gave me a much better feel for the city since the hotel blends in with the rest of historical Brugge.

The hotel is family-owned, and everyone was extremely kind, helpful, and quick to offer advice on places to visit and to eat at.

I visited Brugge for a scientific conference in June, and I would definitely go back and stay at Hotel Groeninghe in a heartbeat. Thanks Laurence and Johan!

Minor Comments: I thought that the hotel room rate was appropriate. Although, some luxury hotels like the Crowne Plaza may be much newer and more up-scale, they are also much more expensive. In any case, I enjoyed staying at Hotel Groeninghe because I felt like I was genuinely living in Brugge. Other reviewers have mentioend that there are some stairs which may be problematic if you have limited mobility or have a lot of luggage. While there, I did not see anyone have a problem though. There is only one key per room, so if you are sharing a room and split up to see the city, you may have to leave your key at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kornkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel Groeninghe. The room was cosy, clean and warm and had everything we wanted, includng a kettle!! The beds were comfortable and had proper pillows. Breakfast was buffet style and there was lots of choice served with good coffee.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed in Bruges for three days and had a great time at our little hotel. With inly five 5-10 minutes to walk to the market plays, the hotel is both central but quite. The hotel is run by the owner and her father. Both speak very good english. She additionaly speaks german. The have a great breakfast (even strawberry´s in winter). Bruges is a must see city...

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

This hotel is very correct but not really fantastic as I can read it. The room is clean and comfortable but mine located on the third floor (i.e. under the roof) was small.
This hotel has 12 rooms. If you have one on the first or on the second floor (rooms with numbers from 1 to 8), it is OK. If you get one on the third floor (rooms without numbers but with letters - from A to D), i.e. under the roof, try to avoid it if : 1) it rains at night because you will hear the rain slashing the roof and the roof window and you will not sleep because of the noise created by the rain ; 2) the weather is sunny and warm because it will be very hot in your room due to its location just under the roof. Otherwise a room under the roof is OK for maximum 2 nights.

Breakfast is rather simple : some fruit, corn flakes, yogurt, bread and jam. No croissant for instance.

The owner is nice and helpful.

€ 105,-/night is a bit expensive for such a hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#73 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
#39 of 231 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lybeer Travellers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#6 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Den Witten Leeuw
Den Witten Leeuw
#55 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Groeninghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Groeninghe

Property: Hotel Groeninghe
Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Groeninghe 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Groeninghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing