We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend In Brugge”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend In Brugge”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Flanders, the customer service given to the guests by all the staff is nothing short of excellent.The location is great just a short 5 mins walk to the main square and shopping centre. Breakfasts are ample and the bar is pleasant. My only critisism is that the room and bar were very hot, so much so one night we had to leave as it was far too uncomforatable to sit in. All in all we would return to Brugge and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    673
    143
    36
    17
See reviews for
384
945
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and my other half stayed at the Flanders Hotel for one night this October and the hotel was lovely, in a great location with very friendly and helpful staff.

We arrived in a taxi from the train station (10 - 15Euros) well before checking in time and the staff took our luggage and provided us with a city map and noted down specific places we asked for.
The Hotel is a 10minute walk into the main market place and it's basically a straight line so easy to get there.

The room itself was large and clean, with a lovely bathroom.

We didn't drink/eat in the bar but it looked gorgeous and the outside terrace was very pretty too.
There was also a pool area, i didn't use it but it looked clean and very quiet.

Breakfast was nice, a mixture of pastries, bread, ham, cheese and cereals. If you do want something cooked they have buffet trays with bacon and scrambled eggs and an egg boiler for your own use.

On check out the staff let us leave our luggage with the hotel for the full day and it was kept locked up, they also sorted us out with a taxi back tot he station.

Overall great looking hotel, easy access locationa nd very helpful staff. Would return and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Firstly we had a 4 night stay in Bruges, On arrival we were given room 20 on the ground floor which can only be described as a last resort room it has a feeling of depression the moment you walk in, with tired decor and knackered carpet, we went back to reception to complain as we had paid extra for a superior room, after a couple of minutes waiting for the manager to speak to us we were told that for what we had paid this was what we should expect, upon stating that we had paid extra for a superior room he told us that there is no such thing as a superior room anymore and that we must have booked this a long time ago as they have now rebranded there rooms from Standard / superior / superior plus TO Classic / Club / triple & family / Suite , as it so happens we had booked it 10 days before we went so no argument there, he then tells us that our provider is selling the wrong product and the room 20 we were given is correct, obviously we were getting annoyed with this and requested a better room. We were shown 2 club rooms of which we chose 350 on the third floor, we were then told that this would normally be €30 a night more charge for the better room but as we were on a 4 nights for 3 promotion this would make it €90 but as it was not our fault that we were in this position he would charge a nominal fee of €30, we agreed to this as the first room was terrible and our stay of 4 nights would be ruined. We booked through Thomson who booked with Superbreaks and in turn with the hotel, Superbreaks are still advertising this hotel with the old style of rooms which is wrong so beware when you book with anyone that they describe the rooms with the correct type. We will be going to reclaim this extra from our provider.
The girls on reception were very helpful with maps and info always smiling and polite.
A good location about 10 mins walk to main burg square where there is a beautiful cobbled square wih some great architectural buildings all around you, off the square are the two main shopping streets running parallel with each other, the chocolate museum is a stones throw away to the north of the square. Most of the attractions are only 5 -10 mins from the square. The canal cruise is a must at €7.60 per adult for a 30 minute trip from various locations but all cover the same waterways.
The main square restaurants are he one,s to avoid as they advertise a set menu but then charge you for fries etc as an extra, everywhere you go you will be charged for sauces.
The Hotel :- Great buffet breakfast, nice little swimming pool, The hotel bar has a 16:00 -18:00 happy hour on selected drinks which makes a pint of Jupiler lager €2.40 it was renovated about 4 years ago and still looks good with a open style fire.

Once this was sorted we had a fantatsic stay in Bruges and we would definitely stay in the Flanders ,hotel again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the Flanders for 4 days in October and found the hotel great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room which was a club room came with a king size bed, the room was clean and spacious with a great bathroom. Breakfast was really fine, with bacon, eggs, cheese, cold meats and an assortment of pastries. There is a bar in the hotel and its prices were quite reasonable and there was a happy hour from 4;00-6:00 each evening.

The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the town square and there are a number of fine restaurants and bars all around the center of the city.

If you are looking for a weekend break in a beautiful city, then the Flanders hotel should fit all your needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealDaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After completing a bike/ barge trip ending in Brugge we were delighted with the Flanders. Inge and Lies at the front desk gave us informative info about their city. Their smiling,warm greeting made us feel welcome. Rooms look to be recently renovated. They were, clean,comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was a feast and included. The bar has Happy Hour with very reasonable prices. We will definitely stay there again.


Joan F Oct 1st 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jef1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been regular visitors to this hotel for many years and our recent stay was again a most enjoyable experience. The staff are always friendly and helpful and in spite of the large number of guests they have throughout the year they always remember familiar faces. Lien and Lies on Reception were particularly helpful in this occasion. We have tried most of the different types of room and never had any problems with facilities or levels of comfort. The hotel is ideally situated close to the centre of Bruges and has car parking, which is unusual for city centre hotels here. Breakfast is a feast in itself!

Room Tip: Go for superior or club
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay, a weekend with the girls ;)
We booked 3 rooms (2 triples and 1 familyroom for 4 persons). Rooms were ok, like i expected, the third person had to sleep in a bed that was put there for the occasion but all in all was a good sleep. Strange that we only got one key for each room because we didn't went to bed at the same time and i found that awkward for my friends... because you needed the key for the lights. So if you are with friends and don't go to bed the same time, ask for a second our even third key... :)
Breakfast was wonderful and had all the things one wants in a breakfast, well for me definitly: eggs, cheese, yoghurt, fruit, fresh croissants and others, cereals, ....
The center of Bruges is a stroll away, a lot of restaurants in the same street (the one we booked, "De Torre", is not recommended though...
Lounge bar is nice but expensive.
We enjoyed our time and for that price we were pretty happy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetty1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing