We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy!”
Review of Botaniek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Botaniek Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Russia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very cosy!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This family hotel is very cosy, we felt ourselves more staying in a typical Brugges house than in hotel. Amazing design, very beautifull. Good location in the city center and super-helpful manager. Brekfast wasn't very various, but they offered fruits! So, I think next time in Brugges we'll stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    166
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
114
282
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After taking the bus from the train station to the main square, it was a short walk to the hotel. This was the largest room we stayed in during our entire trip across France, England, and BeNeLux. The breakfast wasn't great, but it was free. My friend and I became obsessed with speculoos-pasta (it's like gingerbread butter!), and there were plenty of packets to be spread on our toasted bread. Not a bad spot; I'd stay here again for the value and location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohsephina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during the first week in April in a "double room for single use" (2 single beds pushed toogether). To be fair, it was the largest room I stayed in out of 5 hotels across BeNeLux. Continental breakfast included (wish there had been a toaster for the bread!) Hotel was clean. It was only a short walk from the Vismarkt (Fish market) stop on the bus from the train station, and only about a 5 minte stroll to the Grand Place. Hotel staff was polite, but rarely at the desk (ring bell and wait). It was fine for me, but travelers who want a bit of posh may be disappointed. No fridge, but room did have small safe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1highplainsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We chose this hotel for an overnight stop in Bruge due primarily to it's location which is excellent. However we were dissappointed with the State of the Hotel which is in our view past due. Bathroom grouting mouldy and cracked tiles. Rooms very dated. Dissapointing lack of welcome from the managers at check in and breakfast. Breakfast itself was fine when the Manager had been able to overcome the issue with the coffee machine shorting the hotel electrics. Bed linen clean but beds old. Room warm. Toothpaste left from previous guests on bathroom sink. We have stayed in Bruge before and think that there are better places to stay for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helairmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
236 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Botaniek and can recommend it. It's absolutely centrally located, the staff is very welcoming and friendly and breakfast is good and complete. The rooms are decorated in a nice style that fit the city. The bathroom is a little old and could use a makeover, but the shower was hot and good and everything was clean, so no problem. Price-wise, this hotel compares positively with other hotels in Bruges center.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel October 24 to 28. Hotel is cozy and charming and central, breakfast is delicious, and the innkeeper Andy is amazing. We forgot our plug adapter and he found one for us to use plus where to find a store to get a replacement. He was friendly and helpful and interesting to talk to. Bruges was lovely and we enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with a great view of the church and red tile rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank journeywoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We've just returned from 2 nights in room 6 quietly located at the back of Hotel Botaniek. We enjoy staying in small, family run hotels which typically reflect local charm & style which this does especially on the ground floor. The bright breakfast room is pleasant & the continental breakfast included fresh fruit salad; bread rolls & sliced loaves; sliced cheese & ham; cereals; boiled eggs; a selection of croissants; jams/spreads & yoghurts with different kinds of rolls & croissants each morning for variety. The residents sitting room was nicely decorated for Christmas. Reception service was excellent, most helpful with a map being offered & advice provided about the main attractions & recommended restaurants. Our request for a second map the following morning was no problem at all (unlike earlier guest's feedback).The bedroom however was a little disappointing for 3 star accommodation. There was no central heating just a very noisy, & not very effective, wall mounted electric heater & no heating at all in the bathroom. Luckily the weather for mid-Dec was relatively mild last weekend & we were just about warm enough with the single blanket & a quilted cover. The bathroom was very tired with cracked tiles, discoloured grouting & a chipped soap dish. No tea & coffee making facilities in the room but hot drinks were available through room service. The location was excellent, just a few mins walk to the main square but on a quiet road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sh0reThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaniek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaniek Hotel

Property: Botaniek Hotel
Address: Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Botaniek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Botaniek*** is an 18th Century Mansion elegantly renovated into a charming hotel The Hotel is situated right in the very center of historic Bruges. While located conveniently in the heart of the city. We are very well know for our tranquil atmosphere, which makes the Botaniek*** an ideal Hotel especially after a busy sightseeing day. We are located on a very quiet street only 50 meters from Bruges picturesque and romantic canals. We are also only a few minutes walking distance from the Main-Square, “Burg” and “Market”. There is no better place than the Hotel Botaniek. An ideal starting point from which to discover first-hand the “Venice of the North”. The hotel Botaniek*** is complete with a breakfast room that has been tastefully decorated by the owner, and a quiet sitting room with furniture reminiscent of the Louis XV era. There are only 3 rooms on each floor and each floor may be reached via the elevator. The top floor offers several unique and panoramic views of Bruges and it's wonderful architecture this includes the Church of Our Lady, Botaniek Park, the Belfry Tower and of course a roof top view of the beautiful houses in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Botaniek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaniek Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing