We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel with cold rooms”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I spent one night in this hotel. The hotel is old, in the bad way. The staff was untrained and unsympathetic. There was one misunderstanding with my reservation and the hotel owner did not behave properly. He was rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Goezeput
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 720 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2013 whilst visiting the christmas market. It is situated in a quiet back street (allowing a good night's sleep) but only a 5 minute walk from all the attractions so we found it a perfect location from which to base our trip.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast was great, we had a lovely bright attic room and there is a cosy bar area with a fire downstairs.
We had our 18 month toddler travelling with us and the hotel was happy to accommodate him, providing us with a cot and a high chair for our stay.
Would definitely stay here again when visiting brugge.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the attic rooms (room 15). Room was light and airy with a great view. Comfortabl...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I (25-30 years old) stayed at this hotel in Bruges this December 2013. The hotel is within walking distance from the train station and very easy to find. This hotel is also with in walking distance to all major attractions and restaurants in Bruges. The owners/operators of the hotel are very very kind and helpful. We were able to check in early because our room was ready. The room was small but nice and cozy. The bathroom was nice as well. The rooms have very high ceilings which I liked because It made the room feel bigger. The only negative feedback I have was that in the room we stayed it was a bit noisy with the street and people coming in and out of the hotel. The building is older but very pretty. Also, the door to the bathroom is a sliding door and you did not feel entirely closed in and private when you went to the bathroom. The bed was not the most comfortable but in my experience in Europe the beds are usually more hard. I also think just the change from not being at home makes sleeping a bit harder during traveling :) The TV we had was small as well but we didn't come to Bruges to watch TV. There were plenty of English channels and the wifi worked very well. The breakfast was included and they had a very nice spread of choices to eat from. Having a breakfast was really a great experience included with this hotel. I really did enjoy this hotel experience and would recommend staying here as it was nice, friendly and very reasonably priced. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a larger room if you can afford it :)
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the last weekend. We were a group of three (Mum and Dad and daughter of 23 years) visiting Bruges fro the Xmas Market, and the room proved a great base for our trip.
Breakfast was great, lots of good quality ingredients for the typical continental breakfast of croissant, breads, spreads, cheeses and meats.
However, the trip was somewhat marred by the fact that there were problems with the plumbing on our first night! The toilet was blocked and despite our best efforts, we couldn't unblock it. When I reported the issue the following morning, it turned out there was a problem affecting 3 other rooms and the plumber had been called! He soon fixed the issue.
The only other drawback was the lack of any real water pressure in our shower and the fact that it was difficult to regulate. It proved just sufficient to wash properly, but would be improved by a pump.
Beds were really comfy though and the position of the hotel was no more than a 7 minute walk from the centre of Bruges.

Room Tip: Bring your own travel kettle if you want a cuppa in your room!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PathManSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here end of November for 2 nights, very good hotel, clean, good amenities, central location and informative staff. Being a 2 star did not expect toiletries but they were provided, breakfast - good continental, room cleaned to high standard, very old building with modern rooms / bathroom. Would recommend for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcorn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A very convenient hotel for the centre of Bruges. It is small but with its own unique character and has unusual rooms with comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is plentiful and varied. The hotel is good value for money and we have used it for a number of years now.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Apparently, the hotel had an error message when they had to charge my credit card for our one-night non-refundable stay. As it was a last minute booking (48h before our arrival), I emailed the hotel the day I booked the room to reconfirm my reservation. They answered back saying everything went through and didn't mention anything about any credit card issues.

It was just a shame that our first few minutes at the hotel were more of an interrogation. The woman at the reception threw a handful of lousy questions at me... like "Do you understand what non refundable means?", "Do you know that we should charge you right away?"... I used the hotel's online reservation system and didn't have any message telling me that my card didn't work! Besides, I showed up and honored my reservation. I could easily use my other card. I read a lot of positive comments about this hotel, especially about the man named Karel... but maybe we weren't lucky as we were welcomed by somebody else?!

Location-wise, the hotel has a good spot... close to the 24h public parking and main tourist points. The room was OK.. though I still find it expensive for it has to offer really. The charm is all about the beams... The toilet is as small as my closet. Impossible to move around, especially if you are with someone who is tall! The heating system is on and off.... they only put it on in the evening. Breakfast is ordinary. Nothing really special.

Bruges is a charming place to visit. Make it more memorable by choosing carefully where to sleep over as it makes the whole experience more wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turningpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karel_lievens, Manager at Hotel de Goezeput, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello sir

I'm very sorry you had this experience in The hotel!
Of you read all The reviews we have, you can see, other guests have an other experience....
We work hard every day to do The best for our guests and i Will talk to The girl at The reception!
Kind regards

Karel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bruges
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $94 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing