We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and modern!”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic and modern!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was very nice - historic and modern at the same time! Very clean, quiet, bright, incomparable breakfast! Stuff were very helpful, nice and friendly! We are coming back again. Thank's for making our stay!!!

Room Tip: Just any room, the street is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    284
    98
    18
    9
See reviews for
120
357
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here recently in a small but perfectly formed single room. The room had a small ensuite shower and seperate toilet. The location is perfected, right behind a church in the centre of the tourist part of bruges, but on a quiet street that no tourists go down. The hotel is around a ten minute walk from the train station and five minutes from the main squares. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.

Breakfast is provided and is the usual continental mixture of bread, meat, cheese and is perfectly adequate

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel de Goezeput recently for a night in Bruges and had a great time. It is located very close to the centre of Bruges and serves as a good base for your stay. Generally speaking, most travellers to Bruges will park or arrive in the central station or go to the parking near t'Zand. This B and B is close to both. It's just a short walk to the Markt but also many of the less tourist-orientated parts of Bruges too.

The staff are very friendly and all spoke some English or French. Breakfast in the morning was typical of Belgium (continental plus meat and cheeses) and done very well. The bar area is very modern and decorated beautifully in a contemporary style that echoes the general feel that this B and B is successfully achieving.

My only issue was the presentation and functionality of our room. The decor, at first glance, was great. Again, very modern and fresh looking. In fact, wallpaper was peeling away from walls in several places as well as multiple points across the ceiling where paint was peeling or leaks had occurred. It was just such a shame to see so much effort put in to the other aspects of the room, but these aspects left unfinished. There were also no tea and coffee facilities, but i've experienced that before across Belgium.

Definitely worth checking this B and B out for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were expecting a room like the ones in the photos however we got a basic room which had been modernised and the character removed. On arrival the foyer is lovely and old which matches the building, the rooms were a completely different story. Our room was covered in cheap wooden furniture which is noticeably chipped. The walls had dirty hand prints so a lick of paint wouldn't have gone amiss.
The hotel is very noisy and we were woken quite early every morning whilst we were staying at the hotel and kept up quite late on our last night by a private party which they owner was hosting and we struggled to get to our room due to pushbikes being stored by our room.
The breakfast was fine, just the usual breakfast in Europe including croissants, breads, meats and cheese with jams and soft cheeses including Coffee, orange juice and tea.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station and about a 5 minute walk from the centre so it is pretty central.

To sum it up, we probably would stay at this hotel again as a very last resort but it wouldn't be our first choice. We have stayed at holiday inns and travellodges which have been better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located between the train station and the centre (within walking distance to both) and you don't have to walk far at all to find some lovely restaurants, bars and historical buildings.

We arrived late so the reception was closed but they left us a note with all our room details and checked everything was ok with us at breakfast the next morning.

Our room was lovely, if you like a bit of character I would reccomend the rooms on the top floor which have views across the rooftops and high ceilings filled with beams. The bathrooms are small but clean and modern and have everything you need.

I stayed for a long relaxing weekend with my partner and this hotel was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Hotel has good location, very helpful staff, lovely breakfast.The room we had was very small but adequate, comfy bed and at a good price but the bathroom is tiny! The hotel has a lot of character and a nice bar for that relaxing evening drink.

Room Tip: try for a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just loved the place. they were so helpful. Just everything you need for a weekend in Brugge. I felt like I had been going there for years or so. Location is great, breakfast was all you could wish in this range. Go there again? Sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#30 of 97 in Bruges
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Property: Hotel de Goezeput
Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing