We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly central hotel”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly central hotel”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in this cosy friendly hotel for 3 nights. It is very central, so convenient for looking around Bruges. The staff were helful, the breakfast was relaxing and varied, the room was warm and cosy when the temperature outside was -3. Bruges is a beautiful city small and easy to find your way around. This is the perfect hotel for doing just that.

My photos do not do this hotel justice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolseameads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    287
    98
    18
    9
See reviews for
121
358
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is superbly situated – literally on the main ‘drag’ into town. We rumbled noisily towards the centre at 10.30pm, pulling our cases along the cobbled Ostmeers Street which runs from outside the railway station. The hotel is a 10-minute walk away on the right-hand side at the end of the street and, as we were soon to discover, is superbly located – just a short walk from the main shopping streets through a couple of back alleys and within minutes of the main square.

We had booked a triple room, but were given a first-floor family room which slept five (one king bed plus three singles, though two of the latter were pushed together). The room was spacious and clean, but could have been more comfortable with just a little more attention to detail. The king bed was pushed up against the wall at one side, which meant if two people were sharing it, one would have to climb over his or her companion to get in and out. As it was, we used the three single beds, but still had to climb across the king bed to close or open the curtains. The large old-fashioned radiators ran the length of the window wall, but had been boxed off save for a few inches at the top – presumably to prevent anyone sleeping in the beds pushed up to the wall from being burned – but in a room of this size, a little extra heating would have been welcome.

The bathroom was fitted with a modern shower, toilet and basin, but there were no shelves on which to store toiletries, nor even a hook to hang your dressing gown – a necessity as the shower tray was extremely shallow and prone to overflowing. There was a long narrow mirror and shelf in the bedroom, but no drawers and only six coathangers (for three women!) in the wardrobe.

Breakfast was served in the downstairs bar, where the friendly receptionist presided over a spread of cereals, fruit juice, boiled eggs, cheese, meat and three types of bread which could be toasted on a spectacularly inefficient machine (the toast cooked so slowly it was dried to a crisp before it turned brown!). We tried to use the bar twice – once after returning from an early dinner, when we were informed it closed at 9pm, and once on a Saturday afternoon, when we were allowed to buy a drink although they were closed. There was no information about opening times provided, so I am still not sure when it is available, which is a pity – with its large real fire, it’s a very inviting space on a cold and damp Bruges day!

Would we stay here again? Probably - it's definitely value for money, and there's nothing wrong a little attention to detail wouldn't put right...in fact, I'd gladly pay a little more to have the creases ironed out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent value for money, great location in the centre of Bruges. Approx. 15 mins easy walk from the station. Rooms are clean & comfortable, lovely old building with lots of character, great buffet breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

For the price range you can't go wrong in with this option. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms look out either over the street in front (very quiet so significant noise unlikely) or over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

All the other reviews for this hotel are accurate and I'm glad we relied on them when booking. The charming hotel is in a convenient location for the sites, centre of town and the train station. The room was great with super views over the city. The reception which doubled as a room for the very good continental breakfast and bar was very comfortable. The staff treated us excellently. The goezeput is good value for money and I highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vjb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and were so pleased with our choice. Perfect location, good room, helpful staff and excellent value for money.

Definately would visit again!

Thank you for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Hotel was delightful! First off, if you don't have any heavy luggage to carry and you're arriving by train, this hotel is extremely easy to find by foot. Just head out the back of the station, cross the street and walk straight down "Oostmeers St" right to the end. The hotel will be on your right when you get to the end of the street and the entire walk from the station won't take more then 10 minutes.
We arrived just before noon, checked in and were given our room right away. The check in process could not have lasted more then 45 seconds. The guy at check in was extremely friendly and offered us a free map to use during our stay. He even circled a few of the highlights in the area and recommended a few restaurants.
We stayed in room 12 which was lovely. The rooms look exactly like the pics on the website. Very spacious and clean with a small but modern bathroom, that had a shower with plenty of hot water and just enough room for 2 ;).
A few things worth mentioning are the following;

The stairs up to the second and third floor are extremely steep and there is no elevator. So you really need to be careful and watch your step.
As a previous reviewer mentioned, mind the beems. Especially for you tall people. The beems in the room are quite low in places and if you aren`t careful you could easily end up with a bump on the head.
The beds are two single beds pushed together. So cuddling is not an option as you end up just sling down the crack between the beds. However, the beds themselves are incredibly soft and comfy.

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this place in a heartbeat. If you are planing a Belgian vacation and considering stopping in Bruges, do yourselves a favour and go! It is a charming little town that you will fall in love with.

Room Tip: Go with the superior room. Much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

So many things to like about this little place. 1. $83.00USD per night that includes a killer continental breakfast (see photo I posted). 2. As close as you can get walking-wise from the train station - super easy to get to on foot (even with roller bags). 3. Charming wait staff and mini-pub., 4. Super close to all the main areas of town and sights. We stayed in room #2 - newly renovated room albeit a tad on the small side. Request a room on the 2nd floor to avoid the noise in the late evening and morning. Still, a can't miss. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexqueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#32 of 97 in Bruges
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#11 of 97 in Bruges
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Property: Hotel de Goezeput
Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing